(Originally published on 2025-10-01; last reviewed on 2025-10-01; last updated on 2025-10-01)
This article features twenty-five rules questions about Magic‘s newest set Magic: The Gathering | Marvel’s Spider-Man.
The first seven questions focus on mechanics and general features of the set, similar to the update quizzes of several judge organizations. The rest focus on individual cards. The last question is all over the place.
I recommend reading up on the Comprehensive Rules (CR) changes for this set before taking the quiz; the diff found on Academy Ruins does nicely. For this set in particular, the Release Notes also contain all the relevant information in a less formal style.
Quiz style
This quiz follows the style most judge organizations use for rules questions on their update and certification tests.
- Each question lists multiple possible answers, usually five.
- For most questions, only one of those answers is correct.
- If more than one answer can be correct, the question will end with the phrase “Select all that apply.”
- The number of correct answers can vary from one to all of them.
- For the final score, such a question is all-or-nothing: selecting only some of the correct answers, but not all of them, or selecting an incorrect answer in addition to the correct ones, means that the question is failed.
- The name of the active player always starts with an “A” and the name of the nonactive player always starts with an “N.” In scenarios describing Two-Headed Giant games, the names of the two players on the active team start with an “A” and the names of the two players on the nonactive team start with an “N.”
- Each player has all the resources needed to perform the described actions, such as mana, cards in hand, or permanents to sacrifice. Usually, those resources are not described in detail unless they matter for the scenario.
- The scenario description contains all the relevant information about the game state. If something is not mentioned, then it’s not part of the game state or it doesn’t influence the correct answer.
- All game actions taken by the players are legal. The only exception are questions where one or more of the potential answers claim the opposite; usually, those answers start with “This can’t happen as described.” In such cases, a game action may have been illegal. Determining whether that’s the case is key to that question.
- Each question provides Oracle text for all cards mentioned in the scenario. You can click on the text to show or hide card images. Italicized card names in the scenario description should also have a tooltip displaying the card’s rules text for quick reference.
Judge organizations differ in what resources they allow for different kinds of tests. Update quizzes are generally open-internet, while certification tests are open-book or closed-book. Pick whatever works best for you.
The questions
Question 1
Spider-Man India
{3}{G}{W}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Web-slinging {1}{G}{W} (You may cast this spell for {1}{G}{W} if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)
Pavitr’s Sevā – Whenever you cast a creature spell, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. It gains flying until end of turn.

Lurking Lizards
{1}{G}
Creature – Lizard Villain
1/3
Trample
Whenever you cast a spell with mana value 4 or greater, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.

Madame Web, Clairvoyant
{4}{U}{U}
Legendary Creature – Mutant Advisor
4/4
You may look at the top card of your library any time.
You may cast Spider spells and noncreature spells from the top of your library.
Whenever you attack, you may mill a card. (You may put the top card of your library into your graveyard.)

Mouse Trapper
{2}{W}
Creature – Mouse Soldier
3/2
Flash
Valiant – Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability you control for the first time each turn, tap target creature an opponent controls.

Peri Brown
{3}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human
2/3
The first historic spell you cast each turn has convoke. (Your creatures can help cast it. Each creature you tap while casting it pays for {1} or one mana of that creature’s color.)
Doctor’s companion (You can have two commanders if the other is the Doctor.)

Alex casts Spider-Man India using its web-slinging ability. Which of the following statements are correct? Select all that apply.
- If Alex returns another Spider-Man India to their hand, that Spider-Man India’s ability triggers before it’s returned to Alex’s hand.
- If Alex controls Madame Web, Clairvoyant, they can cast Spider-Man India this way from the top of their library.
- If Alex controls Peri Brown and they have not yet cast a spell this turn, Alex can tap Peri Brown to pay for {W} and then return Peri Brown to their hand to pay for the other part of the spell’s total cost.
- If Alex controls Lurking Lizards and returns another tapped creature to their hand, Lurking Lizards’s ability doesn’t trigger.
- If Alex returns Mouse Trapper to their hand, Mouse Trapper’s ability triggers before it’s returned to Alex’s hand.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answers B and C are correct.
Web-slinging represents an alternative cost [CR 702.188a]. The mana value of a spell is determined solely by its mana cost and does not change if the spell is cast for a cost other than its mana cost or if the spell’s total cost is modified in any way [CR 202.3][CR 118.9c]. In this scenario, Spider-Man India has a mana value of 5, regardless of how much mana Alex spends to cast it, and Lurking Lizards’s ability triggers.
The effect of Madame Web’s ability grants Alex permission to cast the top card of their library if the resulting spell is a Spider or a noncreature spell. The permission has no other conditions, so Alex is free to pay the spell’s mana cost or any alternative cost available for that spell, such as web-slinging.
The creature Alex returns to their hand is not a target of the spell, so Mouse Trapper’s ability doesn’t trigger.
If Alex casts a spell using web-slinging, the spell’s total cost has two parts: paying mana and returning a tapped creature Alex controls to its owner’s hand. Alex can pay those two costs in any order [CR 601.2h]. In this scenario, they can first pay the mana (using convoke for some or all of it) and then pay the other cost by returning Peri Brown to their hand. Since Alex has paid the mana by that point, it does not matter that Spider-Man India loses convoke. Similarly, it does not matter that Peri Brown only becomes tapped right before Alex pays the second part, since they do not have to declare beforehand which creature they intend to return [CR 702.188a].
Abilities that trigger when a spell is cast trigger only upon completion of the casting process [CR 601.2i]. In this scenario, Alex returns Spider-Man India to their hand in the penultimate step of casting the other Spider-Man India, so Spider-Man India is not on the battlefield anymore when its ability would trigger.
Question 2
Lyla, Holographic Assistant
{3}{U}
Legendary Artifact Creature – Illusion Advisor
2/2
Whenever you draw a card, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.

