[cets_callout_box style=’yellow’ align=’right’ title=’Penalty’]None[/cets_callout_box]
Definition
A triggered ability triggers, but the player controlling the ability doesn’t demonstrate awareness of the trigger’s existence the first time that it would affect the game in a visible fashion.
603.1 Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[Trigger condition], [effect],” and begin with the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” They can also be expressed as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect].” A triggered ability is said to “trigger” whenever the above-mentioned [trigger condition] has been met.
Generally speaking, the point at which a player needs to demonstrate awareness of a triggered ability is after it has triggered, but no later than when that ability would “first matter.” For triggers with physical actions, a verbal acknowledgement of the trigger is not sufficient; the physical actions must be performed at the correct time. There are thousands of triggers in the game, and they each work a little differently. Some require targets, some require choices made by opponents, some have physical actions on resolution, some are invisible, etc., so when a trigger “first matters” is not something that can be defined in a single sentence. We’ll revisit this phrase throughout this section.
The point by which the player needs to demonstrate this awareness depends on the impact that the trigger would have on the game:
- A triggered ability that requires its controller to choose targets (other than ‘target opponent’), modes, or other choices made when the ability is put onto the stack: The controller must announce those choices before they next pass priority.
Examples: Advocate of the Beast, Archaeomancer, Blightcaster
For the purposes of triggered abilities, the choice of a “target opponent” is automatically assumed in a two-player game. The controller is not required to explicitly make this choice to avoid missing the trigger. A player isn’t off the hook just yet, though — he or she will still need to demonstrate awareness at some later point according to whichever of the three remaining groups the effect fits into. Also, the opponent is not assumed to be the target when the trigger requires a “target player,” even if it’s “obvious” that you want to target the opponent.
- A triggered ability that causes a change in the visible game state (including life totals) or requires a choice upon resolution: The controller must take the appropriate physical action or make it clear what the action taken or choice made is before taking any game actions (such as casting a sorcery spell or explicitly moving to the next step or phase) that can be taken only after the triggered ability should have resolved.
Examples: Ainok Guide, Burning Earth, Abzan Skycaptain
As it turns out, this is by far the most common type of triggered ability in the game. Most triggered abilities involve obvious visible actions such as drawing cards, moving objects from zone to zone, or modifying the state of permanents. Note that life totals are considered part of the visible representation of the game — this implies that triggered abilities that cause a player to take damage or gain life first matter at the point that a score pad should be updated.
Note that casting an instant spell or activating an ability doesn’t mean a triggered ability has been forgotten, as it could still be on the stack.
- A triggered ability that changes the rules of the game: The controller must acknowledge the trigger or prevent an opponent from taking any resulting illegal action.
Examples: Brine Elemental, Lavinia of the Tenth, Wall of Frost, Pyreheart Wolf
Players are under no obligation to assume the resolution of a triggered ability controlled by an opponent that has not yet been acknowledged. Players are welcome to behave as if it an unacknowledged triggered ability belonging to an opponent was forgotten, but they must expect to be stopped by that opponent if they begin to take an action that the resolution of the triggered ability rendered illegal.
For example, suppose Abelard attacks Nutella with a Pyreheart Wolf and doesn’t immediately mention his trigger. Nutella is allowed to try to declare her animated Mutavault as a blocker. If Abelard does not speak up about this blocking assignment being illegal before taking a later action or continuing with combat, Abelard has missed his trigger.
If a player chooses to perform this “Missed Trigger gambit,” so to speak, he or she risks giving away information like the identity of cards in his or her hand or intended plays. Worse yet, a player banking on a forgotten trigger of this type may lock himself or herself into plays he or she would otherwise not want to take. In the above example, if Abelard prevents Nutella from blocking with her Mutavault, Nutella would not get to undo the activation of Mutavault’s ability and would not get a “refund” for the mana spent.
- A triggered ability that affects the game state in non-visible ways: The controller must make the change known by the first time the change has an effect on the visible game state.
