Category Archives: Combat Phase

Deflecting Palm and lethal damage from combat

Deflecting Palm can pretty easily cause a game to become a draw by preventing and dealing some part of combat damage from multiple attacking creatures. Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Prevention and Replacement Effects | Tagged | Comments Off

Wall of Essence and Multiple Attackers

Today’s Rules Tip begins with a scenario: You’re at 5 life. Your opponent is attacking you with an and a . You have a lone on your side ready to die for your protection. You block the Hivelord. Damage from … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Combat Phase, State-Based Actions, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Shield of the Avatar and Multiple Blockers

Wrapping up this week’s tips, we have a fun equipment for creature-heavy decks: . This little toy helps keep your best guy alive by putting a damage-prevention effect around that creature. How much does it prevent? Well, how many buddies … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Combat Phase, Effects, Prevention and Replacement Effects, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Inferno Fist in Combat: Choices, Choices

Among the new cards we’ve gotten questions about from M15 is a neat little aura called . As with other Auras, it’ll enchant something (in this case, a creature!) and do something neat. What Fist does, specifically, is boost your … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Combat Phase | Tagged | Comments Off

Preeminent Captain Won’t Trigger Military Intelligence

As is usual with the summer Core Set, we’ve gotten back some good old friends from days past. One of those old friends is , a very fun creature that was originally printed with all his Kithkin buddies in Morningtide. … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Combat Phase, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

What “attacks if able” really means.

“Attacks if able” is pretty straightforward, until you add other restrictions or requirements! See inside for some more detail. Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Static Abilities | Comments Off

Brimaz vs. Silent Arbiter.

Against Silent Arbiter, Brimaz can attack by himself, but you still end up with 2 attacking creatures. Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Static Abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Brimaz blocking with other creatures & the damage assignment order.

When Brimaz blocks, he adds a creature into the damage assignment order, and it’s the attacking player who chooses where it will be in that order. Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Brimaz blocking flyers.

can be quite a confusing card. Things become very strange when he takes to the skies. When Brimaz has flying somehow (perhaps he’s wearing ) and blocks a flyer, his ability does in fact trigger like normal. His vigilant friend … Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Brimaz vs. Sphere of Safety

is a quite powerful hero. There are many powerful interactions featuring this fabled feline. This week, we will be looking at a few of them in detail! To start off, Brimaz is quite strong against . Though you need to … Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Costs, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off