Magic Pot
{3}
Artifact Creature – Goblin Construct
1/4
When this creature dies, create a Treasure token. (It’s an artifact with “{T}, Sacrifice this token: Add one mana of any color.”)
{2}, {T}: Exile target card from a graveyard.

Romantic Rendezvous
{1}{R}
Sorcery
Discard a card, then draw two cards.

Spider-Islanders
{3}{R}
Creature – Spider Horror Citizen
4/3
Mayhem {1}{R} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for {1}{R} if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.)

High Fae Trickster
{3}{U}
Creature – Faerie Wizard
4/2
Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)
Flying
You may cast spells as though they had flash.

Amelia controls Lyla, Holographic Assistant and Ned controls Magic Pot. Amelia casts and resolves Romantic Rendezvous. She discards Spider-Islanders and draws High Fae Trickster and a basic land card, triggering Lyla’s ability twice. Which options does Amelia have for casting Spider-Islanders from her graveyard using its mayhem ability? Select all that apply.
- Amelia can cast Spider-Islanders while Lyla’s abilities are still on the stack. To do so, she needs to respond to the abilities with High Fae Trickster, let High Fae Trickster resolve, and then cast Spider-Islanders.
- Amelia can cast Spider-Islanders after Romantic Rendezvous has resolved, before Ned gets priority to activate Magic Pot’s ability. To do so, she simply casts Spider-Islanders before putting the triggered abilities on the stack.
- If Ned activates Magic Pot’s ability, Amelia can cast Spider-Islanders in response. To do so, she needs to respond to the ability with High Fae Trickster, let High Fae Trickster resolve, and then cast Spider-Islanders.
- Amelia can cast Spider-Islanders once both of Lyla’s abilities have resolved (if it’s still in her graveyard).
- Amelia’s only opportunity to cast Spider-Islanders is directly after Romantic Rendezvous has resolved. At that time, she has to put two triggered abilities on the stack, so she misses that opportunity. Amelia cannot cast Spider-Islanders at a later time.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answers A, C, and D are correct.
Mayhem is a static ability whose effect continuously grants a permission to play the card with mayhem [CR 702.187b][CR 604.2]. That permission mentions a specific zone (the graveyard) and another condition (the card must have been discarded this turn), but it does not say when Amelia can cast Spider-Islanders. For this, she has to combine it with another permission. By default, Amelia may cast a creature spell anytime she has priority during her main phase while the stack is empty [CR 117.1a]. If she controls High Fae Trickster, she may also cast a creature spell anytime she has priority [CR 702.8a]. Either way, Amelia does not have to cast Spider-Islanders right after discarding it.
After Romantic Rendezvous has finished resolving und has been put into the graveyard, Amelia first puts the two triggered abilities onto the stack, then she receives priority [CR 117.3b][CR 117.5]. With the two abilities on the stack, she cannot cast Spider-Islanders at this point, and she cannot cast it before putting the abilities onto the stack, as she does not yet have priority at that moment. Once Amelia has resolved the two abilities and the stack is empty once again, she can cast Spider-Islanders if it is still in her graveyard at that point.
Amelia may also respond to the triggered abilities or to Magic Pot’s activated ability (should Ned activate it) and cast High Fae Trickster [CR 117.7]. After both players pass priority in succession, High Fae Trickster resolves and enters the battlefield [CR 117.4]. After that, Amelia gets priority and may respond a second time by casting Spider-Islanders [CR 117.3b]. Provided that there are no more actions by either player, Spider-Islanders resolves and enters the battlefield, then Magic Pot’s ability fails to resolve because its only target has become illegal, then one of Lyla’s abilities resolves, and finally, the other ability resolves.
Question 3
Roaming Throne
{4}
Artifact Creature – Golem
4/4
Ward {2}
As this creature enters, choose a creature type.
This creature is the chosen type in addition to its other types.
If a triggered ability of another creature you control of the chosen type triggers, it triggers an additional time.

Prowler, Clawed Thief
{1}{U}{B}
Legendary Creature – Human Rogue Villain
2/3
Menace (This creature can’t be blocked except by two or more creatures.)
Whenever another Villain you control enters, Prowler connives. (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)

Mob Lookout
{1}{U/B}
Creature – Human Rogue Villain
0/3
When this creature enters, target creature you control connives. (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on that creature.)

Bombard
{2}{R}
Instant
Bombard deals 4 damage to target creature.

Arthur controls Roaming Throne, for which he has chosen Villain, and Prowler, Clawed Thief. He puts Mob Lookout onto the battlefield, triggering the abilities of Prowler and of Mob Lookout two times each, and he targets Prowler with both abilities of Mob Lookout. While resolving the first ability, Arthur puts a +1/+1 counter on Prowler. After that ability has resolved, Natasha responds with Bombard, targeting Prowler. After Bombard has resolved and Prowler has left the battlefield, how many more times will Prowler connive?
- Prowler will connive three more times.
- Prowler will connive one more time or two more times, depending on the order in which Arthur put the abilities onto the stack.
- Prowler will connive two more times.
- Prowler will connive one more time.
- Prowler will not connive after it has left the battlefield.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer B is correct.
Mob Lookout’s ability has a target, so when the ability is supposed to resolve, that target’s legality is checked; if the target is not legal at that time, the ability does not resolve and none of its effects happen [CR 608.2b]. In this scenario, the target, Prowler, has left the battlefield, so Mob Lookout’s ability won’t resolve and it won’t instruct Prowler to connive.
Prowler’s own ability does not have a target, so it resolves even if Prowler is not on the battlefield anymore [CR 113.7a]. If a specific permanent is instructed to connive, that permanent connives even if it has left the battlefield [CR 701.50c]. In this scenario, Prowler’s ability instructs Prowler to connive, so Arthur draws a card and then discards a card. Putting a +1/+1 counter on Prowler is impossible, so Arthur skips that part if he discards a nonland card [CR 609.3].
If Arthur put one of Mob Lookout’s abilities on top of the stack, then two of the three remaining abilities are abilities of Prowler and Prowler will connive two more times. If Arthur instead put one of Prowler’s abilities on top of the stack, then only one of the three remaining abilities is an ability of Prowler and Prowler will connive one more time.
Question 4
Costume Closet
{1}{W}
Artifact
This artifact enters with two +1/+1 counters on it.
{T}: Move a +1/+1 counter from this artifact onto target creature you control. Activate only as a sorcery.
Whenever a modified creature you control leaves the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on this artifact. (Equipment, Auras you control, and counters are modifications.)

