Category Archives: Activated Abilities

Springleaf Drum and summoning sickness.

“Summoning Sickness” only stops creatures from attacking or being tapped to activate their own abilities that include the Tap or Untap symbol. Being “sick” doesn’t prevent tapping a creature to pay the cost of another ability. Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

What happens if Phenax stops being a creature after you activate it.

Phenax’s ability only cares about toughness when the ability resolves. If Phenax doesn’t have any at that time, there will be no milling! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Quicken doesn’t change when you can activate Whip of Erebos.

“Any time you could cast a sorcery” has a bit more rules meaning than the printed text. We explain what it really means and why it’s worded this way! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability, Priority, Turn Structure | Tagged , | Comments Off

Cube week! You can counter Take Possession with Phyrexian Tower.

Phyrexian Tower is one of the few useful responses to a split second card like Take Possession to stop it from resolving. Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Cube week! Mishra’s Factory can block Daxos, then pump itself.

We’re running a Cube week for the new year! Up for today: Don’t let your Daxos be gobbled up by a Mishra’s Factory that can block as a 2/2, then damage as a 3/3! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Combat Phase, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Planeswalkers and Hero’s Downfall

Since Planeswalkers were first introduced in Lorwyn, people have been trying to play around them, and to play them to their fullest. A common misconception some players have is attempting to kill an opponent’s planeswalker after it resolves, but before … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability, Priority | Tagged | Comments Off

To stop Underworld Connections with Pithing Needle, you should probably name Swamp.

Underworld Connections doesn’t actually have any activated abilities, so naming that card with Pithing Needle won’t do anything good. Instead, name the land that Underworld Connections is enchanting, because that’s what gains the activated ability! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Illusionist’s Bracers and Beetleform Mage

“Activate this ability only once each turn” doesn’t mean a copy of that ability can’t be created and resolve in the same turn! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Activated Abilities: How Many Times They Can Be Used

“How many times can I use my creature’s ability? Just once?” I’ve heard that one a lot, especially among newer players; they want to know how many times they can activate a given ability per turn. The answer is pretty … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

How to Attack with Mutavault

is back in town, and doing fun things! It swings for 2, it gets pumped by , it has the subtypes of Ninja Mutant Turtle- and it taps for mana! What a land. However, some people don’t know how to … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Combat Phase, Tournament Rules, Turn Structure, Type & Subtypes, Type Changing | Tagged | Comments Off