Category Archives: Abilities

Monastery Siege, et. al. – An explanation of draw step triggers.

Monastery Siege and other draw step triggers can only go on the stack and resolve after you've drawn your card for the turn, making them considerably better than the other way around!
Tagged

Delve vs. Stubborn Denial

As you may know, Delve and Convoke’s basic workings were changed with the rules updates for Magic 2014. Previously, they were simply ways to reduce costs before you paid them; nowadays, the Delving/Convoking is a payment! The only real difference, …
Tagged

Tournament Tuesday: Goblin Rabblemaster Confusion!

Today’s post is going to be about everyone’s favorite Goblin buddy-maker (Well, second favorite for Commander players! No hard feelings, Krenko): Goblin Rabblemaster. He slices, he dices, he makes disposable bodies to feed to Butcher of the Horde and he …
Tagged

Shaman of the Great Hunt in combat with other attackers.

Shaman of the Great Hunt's triggers will still resolve even if it dies from combat damage. Other creatures that got through will still get the counter.
Tagged

Why two attacking Flamerush Riders don’t “go infinite”

Two Flamerush Riders can copy each other as they attack, but the tokens don't trigger to copy something because they didn't "attack."
Tagged

Frost Walker and removal – you shouldn’t bother countering it.

Frost Walker's trigger goes on the stack above the spell that targeted it, and will resolve even if the spell that triggered the ability is countered. You won't want to waste counterspells trying to save Frost Walker.
Tagged

Outpost Siege (Dragons) and Perilous Vault.

If Outpost Siege (choosing Dragons) leaves the battlefield at the same time as any of your creatures (e.g., from Perilous Vault), the game looks back to see that it should trigger, and you'll get the 1 damage per creature you were hoping for!
Tagged ,

An interesting situation with Kira, Mutavault, and Tec Edge.

Kira grants an ability to your creatures that triggers when the creature becomes targeted. But if Mutavault is targeted before it actually becomes a creature, it will be too late for the ability to do anything to a spell or ability already on the stack.
Tagged , ,

Abzan Beastmaster always triggers on your upkeep.

Abzan Beastmaster's triggered ability has an "if" but it's not conditional. That means it triggers regardless, and only checks toughness as it resolves.
Tagged

Deflecting Palm against lifelink creatures

Deflecting Palm doesn't actually redirect damage, as many players commonly say it does. Since it prevents damage then deals damage of its own, lifelink won't matter for the creature whose damage was prevented.
Tagged