Robotics Mastery
{4}{U}
Enchantment – Aura
Flash
Enchant creature
When this Aura enters, create two 1/1 colorless Robot artifact creature tokens with flying.
Enchanted creature gets +2/+2.

Future Flight
{2}{U}{U}
Enchantment – Aura
Enchant creature
When this Aura enters, draw two cards.
Enchanted creature gets +2/+0 and has flying. (It can’t be blocked except by creatures with flying or reach.)

Death Begets Life
{5}{B}{G}{U}
Sorcery
Destroy all creatures and enchantments. Draw a card for each permanent destroyed this way.

Nicolas controls three 1/1 green and white Human Citizen creature tokens and Costume Closet. The first token is enchanted by Nicolas’s Robotics Mastery, the second token has a stun counter on it, and the third token is enchanted by Nicolas’s Future Flight. Future Flight has an indestructible counter on it. Ada casts Death Begets Life. Which of the three creature tokens leaving the battlefield trigger Costume Closet’s ability?
- Just the one with the stun counter.
- The ones enchanted by Robotics Mastery and by Future Flight.
- None of them.
- Just the one enchanted by Robotics Mastery.
- All three creature tokens.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer E is correct.
A permanent is modified if it has a counter on it, if an Equipment is attached to it, or if an Aura controlled by that permanent’s controller is attached to it [CR 700.9]. The kind of counter or how the Equipment or Aura affects the permanent does not matter.
Costume Closet’s triggered ability is a leaves-the-battlefield trigger, so it triggers based on the game state before an event [CR 603.10]. The rules text of Death Begets Life contains one instruction to destroy all creatures and enchantments, so the three creature tokens and Robotics Mastery are destroyed simultaneously [CR 608.2f]. In the game state immediately prior to those destruction events, all three creature tokens are modified, so Costume Closet’s ability triggers three times.
Question 5
SP//dr, Piloted by Peni
{3}{W}{U}
Legendary Artifact Creature – Spider Hero
4/4
Vigilance
When SP//dr enters, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.
Whenever a modified creature you control deals combat damage to a player, draw a card. (Equipment, Auras you control, and counters are modifications.)

Spider-Mobile
{3}
Artifact – Vehicle
3/3
Trample
Whenever this Vehicle attacks or blocks, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn for each Spider you control.
Crew 2

Biorganic Carapace
{2}{W}{U}
Artifact – Equipment
When this Equipment enters, attach it to target creature you control.
Equipped creature gets +2/+2 and has “Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, draw a card for each modified creature you control.” (Equipment, Auras you control, and counters are modifications.)
Equip {2}

Massacre Girl, Known Killer
{2}{B}{B}
Legendary Creature – Human Assassin
4/4
Menace
Creatures you control have wither. (They deal damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters.)
Whenever a creature an opponent controls dies, if its toughness was less than 1, draw a card.

Venomized Cat
{2}{B}
Creature – Symbiote Cat Villain
2/3
Deathtouch
When this creature enters, mill two cards. (Put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.)

Arnold is attacking Nadia with SP//dr, Piloted by Peni, a 6/6 Spider-Mobile equipped by Biorganic Carapace, and a 5/5 Spider-Mobile with a +1/+1 counter on it. Nadia blocks SP//dr with Massacre Girl, Known Killer and the equipped Spider-Mobile with Venomized Cat. How many cards does Arnold draw during the combat damage step?
- Two
- One
- Zero or two, depending on Arnold’s choices.
- One or three, depending on Arnold’s choices.
- Four
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer D is correct.
A permanent is modified if it has a counter on it, if an Equipment is attached to it, or if an Aura controlled by that permanent’s controller is attached to it [CR 700.9].
As the combat damage step begins, Arnold assigns the combat damage of the blocked Spider-Mobile [CR 510.1]. It has trample, so he has to assign 2 damage to Venomized Cat and can distribute the remaining 4 damage as he chooses between Venomized Cat and Nadia [CR 702.19b]. Then all creatures deal their combat damage simultaneously [CR 510.2]. The unblocked Spider-Mobile deals combat damage to Nadia and it has a counter on it, so SP//dr’s ability triggers. If Arnold assigned any of the equipped Spider-Mobile’s combat damage to Nadia, SP//dr’s ability also triggers for that Spider-Mobile, and the ability granted by Biorganic Carapace triggers.
Next, state-based actions are performed and SP//dr, Massacre Girl, the equipped Spider-Mobile, and Venomized Cat are put into their owners’ graveyards [CR 704.3][CR 704.5f–h]. Then, Arnold puts one or three triggered abilities onto the stack; the order does not matter in this scenario. Once triggered, an ability is independent of its source, so the fact that SP//dr and the equipped Spider-Mobile have left the battlefield does not matter for resolving their abilities [CR 113.7a]. Arnold draws one card each time he resolves one of SP//dr’s abilities.
The ability granted by Biorganic Carapace counts how many modified creatures Arnold controls only when it resolves; at that time, Arnold controls only one modified creature, so he draws one card for that ability [CR 608.2h].
Question 6
Peter Parker
{1}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Hero
0/1
When Peter Parker enters, create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach.
{1}{G}{W}{U}: Transform Peter Parker. Activate only as a sorcery.

