Category Archives: Zones

Jeleva only has access to the cards it exiled, not to cards exiled by another Jeleva

Jeleva can only track the cards it exiled when it entered the battlefield as long as it remains on the battlefield. If Jeleva leaves and comes back, it forgets all the previously exiled cards. Continue reading

Posted in Abilities, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

Duress can never cause a Theros god to be discarded.

A god card is always a creature card (never a noncreature card). The only exception is while it’s on the battlefield and your devotion is less than 5. Continue reading

Posted in Type & Subtypes, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

Nightveil Specter lets you play the exiled card(s), but not for free.

Unlike an explosive card such as , which exiles a bunch of cards then lets you cast them right away for free, Nightveil Specter prefers to play a slower, more gradual game. When you exile a card with the Specter, … Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Static Abilities, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

Protection from creatures prevents targeting with Bloodrush.

To quickly remind yourself of what protection does, just think of the Orzhov guild’s favorite word: DEBT. D stands for dealing damage; E stands for enchanting/equipping; B stands for blocking; and T stands for targeting. While you might be most … Continue reading

Posted in Activated Abilities, Static Abilities, Zones | Comments Off

You can’t Burning Wish for exiled cards

When you wish upon a star Makes no difference who you are Anything your heart desires Will come to you But what can you Wish for in Magic? A card like Burning Wish tells you to choose a sorcery card … Continue reading

Posted in Resolving spells and abilities, Tournament Rules, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

The different ways Dryad Militant interacts with removal spells.

! This little tree-girl seems like lots of fun in Limited and Constructed both, but the most common question I’ve seen regarding her is how she works with removal. When does the spell go to the graveyard? Does she exile … Continue reading

Posted in Prevention and Replacement Effects, Resolving spells and abilities, State-Based Actions, Static Abilities, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

How the ‘Commander tax’ works in EDH/Commander.

Once more, I get the Commander question, and I’m fine with that. Commander is a popular format with Judges, largely because of the fact that it doesn’t rotate, and that the decks can be personalized a good deal. Many judges … Continue reading

Posted in Casting / playing a spell or ability, Multiplayer, Zones | Tagged , | Comments Off

When you flicker a double-faced card with Cloudshift, it will always return with the day side up.

When a double-faced card (“DFC”) isn’t on the battlefield, it only has the characteristics of its front (sun) side. This means that barring odd circumstances (i.e., ‘s triggered ability), a DFC always enters the battlefield sunny-side up. This rule creates … Continue reading

Posted in Resolving spells and abilities, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off

You can “flicker” a creature to save it from a removal spell.

I’m excited for . Partially because it was a house at the prerelease, and partially because is one of my favorite cards. But why are both of these things true? Among other things, it’s the fact that they can be … Continue reading

Posted in Resolving spells and abilities, Zones | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off

A token that is “flickered” with Cloudshift is gone forever.

Yep: New Cards Week. If you haven’t guessed it by now, you don’t visit often enough! My fun card is . You can do a lot of fun things with it. You can chump block with a creature and blink … Continue reading

Posted in State-Based Actions, Zones | Tagged | Comments Off