However, the result of these effects may cause some later visible change to the game state. For example, suppose Norville controls an Aether Flash at the time that Anise casts a 3/3 Hill Giant, and neither player mentions the trigger. If, later that turn, Norville deals 1 additional damage to Anise’s creature, Norville will have not missed his Aether Flash trigger if he prompts Anise to put her creature into the graveyard at that time. In this case, Aether Flash’s trigger first matters at the point when Anise’s creature receives lethal damage.
Examples: Boros Elite, Steppe Lynx, Zhur-Taa Ancient, Emrakul, the Aeons Torn
This is something that people get hung up on, and will be addressed in more detail below. But the default assumption of the opponent should be that the trigger happened when it was supposed to.
Once any of the above obligations has been fulfilled, further problems are treated as a Game Play Error — Game Rule Violation.
For example, suppose Acetone attacks Neutrino with an unblocked Arbor Elf equipped with Sword of Feast and Famine. During the combat damage step, Acetone untaps his lands but both players forget about Neutrino discarding. Even if this is noticed during the post combat main phase, this must be treated as a Game Rules Violation by either rewinding the game or applying the appropriate partial fix, and not by simply asking Neutrino if she’d like the discard ability to be placed on the stack. It is also a Game Rules Violation if you acknowledge a trigger at the proper time or earlier, and then, because of multiple things on the stack, you forget to resolve it.
Triggered abilities that do nothing except create delayed triggered abilities automatically resolve without requiring acknowledgment. Awareness of the resulting delayed trigger must be demonstrated at the appropriate point.
Triggered abilities that do nothing except create one or more copies of a spell or ability (such as Storm or Cipher) automatically resolve, but awareness of the resulting objects must be demonstrated using the same requirements as described above (even though the objects may not be triggered abilities).
If a triggered ability would have no impact on the game, it’s not an infraction to fail to demonstrate awareness of it.
For example, if the effect of a triggered ability instructs its controller to sacrifice a creature, a player who controls no creatures isn’t required to demonstrate awareness of the ability.
Judges do not intervene in a Missed Trigger situation unless they intend to issue a Warning or have reason to suspect that the controller is intentionally missing his or her triggered abilities.
The only exception to this, of course, is when a judge needs to issue a Warning or investigate a player for Cheating. The needs of the tournament — specifically, ensuring its integrity — exceed those of an individual match.
Examples
A. Knight of Infamy (a 2/1 creature with exalted) attacks alone. Its controller says “Take two.”
B. A player forgets to remove the final time counter from a suspended spell and then draws a card during his draw step.
C. A player casts Azorius Arrester, then forgets its triggered ability by not choosing a target for it. He realizes this only after casting another spell.
D. A player forgets to exile the Angel token created by Geist of Saint Traft at end of combat. She realizes the error when declaring blockers during the next turn.
Philosophy
Triggered abilities are common and invisible, so players should not be harshly penalized when forgetting about one.
Players are expected to remember their own triggered abilities; intentionally ignoring one may be Unsporting Conduct — Cheating (unless the ability would have no impact on the game as described above).
Even if an opponent is involved in the announcement or resolution of the ability, the controller is still responsible for ensuring the opponents make the appropriate choices and take the appropriate actions. Opponents are not required to point out triggered abilities that they do not control, though they may do so if they wish.
One of the many skills tested in Magic is the ability of players to remember their own triggered abilities. Players should not be punished for the inabilities or poor memories of their opponents.
Why might a player want to remind an opponent of his or her triggered ability? It’s possible that the triggered ability might be subjectively bad for that opponent. For example, suppose Absinthe is at 1 life and controls a Dark Confidant whose triggered ability has been missed several times earlier in the game. Given the player’s now low life total, Novocain would have a high incentive to make sure that the trigger happens when it’s supposed to.
Triggered abilities are assumed to be remembered until otherwise indicated, and the impact on the game state may not be immediately apparent.
The opponent’s benefit is in not having to point out triggered abilities, although this does not mean that they can cause triggers to be missed.
If an opponent requires information about the precise timing of a triggered ability or needs details about a game object that may be affected by a resolved triggered ability, that player may need to acknowledge that ability’s existence before its controller does.