Amazing Spider-Man
{1}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Vigilance, reach
Each legendary spell you cast that’s one or more colors has web-slinging {G}{W}{U}. (You may cast a spell for its web-slinging cost if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)

Aunt May
{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Citizen
0/2
Whenever another creature you control enters, you gain 1 life. If it’s a Spider, put a +1/+1 counter on it.

Peter Parker’s Camera
{1}
Artifact
This artifact enters with three film counters on it.
{2}, {T}, Remove a film counter from this artifact: Copy target activated or triggered ability you control. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Shock
{R}
Instant
Shock deals 2 damage to any target.

Ashley controls Peter Parker (a modal double-faced card whose back face is Amazing Spider-Man), Aunt May, and Peter Parker’s Camera. She activates Peter Parker’s ability and Nate responds by casting Shock on Peter Parker. Ashley responds to Shock by activating the ability of Peter Parker’s Camera, targeting Peter Parker’s ability. Which answer best describes what happens next?
- Peter Parker transforms into Amazing Spider-Man. Aunt May’s ability triggers and Ashley gains 1 life and puts a +1/+1 counter on Amazing Spider-Man. Shock deals 2 damage to Amazing Spider-Man. Amazing Spider-Man does not transform a second time.
- Peter Parker transforms into Amazing Spider-Man. Shock deals 2 damage to it. Amazing Spider-Man transforms into Peter Parker. Peter Parker dies.
- Peter Parker transforms into Amazing Spider-Man. Aunt May’s ability triggers and Ashley gains 1 life and puts a +1/+1 counter on Amazing Spider-Man. Shock does not resolve. Amazing Spider-Man does not transform a second time.
- Peter Parker does not transform. Shock deals 2 damage to it. Peter Parker dies.
- Peter Parker transforms into Amazing Spider-Man. Shock deals 2 damage to it.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer E is correct.
The topmost object on the stack is the activated ability of Peter Parker’s Camera, so it’s the first object to resolve [CR 608.1]. It creates a copy of Peter Parker’s activated ability, which becomes the next object to resolve [CR 707.10][CR 405.2].
In general, any spell or ability can transform a modal double-faced permanent, so when the copy resolves, Peter Parker transforms into Amazing Spider-Man. A permanent that transforms does not change zones or become a new object, so Amazing Spider-Man does not count as having entered the battlefield and Aunt May’s ability does not trigger [CR 712.18].
Next, Shock resolves, as its target is still legal, and it deals 2 damage to Amazing Spider-Man. Finally, the original ability of Peter Parker resolves. Amazing Spider-Man does not transform back into Peter Parker though, because that permanent has transformed between the activation and the resolution of the original ability [CR 701.27f].
Question 7
Behold the Sinister Six!
{6}{B}
Sorcery
Return up to six target creature cards with different names from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Peter Parker
{1}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Hero
0/1
When Peter Parker enters, create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach.
{1}{G}{W}{U}: Transform Peter Parker. Activate only as a sorcery.

Amazing Spider-Man
{1}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Vigilance, reach
Each legendary spell you cast that’s one or more colors has web-slinging {G}{W}{U}. (You may cast a spell for its web-slinging cost if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)

Doc Ock, Armed and Dangerous
Lorthos, the Tidemaker
{5}{U}{U}{U}
Legendary Creature – Octopus
8/8
Whenever Lorthos attacks, you may pay {8}. If you do, tap up to eight target permanents. Those permanents don’t untap during their controllers’ next untap steps.

Lorthos, the Tidemaker
{5}{U}{U}{U}
Legendary Creature – Octopus
8/8
Whenever Lorthos attacks, you may pay {8}. If you do, tap up to eight target permanents. Those permanents don’t untap during their controllers’ next untap steps.

Spider-Man, Peter Parker
{3}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Flying (This creature can’t be blocked except by creatures with flying or reach.)
Whenever you gain life, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. It gains indestructible until end of turn. (Damage and effects that say “destroy” don’t destroy it.)

Spider-Man, Miles Morales
{4}{G}{G}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
5/5
Vigilance, trample (Attacking doesn’t cause this creature to tap. He can deal excess combat damage to the player he’s attacking.)
Whenever Spider-Man enters or attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on each other creature you control. Those creatures gain trample until end of turn.

Doc Ock, Sinister Scientist
{4}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Villain
4/5
As long as there are eight or more cards in your graveyard, Doc Ock has base power and toughness 8/8.
As long as you control another Villain, Doc Ock has hexproof. (He can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.)

Doctor Octopus, Master Planner
{5}{U}{B}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Villain
4/8
Other Villains you control get +2/+2.
Your maximum hand size is eight.
At the beginning of your end step, if you have fewer than eight cards in hand, draw cards equal to the difference.

Alex casts Behold the Sinister Six!. Which of the following options are available to Alex if the mentioned cards are in their graveyard? Select all that apply.
- Alex can target Amazing Spider-Man, the back face of the modal double-faced card Peter Parker, and return it to the battlefield as Amazing Spider-Man.
- Alex can target both Doc Ock, Armed and Dangerous and Lorthos, the Tidemaker.
- Alex can target both Spider-Man, Peter Parker and Spider-Man, Miles Morales.
- Alex can target both Doc Ock, Sinister Scientist and Doctor Octopus, Master Planner.
- Alex can target two Peter Parkers if Alex targets the back face (Amazing Spider-Man) of one of them.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answers C and D are correct.
A modal double-faced card has two sets of characteristics, one for each face, but the card is still only one object and only one of those sets is used at any given time [CR 712.8]. In the graveyard, a double-faced card has only the characteristics of its front face [CR 712.8a]. In this scenario, all modal double-faced cards are named Peter Parker and Alex can target only one of them. By default, a modal double-faced card that enters the battlefield from the graveyard enters with its front face up, so Alex can’t return a card as Amazing Spider-Man [CR 712.14].
When comparing the names of two or more objects, their full names are used. Doc Ock, Sinister Scientist and Doctor Octopus, Master Planner may represent the same storyline character, but the cards’ names are different. The same holds true for different characters with the same title, such as Spider-Man, Peter Parker and Spider-Man, Miles Morales. The latter uses a shortened version of its name to refer to itself in its rules text, but that shortened version has no influence on the actual card name and is treated as though it were the full name [CR 201.5c].
Doc Ock, Armed and Dangerous is a version of Lorthos, the Tidemaker printed with a secondary title bar. The name in the top left corner (“Doc Ock, Armed and Dangerous”) has no effect on gameplay; for gameplay purposes, the card has the name printed in the secondary title bar [CR 201.6]. In this scenario, Alex would target two cards named Lorthos, the Tidemaker, which is not legal.
Question 8
Kraven’s Last Hunt
{3}{G}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.)
I – Mill five cards. When you do, this Saga deals damage equal to the greatest power among creature cards in your graveyard to target creature.
II – Target creature you control gets +2/+2 until end of turn.
III – Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

