Category Archives: Control / Controller

Heart-Piercer Bow with Act of Treason

Heart-Piercer Bow has its own triggered ability, which is controlled by the player who controls the Bow, no matter who controls the creature its attached to. This can be a little confusing with Act of Treason, so read up on that interaction here! Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Meandering Turtle and Act of Treason

Meandering Towershell’s trigger uses the wording “your control” which is distinctly different from “it’s owner’s control.” That means it’s pretty easy to take control of the Turtle permanently with thinks like Act of Treason! Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Cube Week! If you control The Abyss, it can’t kill your opponent’s True-Name Nemesis.

The Abyss has a target, and the ability is always controlled by the player who controls the Abyss (even if it’s not that player choosing the target). This matters when checking target legality vs. True-Name Nemesis or any hexproof creature! Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Mind Control and Gods: Not a Great Idea

So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you’ve got a nice little in your hand, and you’re ready to turn … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Characteristics, Control / Controller, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities, Type Changing | Tagged , , | Comments Off

Taking control of creatures with Ethereal Armor attached.

When you take control of a creature, you don’t get control of the things that are attached to it. This makes a big difference in the case of certain things like Ethereal Armor. Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

You can’t ignore the trigger on that Akroan Horse your opponent so generously gave you.

If you control Akroan Horse, you control the upkeep triggers, and it’s your job to point them out even though you didn’t cast the card. Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Tournament Rules, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Wild Ricochet + Rakdos’s Return

I’m glad to see making a return to Standard; it’s such a fun card, and can lead to hilarious reactions when timed right (A friend of mine once used against a , spinning two lands back to the opponent’s deck … Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Control / Controller, Copies, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Ruric Thar vs. Removal Spells.

NOT GRUUL? THEN DIE! RURIC THAR COST 6 MANA. RURIC THAR BIG THREAT. RURIC THAR HAVE SPECIAL ABILITY. RURIC THAR DAMAGE YOU WHEN YOU CAST ANY SPELL NOT CREATURE. RURIC THAR DAMAGE RURIC THAR CONTROLLER TOO. RURIC THAR DAMAGE YOU … Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Soul Ransom and Gruul Charm

Oooh, this one is fun! Control-changing effects have a habit of confusing players, especially when it comes to aura-based things like or in this case, . The mistake many players make is thinking that it’s always ‘on’, that it always … Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller | Tagged , | Comments Off

You don’t have to pay for your opponent’s Soul Tithe if you control Sigarda.

If you control and your opponent enchants one of your other creatures with (obviously they can’t cast Soul Tithe targeting your Sigarda thanks to hexproof), then when Soul Tithe’s ability resolves it will ask, “Wanna pay this thing’s converted mana … Continue reading

Posted in Control / Controller, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off