Niles has two options — he could simply cast Shock, targeting the Bear Cub, hoping that Amaranth forgot about the trigger. However, by doing so, Niles risks Amaranth acknowledging the trigger by afterward not putting the Bear Cub into the graveyard. In other words, just because Amaranth didn’t explicitly announce her trigger doesn’t mean she’s yet missed it — the point at which the trigger would first matter in this case would be after Shock resolves. So, if Niles were to attempt this ploy, he risks wasting his Shock.
Alternatively, Niles could first ask Amaranth if any abilities have modified Bear Cub’s toughness. This is free information, so Amaranth would be required to answer it honestly and completely. With this option, the point at which Cathedral of War’s trigger would first matter would be when Amaranth answers the question.
This may seem somewhat unsatisfactory to Niles, since asking questions about the toughness of the Bear Cub might remind Amaranth about her trigger and give her one last opportunity to acknowledge it. However, as the IPG says, “triggered abilities are assumed to be remembered until otherwise indicated.” Niles should be reminded of this by judges as needed.
A player who makes a play that may or may not be legal depending on whether an uncommunicated trigger has been remembered has not committed an infraction; their play either succeeds, confirming that the trigger has been missed, or is rewound.
Players may not cause triggered abilities controlled by an opponent to be missed by taking game actions or otherwise prematurely advancing the game.
The reason that policy allows for players to acknowledge triggers just after an opponent takes a game action that would otherwise cause the trigger to be missed is precisely because players do not usually prompt their opponents for actions before moving ahead with their turns. For example, players will often proceed straight from their main phase to declaring attackers without asking the opponent if he or she wants to first do anything — such as announcing any beginning of combat triggers.
The Missed Trigger policy was written to address the way that players already play the game and not the other way around.
A player that says nothing about his or her opponent’s Braids, Cabal Minion trigger before attempting to draw for the turn hasn’t committed an infraction. If an opponent speaks up about the trigger as soon as the card is drawn, the trigger has not been missed.
During an opponent’s turn, if a trigger’s controller demonstrates awareness of the trigger before they take an active role (such as taking an action or explicitly passing priority), the trigger is remembered.
The Out-of-Order Sequencing rules (MTR section 4.3) may also be applicable, especially as they relate to batches of actions or resolving items on the stack in an improper order.
Due to the complexity of accurately representing a game of Magic, it is acceptable for players to engage in a block of actions that, while technically in an incorrect order, arrive at a legal and clearly understood game state once they are complete.
All actions taken must be legal if they were executed in the correct order, and any opponent can ask the player to do the actions in the correct sequence so that he or she can respond at the appropriate time (at which point players will not be held to any still-pending actions).
An out-of-order sequence must not result in a player prematurely gaining information which could reasonably affect decisions made later in that sequence.
This means that, in certain situations, players may acknowledge a trigger as part of a block of actions, some of which may technically be later than the point at which the trigger would first matter, without the trigger being missed.
For example, a player may, in quick succession, sacrifice Pitchburn Devils to pay the cost of his Carrion Feeder’s activated ability, then put a counter on the Carrion Feeder, and then say “you take 3,” without Pitchburn Devils’s trigger being considered missed. If the player takes these actions all at once without leaving an opportunity for the opponent to indicate responses or provide additional information, this should usually be ruled a legal out-of-order sequence of actions.
A player could not, however, remove the last counter from a Rift Bolt, then draw for the turn, and then say “I’ll Rift Bolt your creature.” Even if the player performs these actions in quick succession and without the opponent saying anything, he or she would still have gained the knowledge of the card drawn for the turn before choosing his Rift Bolt target. This should usually be ruled a Missed Trigger.
Additional Remedy
If the triggered ability specifies a default action associated with a choice made by the controller (usually “If you don’t …” or “… unless”), resolve it choosing the default option.
Examples: Masticore, Pact of Negation, Transguild Promenade. We will see the next two sentences detail how to “resolve it”.
If the triggered ability is a delayed triggered ability that changes the zone of an object, resolve it.
