Category Archives: Interaction of Continuous Effects

Blood Moon doesn’t remove the Artifact type from Darksteel Citadel.

Blood Moon is pretty powerful, but it can’t do everything. While it can make a Darksteel Citadel stop being indestructible, it can’t stop it from being an artifact! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Interaction of Continuous Effects | Tagged , | Comments Off

Darksteel Mutation – Say what?

Darksteel Mutation received errata before it was actually released! We explain why it was needed, and also how the card works in a general way. Continue reading

Posted in Interaction of Continuous Effects | Tagged | Comments Off

Blood Moon and Dryad Arbor

Modern Madness continues, if you hadn’t caught onto this week’s theme. Since the manabases in Modern can get greedy with their shocks and fetches and other color-providing wonder, is a common sideboard hate card to punish those greedy manabases. A … Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Effects, Interaction of Continuous Effects, Type & Subtypes, Type Changing, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Comments Off

Melira and Inkmoth Nexus

Infect! Quite the polarizing mechanic in most areas, it was either considered laughably bad or stupidly broken depending on who you were talking to. It’s gained some traction lately with eggs-in-one-basket rush decks, especially in Modern, and it’s possible you … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Activated Abilities, Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Effects, Interaction of Continuous Effects, Keywords, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Turn // Burn vs. Enchantments // +1/+1 Counters

Alright, it’s time for everyone’s favorite topic: layers! Wait, please, stop, don’t go. We’re only going to be looking at the power and toughness layer, and after reading this, you won’t look so confused after you tried to Turn and … Continue reading

Posted in Interaction of Continuous Effects | Tagged | Comments Off

Mark for Death on Ember Beast. Can you block at all?

In Magic: The Gathering’s judging system, combat-based rules questions are considered especially heinous. On this blog, the dedicated judges who investigate these tricky interactions are members of an elite squad known as the Special Cards Unit. These are their stories. … Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Interaction of Continuous Effects | Tagged , | Comments Off

Switching Power and Toughness is always applied last.

Effects that switch the power and toughness of a creature are always applied last. Why? It’s just easier to calculate. For example: Lets start with a 1/4 and switch it power and toughness via its Landfall triggered ability so it … Continue reading

Posted in Interaction of Continuous Effects | Tagged , | Comments Off

How Inkmoth Nexus and Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas interact.

One area of player confusion is how multiple abilities that ‘animate’ a permanent interact. A very common interaction that has come up a lot lately deals with ‘ animation ability and the planeswalker second activated ability. In order to get … Continue reading

Posted in Interaction of Continuous Effects, Planeswalkers, Type Changing | Tagged , | Comments Off