Category Archives: Triggered Abilities

How Chain Veil Really Works

The Chain Veil got a lot of speculative discussion after it was spoiled, before the release notes were available. We explain the now-official answer about how it works! Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability, Planeswalkers, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Garruk’s Packleader Doesn’t Trigger from Nissa, Worldwaker

New sets usually mean new planeswalkers, and Magic 2015 is no exception! Alongside a fifth Ajani, we also got a new Garruk, and a new Nissa! We last saw a few years ago in Zendikar, where she was hanging out … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Tournament Tuesday: How To Handle a Missed Roaring Primadox Trigger

Welcome back to Tournament Tuesday, where we’re going to cover our favorite topic again: Missed Triggers! Today’s missed trigger discussion is going to be about an uncommon creature from Magic 2015, originally printed in Magic 2013: . Primadox has a … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Missed Triggers, Tournament Rules, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Preeminent Captain Won’t Trigger Military Intelligence

As is usual with the summer Core Set, we’ve gotten back some good old friends from days past. One of those old friends is , a very fun creature that was originally printed with all his Kithkin buddies in Morningtide. … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Combat Phase, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Casting Ajani’s Pridemate while you have Staff of the Sun Magus – No counter for you!

The Staves all trigger when a spell is cast, so that trigger must resolve before the spell that caused it to trigger can resolve. If you cast Ajani’s Pridemate, you gain the life before it actually enters, so it won’t be around to trigger on that life gain and therefore won’t gain a counter. Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Resolute Archangel vs. Erebos

Setting your life total to a higher number counts as gaining life. So if you’re unable to gain life, there’s no way for your life total to increase. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Banishing Light is not Oblivion Ring: Why Your Trick Doesn’t Work Now

Those of you who remember might remember a little “trick” that could be used to permanently exile a permanent. What you had to do was remove the Ring from the battlefield with its enter the battlefield trigger on the stack. … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Bearer of the Heavens and Gift of Immortality

is a very strong card. He literally holds up the Heavens. When he dies, he sets up a delayed trigger that will destroy every permanent at the next end phase. Simple right? He dies, then everything dies later that turn. … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Hydra Broodmaster and You

is quite a cool card. It has quite an interesting ability. For the low cost of XXG it can become monstrous. The real kicker is the second part of its monstrous ability. When Hydra Broodmaster becomes monstrous, it looks to … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Warp World and Humility (Confusion level: Expert!)

Warp World is weird, and so is Humility. Put them together, and weird things happen with triggers. If you’re less confused after reading this blog entry, I’ll be impressed! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Multiplayer, Resolving spells and abilities, State-Based Actions, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off