For these two types of abilities, the opponent chooses whether to resolve the ability the next time a player would get priority or when a player would get priority at the start of the next phase.
Note that policy allows for the object to be returned when a player would get priority at the start of the next phase, and not step. The timing option here allows for a bit of control over creatures appearing and disappearing from the battlefield mid-combat. Putting the control in the hands of the opponent is acceptable because the opponent isn’t the one who missed his or her trigger, and this allows the opponent to minimize the impact of the player “suddenly” remembering the trigger.
Resolving a delayed zone-change trigger that returns a creature to the battlefield at the start of the next phase means that if a player notices his or her own Missed Trigger during his or her opponent’s end step, the opponent may choose to have the creature remain exiled until the player’s upkeep. That means this creature will have summoning sickness and won’t be able to attack that turn. Of course, an opponent can still opt to have that creature returned to the battlefield when a player got priority during that end of turn step if he or she really wanted to.
Finally, wherever the opponent chooses to place the trigger, it is resolved immediately, without using the stack. This is to prevent responding to these triggers that should have already happened. You wouldn’t want a pact trigger placed on the stack, then the player casts a card draw spell in response to dig out a Stifle, would you?
These abilities do not expire and should be remedied no matter how much time has passed since they should have triggered.
Also of interest is that even though these abilities don’t expire, players are still under no obligation to remind the opponent of their existence. A player is perfectly within policy by remaining quiet for several turns despite having noticed that his opponent’s Obzedat, Ghost Council never returned from exile. And don’t forget the triggers on Pact of Negation and his buddies. The default action will be resolved even if it’s remembered two turns later.
If the ability was missed prior to the current phase in the previous player’s turn, instruct the players to continue playing.
If the triggered ability created an effect whose duration has already expired, instruct the players to continue playing.
Examples: Battlegrace Angel, Colossal Whale, Nivix Cyclops
If the triggered ability isn’t covered by the previous two paragraphs, the opponent chooses whether the triggered ability is added to the stack.
So, run through the checks above. If none of them fit, this is our default.
The opponent should be explicitly asked if he or she would like the ability to go on the stack. Judges should not just assume that players won’t want triggers harmful to them or helpful to an opponent to be skipped, no matter how silly asking might seem.
If it is, it’s inserted at the appropriate place on the stack if possible or on the bottom of the stack.
No player may make choices involving objects that would not have been legal choices when the ability should have triggered.
For example, if the ability instructs a player to sacrifice a creature, that player can’t sacrifice a creature that wasn’t on the battlefield when the ability should have triggered.
Upgrade
If the triggered ability is usually considered detrimental for the controlling player the penalty is a Warning.
Furthermore, “usually detrimental” means that you should consider the card associated with the trigger in a vacuum and not take into account any game-specific information in order to determine whether or not a trigger is detrimental. Toby Elliott once said (on his blog) that one guideline for making this determination is to ask yourself: “If the trigger didn’t exist, would the card be played?” If the answer is no, then the ability is probably not detrimental.
In theory, all triggered abilities in Magic could be classified as either detrimental or non-detrimental — in fact, a small group of judges are endeavoring to accomplish this very thing with the Missed Trigger Guides project.
The current game state is not a factor in determining this, though symmetrical abilities (such as Howling Mine) may be considered usually detrimental or not depending on who is being affected.
However, we are allowed to consider symmetrical abilities differently based on who is affected. What exactly is a symmetrical ability? Symmetrical abilities are triggered abilities that meet two conditions. They: 1. are likely to trigger multiple times per game, triggering for different players 2. have the same effect on both players.
Examples include Howling Mine, Sulfuric Vortex, and Burning Earth. A symmetrical ability may either do something positive to both players, or do something negative to both players, but would never do something positive to one player and negative to the other player. Furthermore, a symmetrical ability must have its effect on each player during separate instances of the same ability. For example, Sire of Insanity’s triggered ability (At the beginning of each end step, each player discards his or her hand.) is not symmetrical.
If a player misses a symmetrical trigger that would be either bad for him or her or good for an opponent, he or she should receive a Warning.