Category Archives: Resolving spells and abilities

Killing Gray Merchant in response to the ETB ability.

Gray Merchant only checks devotion as its trigger resolves. You’re able to minimize your losses if you can minimize the player’s devotion in response to the trigger! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Responding to evolve by killing the creature that just entered.

If a creature that triggered Evolve is gone by the time the trigger resolves, the trigger just uses the last known information about that creature’s P/T when it died. That means Doom Blade or Bile Blight will give different outcomes when responding to an Evolve trigger! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , , | Comments Off

Drown in Sorrow vs. Mutavault.

Drown in Sorrow only affects things that are creatures at the moment it resolves. Any creatures that appear later in the turn won’t be affected! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Acolyte’s Reward and changing Devotion.

Acolyte’s Reward only checks your devotion to white as it resolves (not before, not after). So the amount of damage that will be prevented/dealt is locked in at that moment. Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Courser of Kruphix and Sphinx’s Revelation.

When drawing multiple cards at once while playing with the top card of your library revealed, each draw is interrupted by revealing the next top card before drawing it. Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Resolving spells and abilities, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

An illegal target for Sudden Storm won’t become tapped and will untap.

Sudden Storm is just like Frost Breath, but there’s a special rules update to make both of those cards work like people expect them to work as of the BNG release! Continue reading

Posted in Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Hero of Leina Tower – You can’t respond between paying X and adding counters.

Hero of Leina Tower’s trigger doesn’t make you choose how much to pay until it starts resolving. This helps you avoid blowouts with removal! Continue reading

Posted in Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

You have to ask your opponent if they want to pay tribute.

Tribute requires an opponent to choose: To pay, or not to pay! You can’t make that choice for them by making assumptions. Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Resolving spells and abilities, Triggered Abilities | Comments Off

What happens if Phenax stops being a creature after you activate it.

Phenax’s ability only cares about toughness when the ability resolves. If Phenax doesn’t have any at that time, there will be no milling! Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Cube week! Clones with Eureka vs. Genesis Wave

Clones can’t copy something that they’re entering with, but they can copy something that entered just before it during the same spell’s resolution! Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Resolving spells and abilities | Tagged , , | Comments Off