Heroic Intervention
{1}{G}
Instant
Permanents you control gain hexproof and indestructible until end of turn.

Abel and Nancy each control several creatures. Abel casts and resolves Kraven’s Last Hunt. Nancy responds to the first chapter ability with Heroic Intervention. Which answer best describes what happens next?
- Abel chooses the target when he puts the chapter ability onto the stack. That ability does not resolve if he chose one of Nancy’s creatures as the target. Abel does not mill any cards and no further abilities trigger.
- Abel does not choose a target when he puts the chapter ability onto the stack. That ability resolves and Abel mills five cards. After that, he puts the reflexive triggered ability onto the stack and has to choose one of his own creatures as the target. He can choose not to deal any damage to the target though.
- Abel does not choose a target when he puts the chapter ability onto the stack. That ability resolves and Abel mills five cards. After that, he puts the reflexive triggered ability onto the stack. He does not have to choose a target though. If he declines, the reflexive triggered ability is removed from the stack.
- Abel does not choose a target when he puts the chapter ability onto the stack. That ability resolves and Abel mills five cards. After that, he puts the reflexive triggered ability onto the stack and has to choose one of his own creatures as the target. That creature will be dealt damage.
- Abel chooses the target when he puts the chapter ability onto the stack, but that target only applies to the reflexive triggered ability. The chapter ability resolves and Abel mills five cards. After that, he puts the reflexive triggered ability onto the stack with the previously chosen target. That ability does not resolve if Abel chose one of Nancy’s creatures as the target.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer D is correct.
The chapter ability itself does not have a target; when it resolves, it creates a reflexive triggered ability, and only that newly created ability has a target [CR 603.12]. As with any other triggered ability, Abel chooses that target when he puts the reflexive triggered ability onto the stack [CR 603.3d].
So, when Abel puts the chapter ability onto the stack, he does not choose any targets. The ability resolves, Abel mills five cards, and the reflexive triggered ability is created and triggers. Next, Abel puts that reflexive triggered ability onto the stack. The ability’s text does not contain “up to one target creature,” “may,” or anything else that would make it optional, so Abel is forced to target and deal damage to one of his own creatures.
Question 9
The Death of Gwen Stacy
{2}{B}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.)
I – Destroy target creature.
II – Each player may discard a card. Each player who doesn’t loses 3 life.
III – Exile any number of target players’ graveyards.

Andrea and Adam play a game of Two-Headed Giant against Nora and Nestor. As Andrea and Adam’s precombat main phase begins, Andrea puts the second lore counter on The Death of Gwen Stacy and triggers the corresponding chapter ability. When that ability resolves, Andrea and Nora each discard a card, while Adam and Nestor do not. Which answer best describes what happens during the ability’s resolution?
- Andrea and Adam each announce whether they want to discard a card. Next, Nora and Nestor each announce whether they want to discard a card. Then, Andrea chooses a card in her hand, but does not have to reveal it at this point. Next, Nora chooses a card in her hand. Then, all four players simultaneously discard the chosen cards or lose 3 life, as appropriate.
- Andrea and Adam each announce whether they want to discard a card. Then, Nora and Nestor each announce whether they want to discard a card. Next, Andrea chooses a card in her hand, but does not have to reveal it at this point. Then, Nora chooses a card in her hand. Next, Andrea discards the card she chose, then Nora discards the card she chose, then Adam loses 3 life, and finally Nestor loses 3 life.
- Andrea and Adam each announce whether they want to discard a card. Then, Nora and Nestor each announce whether they want to discard a card. Next, Andrea chooses a card in her hand, but does not have to reveal it at this point. Then, Nora chooses a card in her hand. Next, Andrea and Nora simultaneously discard the cards they chose. Finally, Adam and Nestor simultaneously lose 3 life each.
- Andrea and Adam each announce whether they want to discard a card. Andrea chooses and reveals a card from her hand. Then, Nora and Nestor each decide whether they want to discard a card. Nora chooses and reveals a card from her hand. Next, Andrea and Nora simultaneously discard the cards they revealed. Finally, Adam and Nestor simultaneously lose 3 life each.
- Andrea and Adam each announce whether they want to discard a card. Andrea chooses a card in her hand, but does not have to reveal it at this point. Then, Nora and Nestor each decide whether they want to discard a card. Nora chooses a card in her hand. Next, Andrea and Nora simultaneously discard the cards they chose. Finally, Adam and Nestor simultaneously lose 3 life each.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer E is correct.
While resolving the chapter ability, its instructions are carried out in order [CR 608.2c]; in this scenario, Andrea and Nora first discard their cards, then Adam and Nestor each lose 3 life. The actions resulting from any single instruction happen simultaneously [CR 101.4]; in this scenario, Andrea and Nora discard simultaneously, and Adam and Nestor lose life simultaneously.
The first instruction also involves one or two choices for each player: each player has to decide whether they want to discard a card, and if so, they have to choose which card to discard. If multiple players have to make choices at the same time, the active player makes all their choices first, followed by each other player in turn order [CR 101.4]; in Two-Headed Giant, each player on the active team makes their choices first, followed by each player on the nonactive team [CR 805.6]. In this scenario, first Andrea and Adam choose that Andrea will discard a card and what card that will be; then, Nora and Nestor choose that Nora will discard a card and what card that will be. While making their choices, Nora and Nestor know that Andrea will discard a card, but they don’t know which one [CR 101.4a–b].
To summarize: Andrea and Adam decide who among them will discard and what they will discard; then Nora and Nestor make their choices, knowing only that Andrea will discard a card; then Andrea and Nora discard simultaneously; last, Adam and Nestor lose life simultaneously.
Question 10
Wall Crawl
{3}{G}
Enchantment
When this enchantment enters, create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach, then you gain 1 life for each Spider you control.
Spiders you control get +1/+1 and can’t be blocked by creatures with defender.

