Category Archives: State-Based Actions

Ensoul Artifact – Learn All About It!

Making a 5/5 flyer or 5/5 indestructible creature on turn two brightens my soul. Both options are possible with . works by setting the base power and toughness of any artifact to 5/5 and, if it isn’t already, makes it … Continue reading

Posted in Continuous Effects, Effects, State-Based Actions, Type & Subtypes, Type Changing | Tagged | Comments Off

Wall of Essence and Multiple Attackers

Today’s Rules Tip begins with a scenario: You’re at 5 life. Your opponent is attacking you with an and a . You have a lone on your side ready to die for your protection. You block the Hivelord. Damage from … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Combat Phase, State-Based Actions, Triggered Abilities | Tagged | Comments Off

Elesh Norn vs. Sakura-Tribe Elder, et. al.

You can only activate abilities when you have priority. If your creature enters the battlefield but dies before you get priority, you’re not going to have a good time! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities | Comments Off

Warp World and Humility (Confusion level: Expert!)

Warp World is weird, and so is Humility. Put them together, and weird things happen with triggers. If you’re less confused after reading this blog entry, I’ll be impressed! Continue reading

Posted in Characteristics, Continuous Effects, Multiplayer, Resolving spells and abilities, State-Based Actions, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Mind Control and Gods: Not a Great Idea

So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you’ve got a nice little in your hand, and you’re ready to turn … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Characteristics, Control / Controller, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities, Type Changing | Tagged , , | Comments Off

Using the planeswalker uniqueness rule for profit.

Under the new rules, you can activate your planeswalker, then cast a second copy, put only the old one in the graveyard (instead of both!), and activate the new one! Not always the best value, but a neat trick that can come in handy in certain situations. Continue reading

Posted in Planeswalkers, State-Based Actions | Tagged | Comments Off

Brave the Elements, Gods Willing, and Auras

Back when Zendikar block was still in standard, was one of my favorite cards. We may have that back, but we also have , which grants protection to just one of your creatures, but that creature needn’t be white (plus … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Keywords, Resolving spells and abilities, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

Bestow vs. Protection

Protection makes a Bestowed aura just drop off onto the battlefield as a creature, thanks to a last-minute rule addition that made it into the 9/27/13 Comp Rules. Continue reading

Posted in State-Based Actions | Comments Off

“Commander damage” is only from combat damage.

A very common question is whether Ashling the Pilgrim or Heartless Hidetsugu can kill opponents by dealing 21 damage even without attacking. We explain why that doesn’t work! Continue reading

Posted in Combat Phase, Multiplayer, State-Based Actions | Comments Off

M14 Rules Changes! The Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule

This one is very similar to the Legend Rule update. Previously, any two planeswalkers on the field with the same subtype would go to the graveyard immediately. Now, the game only looks at the planeswalkers controlled by the same player, … Continue reading

Posted in Planeswalkers, State-Based Actions | Comments Off