Category Archives: Turn Structure

Ivorytusk Fortress vs. Icy Blast, Crippling Chill, et. al.

Ivorytusk Fortress tells you to untap your creatures with +1/+1 counters during your opponent's untap step, while Icy Blast and its kin say they don't untap during their *controller's* next untap step. This means there's no problem untapping during the opponent's turn!
Tagged , ,

Prerelease Primer Week – Raid with the Mardu Clan

Welcome back to our Prerelease Primer Week! Today we’ll be focusing on the mechanic of the Red/White/Black Mardu clan, who revere the speed of the dragon. Fitting with this theme is their mechanic, Raid. Like lots of recent mechanics, Raid …

Arbiter of the Ideal and Thassa – Stacking triggers for value.

The Inspired abilities might trigger during your untap step, but triggers can't go on the stack in that step. In essence, they will work like an upkeep trigger and you can order them along with any other upkeep triggers you need to put on the stack at the same time!
Tagged ,

Quicken doesn’t change when you can activate Whip of Erebos.

"Any time you could cast a sorcery" has a bit more rules meaning than the printed text. We explain what it really means and why it's worded this way!
Tagged ,

Removing or adding first strike or double strike mid-combat.

Losing first strike or double strike after dealing damage doesn't let a creature deal regular damage in the next step... because that just wouldn't make sense!
Tagged ,

How to Attack with Mutavault

Mutavault is back in town, and doing fun Mutavault things! It swings for 2, it gets pumped by Master of Waves, it has the subtypes of Ninja Mutant Turtle- and it taps for mana! What a land. However, some people …
Tagged

If your opponent does something in your end step, you get priority again.

Even though you said "go," you still get another chance to cast instants or activate abilities if your opponent does something during your end step.

Reasons to do things between first strike and regular combat damage.

Normally, when you think of first strike, you think “Alright, my guy gets to deal damage before that other guy, so my guy survives”. And that’s true. However, that’s not the only advantage there is. Let’s look at a few …
Tagged , ,

Celestial Flare after Damage

The majority of the time, you’re probably going to be using Celestial Flare before damage goes through: for example, when your opponent attacks you with his biggest creature you can just throw out Flare right away to get rid of …
Tagged

You can cast Azorius Charm after combat damage is dealt, and you can cast it on your own creatures.

The combat phase normally has five steps: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat (when first or double strike is involved, the combat damage step happens twice). Intuitively enough, when you declare a creature …
Tagged