Primal Might
{X}{G}
Sorcery
Target creature you control gets +X/+X until end of turn. Then it fights up to one target creature you don’t control. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Peter Parker
{1}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Hero
0/1
When Peter Parker enters, create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach.
{1}{G}{W}{U}: Transform Peter Parker. Activate only as a sorcery.

Amazing Spider-Man
{1}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Vigilance, reach
Each legendary spell you cast that’s one or more colors has web-slinging {G}{W}{U}. (You may cast a spell for its web-slinging cost if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)

Costume Closet
{1}{W}
Artifact
This artifact enters with two +1/+1 counters on it.
{T}: Move a +1/+1 counter from this artifact onto target creature you control. Activate only as a sorcery.
Whenever a modified creature you control leaves the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on this artifact. (Equipment, Auras you control, and counters are modifications.)

Damage Control Crew
{3}{G}
Creature – Human Citizen
3/3
When this creature enters, choose one –
* Repair – Return target card with mana value 4 or greater from your graveyard to your hand.
* Impound – Exile target artifact or enchantment.

Hide on the Ceiling
{X}{U}
Instant
Exile X target artifacts and/or creatures. Return the exiled cards to the battlefield under their owners’ control at the beginning of the next end step.

Alice controls Wall Crawl, and her graveyard contains Primal Might and Peter Parker (a modal double-faced card whose back face is Amazing Spider-Man). Napoleon controls Costume Closet. Alice casts Damage Control Crew and Napoleon responds with Hide on the Ceiling and exiles Costume Closet. Which answer best describes Alice’s options when Damage Control Crew enters and its ability triggers?
- Alice has to target Wall Crawl, but she can choose not to exile it when the ability resolves.
- Alice has to target Wall Crawl and exile it.
- Alice can choose to target nothing; if she does, the ability is removed from the stack and does not resolve.
- Alice can target and exile Wall Crawl or she can target and return Amazing Spider-Man to her hand.
- Alice can target and exile Wall Crawl, she can target and return Amazing Spider-Man to her hand, or she can target and return Primal Might to her hand if she cast it with an X of 3 or more.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer B is correct.
If a card has an {X} in its mana cost, the value of that {X} is considered 0, unless the card is currently a spell on the stack [CR 107.3g]. In this scenario, the mana value of Primal Might in the graveyard is 1, regardless of any value Alice chose for X while casting Primal Might in the past (if she cast it at all).
In any game zone other than the battlefield or the stack, a modal double-faced card has only the characteristics of its front face [CR 712.8a]. In this scenario, the card in the graveyard has the characteristics of the Peter Parker face; in particular, it has a mana cost of {1}{W} and thus a mana value of 2.
When a player puts a modal triggered ability on the stack, the player has to choose a mode for which they can make legal choices [CR 603.3c]. In this scenario, both modes require exactly one target and Alice has to choose a target if possible [CR 601.2c]. Alice cannot choose the Repair mode because her graveyard doesn’t contain a card with mana value 4 or greater, so she has to choose the Impound mode and target the only artifact or enchantment on the battlefield, her own Wall Crawl.
The instruction to exile the target artifact or enchantment is not optional, so Alice is forced to exile Wall Crawl when the ability resolves.
Question 11
Parker Luck
{2}{B}
Enchantment
At the beginning of your end step, two target players each reveal the top card of their library. They each lose life equal to the mana value of the card revealed by the other player. Then they each put the card they revealed into their hand.

Dawn’s Truce
{1}{W}
Instant
Gift a card (You may promise an opponent a gift as you cast this spell. If you do, they draw a card before its other effects.)
You and permanents you control gain hexproof until end of turn. If the gift was promised, permanents you control also gain indestructible until end of turn.

Andrew controls Parker Luck. At the beginning of his end step, he puts the triggered ability onto the stack and chooses Natalie and himself as the two targets. Natalie responds with Dawn’s Truce. Which answer best describes what happens when Parker Luck’s ability resolves?
- Andrew reveals the top card of his library. He loses life equal to that card’s mana value and puts it into his hand.
- Andrew reveals the top card of his library. Natalie loses life equal to that card’s mana value and Andrew puts that card into his hand.
- Andrew reveals the top card of his library. He puts that card into his hand.
- The ability does not resolve.
- Neither player reveals the top card of their library. No one loses life and no cards are put into their owners’ hands.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer C is correct.
When the triggered ability is supposed to resolve, one of its two targets is illegal [CR 702.11c]. The other target is legal, so the ability continues to resolve; it cannot make the illegal target perform actions, however, nor can it perform actions upon the illegal target [CR 608.2b].
In this scenario, Andrew is a legal target, so he reveals the top card of his library; Natalie is not a legal target, so the ability cannot make her reveal a card. Andrew does not lose life because there is no card revealed by Natalie, and Natalie does not lose life because she is an illegal target. Andrew puts his card into his hand; Natalie again does nothing.
Question 12
Loading Zone
{3}{G}
Enchantment
If one or more counters would be put on a creature, Spacecraft, or Planet you control, twice that many of each of those kinds of counters are put on it instead.
Warp {G} (You may cast this card from your hand for its warp cost. Exile this enchantment at the beginning of the next end step, then you may cast it from exile on a later turn.)

