Établir un total de points de vie

Bonjour à tous et bienvenue sur les astuces de règles ! Aujourd’hui, nous allons couvrir les effets qui établissent le total de points de vie à un nombre spécifique. Pour l’instant, en standard, nous avons quelques cartes qui font cela, comme Arbre de la perdition et Providence. Quand un total est établi à un nombre […]

Read more.

Setting A Life Total

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today we’ll be covering effects that set a life total to a specific number. Right now in Standard we’ve got a few cards that do this, such as and . When a life total is set to a specific number, most people are just going to change their […]

Read more.

Emrakul and Controlling Another Player

Welcome back! Eldritch Moon gave us a lot of scary colorless cards, the scariest of which is . Emrakul is the newest in the line of cards that let you control another player during their turn (colloquially called “” effects, after the first such card printed in Mirrodin block!). While it hasn’t been that long […]

Read more.

All About Tree of Perdition

For today’s Rules Tips, we’ll be covering , the anti-backwards sibling of . Like Tree of Redemption, Perdition is a 0/13 Defender for 4 mana with a nifty ability that trades life totals for toughness. Where Redemption swapped its toughness with YOUR life total, Perdition (being black and spooky and all) swaps with an OPPONENT’S […]

Read more.

Focus Fate Reforged : Renforcement

Bonjour et bonne année 2015 ! Nous commençons cette année avec un focus sur les avant-premières Fate Reforged de ce week-end ! Pendant les prochains jours, nous couvrirons les nouvelles mécaniques de ce set, de façon à ce vous sachiez à quoi vous attendre à cette AP. Aujourd’hui, nous allons commencer par la nouvelle mécanique Abzane : Renforcement. […]

Read more.

Make it Count(ers): Why Not All +1/+1 Effects Are Counters

As we’ve probably learned over the years, cards generally do exactly what their Gatherer texts say. But some people still get confused. A major thing that I’ve seen trip people up is confusion about counters. Some people think that a static +1/+1 bonus (like from , or ) also counts as a counter. But that’s […]

Read more.

Mutilate’s -X/-X won’t apply to creatures that enter later in the same turn.

When a resolving effect modifies the characteristics of objects on the battlefield (such as power/toughness), the permanents that will be affected are “locked in” as the spell/ability resolves. So when you cast , it applies -X/-X to all creatures currently on the battlefield as the spell resolves, and that effect will last until the end […]

Read more.

Aegis Angel and effects that are applied to multiple permanents.

has an enters the battlefield ability that will make another targeted permanent indestructible for as long as the Angel remains in play. Indestructible means that this permanent will not be destroyed by effects that say to destroy or if it is a creature by receiving lethal damage. In most cases, what happens is pretty simple; […]

Read more.