Category Archives: Static Abilities

Courser of Kruphix and Sphinx’s Revelation.

When drawing multiple cards at once while playing with the top card of your library revealed, each draw is interrupted by revealing the next top card before drawing it. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Resolving spells and abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Courser of Kruphix and Shock Lands from the library.

When playing a shockland from your library, it doesn’t actually leave the library until after you’ve made the decision about whether to pay two life or not. That means you don’t get to see the next card down before making that choice! Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Brimaz vs. Silent Arbiter.

Against Silent Arbiter, Brimaz can attack by himself, but you still end up with 2 attacking creatures. Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Static Abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Mistcutter Hydra vs. Plasm Capture

Mistcutter Hydra has a lot of abilities and an X in its mana cost… We explain how all that works against Plasm Capture! Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Characteristics, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Why attacking with Serra Ascendant with 29 life is a good move.

Lifelink gains you life before state-based actions are checked in the combat damage step. This means if you’re at 29 life, a 1/1 Serra Ascendant can take up to 5 damage in combat and still survive! Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Blood Scrivener vs. Spirit of the Labyrinth

Spirit of the Labyrinth is pretty straightforward, but can be a bit confusing when it comes to multiple draws and replacement effects like Blood Scrivener’s ability. Learn some interesting rules stuff in today’s explanation! Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Removing or adding first strike or double strike mid-combat.

Losing first strike or double strike after dealing damage doesn’t let a creature deal regular damage in the next step… because that just wouldn’t make sense! Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Static Abilities, Turn Structure | Tagged , | Comments Off

Cube week! Mishra’s Factory can block Daxos, then pump itself.

We’re running a Cube week for the new year! Up for today: Don’t let your Daxos be gobbled up by a Mishra’s Factory that can block as a 2/2, then damage as a 3/3! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Combat Phase, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Mind Control and Gods: Not a Great Idea

So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you’ve got a nice little in your hand, and you’re ready to turn … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Characteristics, Control / Controller, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities, Type Changing | Tagged , , | Comments Off

Melira Can’t Stop Herself From Entering With -1/-1 Counters

is a central piece in the Melira-Pod combo, letting you sacrifice Persist creatures left and right and having them come back nonstop (and healthy as a to boot) because of her nifty ability that just hates -1/-1 counters. She shuts … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off