Cheering Crowd
{1}{R/G}
Creature – Human Citizen
2/2
At the beginning of each player’s first main phase, that player may put a +1/+1 counter on this creature. If they do, they add {C} for each counter on it.

Alex controls Loading Zone and Cheering Crowd. At the beginning of their precombat main phase, Cheering Crowd’s ability triggers. When that ability resolves, Alex decides to put a +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd. Which answer best describes what happens next?
- Alex puts two +1/+1 counters on Cheering Crowd. Then they add {C}{C} to their mana pool.
- Alex puts two +1/+1 counters on Cheering Crowd. Then they add {C} to their mana pool. Then they add {C}{C} to their mana pool.
- Alex puts two +1/+1 counters on Cheering Crowd. Then they add {C}{C} to their mana pool. Then they add another {C}{C} to their mana pool.
- Alex puts a +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd. Then they add {C} to their mana pool. Then Alex puts a +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd. Then they add {C}{C} to their mana pool.
- Alex puts two +1/+1 counters on Cheering Crowd. They don’t add any mana to their mana pool.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer A is correct.
Putting a +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd represents an optional cost that Alex can decide to pay [CR 118.12]. If Alex decides to pay that cost, the “if you do” part will happen once, no matter what events actually occur during the payment of the cost.
Loading Zone’s ability generates a replacement effect that modifies the event of Alex putting a +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd [CR 614.1a]. While paying the cost, instead of putting one +1/+1 counter on Cheering Crowd, Alex puts two +1/+1 counters on it [CR 614.6]. The cost is still considered to be paid, so Alex next adds {C} to their mana pool for each counter on Cheering Crowd, which amounts to {C}{C}.
Question 13
War Effort
{3}{R}
Enchantment
Creatures you control get +1/+0.
Whenever you attack, create a 1/1 red Warrior creature token that’s tapped and attacking. Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.

Spider-Man Noir
{4}{B}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Menace
Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, put a +1/+1 counter on it. Then surveil X, where X is the number of counters on it. (Look at the top X cards of your library, then put any number of them into your graveyard and the rest on top of your library in any order.)

Sudden Strike
{1}{W}
Instant
Destroy target attacking or blocking creature.

Amy controls War Effort and attacks with Spider-Man Noir, which already has two +1/+1 counters on it. Nick responds to the triggered abilities and destroys Spider-Man Noir with Sudden Strike. Which answer best describes what happens when the triggered ability of Spider-Man Noir resolves?
- If Amy resolves the ability of Spider-Man Noir first, she will surveil 2. If Amy resolves War Effort’s ability first, the ability of Spider-Man Noir won’t resolve and she won’t surveil.
- If Amy resolves the ability of Spider-Man Noir first, she will surveil 2. If Amy resolves War Effort’s ability first, she will surveil 1.
- The ability resolves regardless of the order, but Amy is instructed to surveil 0 and doesn’t surveil.
- Amy surveils 2, regardless of the order she chose for the two abilities.
- The ability does not resolve, regardless of the order Amy chose for the two abilities.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer D is correct.
Spider-Man Noir’s ability triggers if Amy declares exactly one attacking creature at the start of the declare attackers step [CR 506.5]. That ability does not have an intervening “if” or some other additional check, so any changes to the set of attacking creatures have no effect on whether the ability resolves, nor on the specific creature the ability refers to. In addition, once triggered, a triggered ability exists independently of its source [CR 113.7a]. In this scenario, the ability will resolve even if Spider-Man Noir has left the battlefield in the meantime.
When Amy resolves Spider-Man Noir’s ability, she is instructed to put a +1/+1 counter on Spider-Man Noir. This is impossible, since Spider-Man Noir is not on the battlefield anymore, so Amy skips that instruction [CR 101.3]. The next instruction is for Amy to surveil. For this instruction, the ability needs information about a specific object that doesn’t exist anymore, so it uses the object’s last known information [CR 608.2h]. The last time Spider-Man Noir was on the battlefield, it had two +1/+1 counters on it, so Amy is instructed to surveil 2.
Question 14
Jackal, Genius Geneticist
{G}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Scientist Villain
1/1
Trample
Whenever you cast a creature spell with mana value equal to Jackal’s power, copy that spell, except the copy isn’t legendary. Then put a +1/+1 counter on Jackal. (The copy becomes a token.)

Professional Wrestler
{3}{G}
Creature – Human Warrior Performer
4/4
When this creature enters, create a Treasure token. (It’s an artifact with “{T}, Sacrifice this token: Add one mana of any color.”)
This creature can’t be blocked by more than one creature.

Fleeting Distraction
{U}
Instant
Target creature gets -1/-0 until end of turn.
Draw a card.

Alvin controls Jackal, Genius Geneticist, which has three +1/+1 counters on it. He casts Professional Wrestler and Nicole responds by casting Fleeting Distraction on Jackal. Which answer best describes what happens after Fleeting Distraction has resolved and Jackal has become 3/4?
- Nicole responded to Alvin starting to cast Professional Wrestler, so Jackal’s ability won’t trigger at all.
- Nicole responded to Professional Wrestler, so Jackal’s ability has already triggered and resolves next. Alvin does not copy Professional Wrestler but he puts a +1/+1 counter on Jackal.
- Nicole responded to Professional Wrestler, so Jackal’s ability has already triggered and resolves next. Alvin copies Professional Wrestler and puts a +1/+1 counter on Jackal.
- Nicole responded to Professional Wrestler, so Jackal’s ability has already triggered. It does not resolve because Jackal’s power does not match Professional Wrestler’s mana value anymore.
- Nicole responded to Professional Wrestler, so Jackal’s ability has already triggered and resolves next. Alvin does not copy Professional Wrestler and he does not put a +1/+1 counter on Jackal.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer C is correct.
To cast Fleeting Distraction, Nicole needs to have priority [CR 117.1a]. While Alvin casts Professional Wrestler, no player has priority, so Nicole can only respond with Fleeting Distraction after Alvin has finished casting his spell. By that time, Jackal’s ability has already triggered and is on the stack [CR 117.2a].
The match between the creature spell’s mana value and Jackal’s power is part of the ability’s trigger event, so it’s only checked at the time the ability would trigger. The ability does not have an intervening “if” nor any other condition that is checked on resolution [CR 603.4]. Jackal’s ability therefore resolves and all its effects happen. Alvin copies Professional Wrestler and puts a +1/+1 counter on Jackal.
Question 15
Origin of Spider-Man
{1}{W}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.)
I – Create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach.
II – Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. It becomes a legendary Spider Hero in addition to its other types.
III – Target creature you control gains double strike until end of turn.

