Category Archives: Abilities

Courser of Kruphix and Drawing Multiple Cards

So, we’ve covered a couple of situations where YOU know what the top few cards of your library are, but your opponent doesn’t, even with on board. Today, we’re covering a situation where Courser makes information a little more symmetrical- … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Courser of Kruphix and Dig Through Time

Welcome back to the penultimate day of Courser Week! Today we’ll look at how Courser functions with an increasingly popular blue card from Khans of Tarkir: . Dig Through Time has you look at the top 7 cards of your … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Courser of Kruphix and Scrying

Welcome back! For those of you just tuning in, we’re covering lots of things to do with this week! The Theros block gave us back an old Mirrodin mechanic in Scry. It also gave us Courser- so it’s not uncommon … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Tournament Tuesday: Common Courser of Kruphix Mistakes

Welcome back to our crash course(r) on ! Since today is Tuesday, we’ll be covering some IPG and MTR things about Courser of Kruphix, rather than just your normal Comprehensive Rules stuff. Mainly, we’ll be talking about the more common … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Static Abilities, Tournament Rules | Tagged | Comments Off

Courser of Kruphix and Fetchlands

All this week, we’ll be covering one specific card: . It’s a commonly played card, and the semi-unique ability it has leads to lots of interesting rules interactions and questions. Every day this week, we’ll cover a different one! Today … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

Dragon Throne of Tarkir vs. Blinding Spray

Dragon Throne checks power as the ability resolves, so if you respond to the activation by reducing power below 0, you can actually end up killing the other creatures it was supposed to be pumping! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Characteristics, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Sarkhan, the Dragonspeaker’s +1 vs. Hero’s Downfall

Who knew that when Wizards of the Coast released an alternate-art version of Form of the Dragon in FTV: Dragons, they were foreshadowing one of ’s abilities: TURNING INTO A DRAGON!! And not just any dragon, but a hasty, indestructible … Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability | Tagged , | Comments Off

Rattleclaw Mystic and casting spells (it’s not a mana ability)

Rattleclaw Mystic’s “turn-face-up” trigger produces mana, but it isn’t a mana ability. It uses the stack and can be responded to. Continue reading

Posted in Mana Abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

If Narset dies during combat, you can still cast the exiled cards this turn.

Narset’s triggered ability grants you the permission to cast the exiled cards that turn, so she doesn’t need to stick around for you to cast them after combat. Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Heart-Piercer Bow with Act of Treason

Heart-Piercer Bow has its own triggered ability, which is controlled by the player who controls the Bow, no matter who controls the creature its attached to. This can be a little confusing with Act of Treason, so read up on that interaction here! Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off