Category Archives: Communication Policy

If your opponent does something in your end step, you get priority again.

Even though you said “go,” you still get another chance to cast instants or activate abilities if your opponent does something during your end step. Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Priority, Turn Structure | Comments Off

Assisting others during deck construction at Regular REL w/o decklists.

We’re here to clear up a common misconception about helping each other during deck construction at events that don’t use deck lists. It’s not against the rules! Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

How naming choices too early for creatures with targeted triggers or copy effects works.

“My Clone targets your Huntmaster.” “I’ll play Wolfir Silverheart soulbonding the token.” “Exile all your creatures with my Angel of Serenity.” Statements like this, technically speaking, aren’t correct. When you cast a creature spell, it doesn’t have a target, even … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

You can’t show or tell your draft picks during a draft, ever.

All tournaments are governed by the all knowing Magic Tournament Rules, no matter what type of tournament you’re in. As long as they are DCI sanctioned, they are bound by the rules laid out there. The 55-page document might be … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

A spectator’s role at FNM, a PTQ or Grand Prix day 2.

Whether you’re at your local FNM, watching a match because you already finished your match, or you’re at a Grand Prix watching your friend play, it’s not uncommon to see spectators watching matches. So what is expected of a spectator … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

Tournament Tuesday: Life Totals

This is an older ‘change’ than the Missed Trigger update a little while back, but it’s one we haven’t really covered. One of the toughest things for a Judge to figure out is a life total discrepancy; when Player A … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

Tournament Tuesday: Changes to the Missed Trigger Policy

Taking a little break from the Return to Ravnica previews, we’ll do our normal Tournament Tuesday tip. NOTE: All of this only matters at Competitive REL and higher—stuff like PTQs and GPTs and GPs—and it won’t go into effect until October … Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Communication Policy, Missed Triggers, Resolving spells and abilities, Tournament Rules, Triggered Abilities | Tagged , | Comments Off

New! Each life total change must be verbally announced with the new life totals.

At the start of any game, both players should explain to each other the method that they plan on using to keep track of life totals. Whichever method they choose must be accessible by both players to record life totals … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

What is “Private Information” ?

Communication Policy Part 3: What is “Private Information” ? The third type of information laid out by the Magic Tournament Rules is Private Information. (See here and here for the first two posts on communication policy. Private Information is officially … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off

What is “Derived Information” ?

Communication Policy Part 2: What is “Derived Information” ? The second type of information laid out by the Magic Tournament Rules is Derived Information. Derived Information is information to which all players are entitled access, but might require some degree … Continue reading

Posted in Communication Policy, Tournament Rules | Comments Off