Category Archives: Triggered Abilities

Manifest and Gift of Immortality

Gift of Immortality can return any permanent card that it was attached to if the card was a face-down manifest creature when it died. It can't return an instant or sorcery. Details inside!
Tagged

Manifest and Athreos

Athreos triggers when any of its controller's creatures die, and no matter what they look like in the graveyard, they can still be returned unless 3 life is paid.
Tagged

Containment Priest vs. Flickerwisp

A creature that "flickers" under the purveyance of Containment Priest is not going to be able to come back to the battlefield.
Tagged ,

Casting a god doesn’t trigger prowess (but a bestowed card will).

A god spell will always be a creature, and thus can't trigger prowess. But a bestow card cast as an aura is indeed a noncreature spell, and can trigger prowess.

Clan combos – Jeskai and Temur: You can use Prowess to “turn on” a spell’s Ferocious effect.

Prowess triggers when you cast a noncreature spell, while the spell you just cast only checks whether Ferocious is true as it resolves. Since the trigger goes on top of the spell and resolves first, this generally works out well for you!
Tagged , ,

Eidolon of the Great Revel vs. Delve spells.

Delve doesn't actually reduce the cost of a spell; it just changes how you can pay the cost. The converted mana cost of the spell will remain whatever is printed in the top right corner no matter what!
Tagged ,

Courser of Kruphix and Fetchlands

All this week, we’ll be covering one specific card: Courser of Kruphix. It’s a commonly played card, and the semi-unique ability it has leads to lots of interesting rules interactions and questions. Every day this week, we’ll cover a different …
Tagged

Rattleclaw Mystic and casting spells (it’s not a mana ability)

Rattleclaw Mystic's "turn-face-up" trigger produces mana, but it isn't a mana ability. It uses the stack and can be responded to.
Tagged

If Narset dies during combat, you can still cast the exiled cards this turn.

Narset's triggered ability grants you the permission to cast the exiled cards that turn, so she doesn't need to stick around for you to cast them after combat.
Tagged

Heart-Piercer Bow with Act of Treason

Heart-Piercer Bow has its own triggered ability, which is controlled by the player who controls the Bow, no matter who controls the creature its attached to. This can be a little confusing with Act of Treason, so read up on that interaction here!
Tagged ,