Category Archives: Effects

Notion Thief and Dredge

Notion Thief confuses many people, and dredge isn’t much better… When the two come together, you get this rules tips blog! Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects | Tagged | Comments Off

You can’t “miss” True-Name Nemesis’s “as this enters…” ability.

True-Name Nemesis doesn’t have a triggered ability, so it’s not possible to simply “miss” the ability. If you think your opponent failed to choose a player, you must mention it. Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Static Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Resolute Archangel vs. Erebos

Setting your life total to a higher number counts as gaining life. So if you’re unable to gain life, there’s no way for your life total to increase. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Make it Count(ers): Why Not All +1/+1 Effects Are Counters

As we’ve probably learned over the years, cards generally do exactly what their Gatherer texts say. But some people still get confused. A major thing that I’ve seen trip people up is confusion about counters. Some people think that a … Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Effects, One-Shot Effects | Tagged , | Comments Off

Kruphix and Mana Restrictions

is a very powerful card. As a result, many people are using him as their commander in the Commander format. One thing that can be confusing is how he interacts with special lands. Sometimes, permanents can create mana with restrictions. … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Casting / playing a spell or ability, Effects, Prevention and Replacement Effects | Tagged | Comments Off

Warp World and Humility (Confusion level: Expert!)

Warp World is weird, and so is Humility. Put them together, and weird things happen with triggers. If you’re less confused after reading this blog entry, I’ll be impressed! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Multiplayer, Resolving spells and abilities, State-Based Actions, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Bestowing Hypnotic Siren on a creature with a Constellation trigger.

The interaction of Hypnotic Siren and Constellation abilities can be perhaps a bit unintuitive. You get the trigger if you gain control of a creature with a Constellation ability by bestowing Hypnotic Siren! Here’s an explanation of why. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Triggered Abilities | Comments Off

Athreos and Mutavault (or any animated non-creature).

If Mutavault is a creature when it dies, it will trigger Athreos and will be returned to your hand unless the opponent pays 3 life. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Triggered Abilities, Type Changing | Tagged , | Comments Off

Drown in Sorrow vs. Mutavault.

Drown in Sorrow only affects things that are creatures at the moment it resolves. Any creatures that appear later in the turn won’t be affected! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Acolyte’s Reward and changing Devotion.

Acolyte’s Reward only checks your devotion to white as it resolves (not before, not after). So the amount of damage that will be prevented/dealt is locked in at that moment. Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged | Comments Off