Argus is playing against Neferian in round 3 of a Modern PPTQ. Neferian mulligans, keeps his 6 card hand and scrys to the top. Argus starts the first turn of the game, plays a , casts and attacks. Neferian flips the top card his deck thinking Argus has played a . Argus immediately calls a judge and explains what happened. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!
Acacia and Naomi are playing in a Legacy 5k. Acacia controls a . Acacia draws for turn, resolves 's ability and puts two cards back on top of her library. Acacia casts and says “Does resolve?” Naomi answers “Yes, it resolves.” Acacia then flips over the top two cards of her library, revealing a and . Naomi calls for a judge and explains that she thinks Acacia missed her cascade trigger. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!
Abby and Nova are playing in an Amonkhet Sealed PPTQ. Abby taps four Forests, discards a , and announces she is paying the cycling cost. She draws a card and then starts searching her library. Nova stops her and says, “Hold on. You have to search your library before you draw. It even says so at the bottom of your card.” Abby reads her closely and replies, “Oops! You’re right. JUDGE!” What do you do? Judges feel free to answer this on Judge Apps!
Arf and Nance are playing in a PPTQ. They are drawing their opening hands. While dealing out the cards face down, Arf notices one of Nance's cards is sitting next to his own foot face down. He immediately calls you to the table and explains that he must have dropped it while shuffling. He had fumbled the cards a bit while shuffling, but he thought he had caught them all. When you pick up the card, it is a , a card in Nance's deck. What do you do? Submit your answer here!
Arborea is playing in Modern 5K run at Competitive REL. She casts and grabs top the few cards of her deck. She counts them, realizes there are only 4, and reaches for a fifth. When she does so, the top two cards of her library stick together, and she picks up both of them. She immediately realizes her error and calls for a judge. The two stuck cards have remained separate from the other cards she had picked up, and are still stuck together in her hand when you reach the table. What do you do? Judges
Arnold and Nadine are playing in a PPTQ. Arnold plays a , then scries. He puts the card back on top, slightly askew from the rest of his library. He then attacks with a face-down creature, which Nadine does not block. As Nadine is setting her pen down after recording her life total change, she accidentally bumps Arnold's library and flips the top card onto the table face up. Both players immediately call for a judge. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
You are the head judge of PPTQ. Anna has a in play. Both Anna and Nicole are playing quickly due to it being near the end of time in the round. While watching the match, you see Anna untap, play the revealed land from the top of her library, and draw for her turn. She then records that she gained 1 life from the Courser of Kruphix trigger. Nicole immediately calls for a Judge. Assuming no cheating has occurred, what do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
At a Grand Prix Trial you are running at your local store, a spectator points out a player to you and asks you to watch the way he shuffles. Before the player's match, you witness him riffle shuffle with the cards facing himself once, and then once with the cards facing away. He repeats this cycle several more times, once towards himself, once away, before presenting his deck to his opponent. You step in and ask the player some questions about his shuffling method. He answers that he always shuffles
Aardvark is playing in a Standard Competitive REL tournament. He's playing a red-black aggro deck. On his decklist is written 4x . A start of round deck check reveals he's playing 4x . The decklist is otherwise legal. What do you do? What are the relevant infractions, penalties, and fixes, if possible? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
Abel is playing in a Standard PTQ. He controls a , which he untaps at start of his turn. He then immediately draws a card for his turn. He pauses for a second, says, "Oh!" points to his Pain Seer, then reveals the top card of his library, which is a Swamp. He says "Swamp. Lose zero," and puts it in his hand. At this point, his opponent Nancy calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!