Hydro-Man, Fluid Felon
{U}{U}
Legendary Creature – Elemental Villain
2/2
Whenever you cast a blue spell, if Hydro-Man is a creature, he gets +1/+1 until end of turn.
At the beginning of your end step, untap Hydro-Man. Until your next turn, he becomes a land and gains “{T}: Add {U}.” (He’s not a creature during that time.)

Astrid controls Origin of Spider-Man and Hydro-Man, Fluid Felon. As her precombat main phase starts, Astrid puts the second lore counter on Origin of Spider-Man and targets Hydro-Man with the chapter ability. After that ability has resolved, Astrid passes the turn. Which answer best describes Hydro-Man during Nigel’s turn and during Astrid’s next turn (before her end step)?
- During Nigel’s turn, Hydro-Man is a legendary land with a +1/+1 counter on it. During Astrid’s next turn, Hydro-Man will be a legendary 3/3 Elemental Villain creature.
- During Nigel’s turn, Hydro-Man is a legendary land with no +1/+1 counter on it. During Astrid’s next turn, Hydro-Man will be a legendary 2/2 Elemental Villain creature.
- During Nigel’s turn, Hydro-Man is a legendary land with no +1/+1 counter on it. During Astrid’s next turn, Hydro-Man will be a legendary 2/2 Elemental Villain Spider Hero creature.
- During Nigel’s turn, Hydro-Man is a legendary land with a +1/+1 counter on it. During Astrid’s next turn, Hydro-Man will be a legendary 3/3 Elemental Villain Spider Hero creature.
- During Nigel’s turn, Hydro-Man is a land with a +1/+1 counter on it. During Astrid’s next turn, Hydro-Man will be a legendary 3/3 Elemental Villain Spider Hero creature.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer D is correct.
There is no rule that prohibits noncreature permanents from having +1/+1 counters on them, so the +1/+1 counter stays on Hydro-Man while it’s not a creature.
While the effect of Hydro-Man’s ability applies, it replaces all of Hydro-Man’s card types with just land, and it also removes any creature types Hydro-Man has [CR 205.1a]. The effect does not affect supertypes though, so Hydro-Man is still legendary [CR 205.4b].
When the effect of Hydro-Man’s ability ends, it does not create a successor effect that makes Hydro-Man a 2/2 Elemental Villain creature; the effect simply ceases to affect Hydro-Man, so its characteristic values are once again determined by its printed values plus any other applicable effects [CR 613.1]. In this scenario, those are the effect of Origin of Spider-Man’s chapter ability, which changes Hydro-Man’s creature types from the printed Elemental Villain to Elemental Villain Spider Hero, and the +1/+1 counter which increases its power/toughness from the printed 2/2 to 3/3.
Question 16
Electro’s Bolt
{2}{R}
Sorcery
Electro’s Bolt deals 4 damage to target creature.
Mayhem {1}{R} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for {1}{R} if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.)

Starling, Aerial Ally
{4}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Hero
3/4
Flying
When Starling enters, another target creature you control gains flying until end of turn.

Passenger Ferry
{3}
Artifact – Vehicle
4/3
Whenever this Vehicle attacks, you may pay {U}. When you do, another target attacking creature can’t be blocked this turn.
Crew 2 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 2 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)

Spider-Man No More
{1}{U}
Enchantment – Aura
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature is a Citizen with base power and toughness 1/1. It has defender and loses all other abilities. (It also loses all other creature types.)

Guidelight Matrix
{2}
Artifact
When this artifact enters, draw a card.
{2}, {T}: Target Mount you control becomes saddled until end of turn. Activate only as a sorcery.
{2}, {T}: Target Vehicle you control becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.

Anthony casts Electro’s Bolt on Naomi’s Starling, Aerial Ally. Naomi responds by tapping Starling to crew Passenger Ferry. After the crew ability and Electro’s Bolt have resolved, Anthony enchants Passenger Ferry with Spider-Man No More and then passes the turn. During her turn, Naomi targets Passenger Ferry with Guidelight Matrix‘s ability. Which answer best describes Passenger Ferry after the activated ability has resolved?
- Passenger Ferry is a 1/1 Citizen artifact creature with defender and no other abilities.
- Passenger Ferry is a 4/3 Vehicle artifact creature.
- Passenger Ferry is a 1/1 Vehicle Citizen artifact creature.
- This can’t happen as described. Naomi cannot target Passenger Ferry with that ability.
- Passenger Ferry is a 4/3 Vehicle Citizen artifact creature.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer B is correct.
During Anthony’s cleanup step, the continuous effect generated by the crew ability ends [CR 514.2]. The effect of Spider-Man No More’s ability only makes the enchanted permanent a “Citizen,” not a “Citizen creature,” so with the effect of the crew ability gone, Passenger Ferry is not a creature anymore. Spider-Man No More can only enchant a creature [CR 702.5a], so it’s put into Anthony’s graveyard as a state-based action during that same cleanup step [CR 704.5m][CR 514.3a]. If Naomi makes Passenger Ferry an artifact creature during her turn, it will have its printed power/toughness values.
Question 17
Web-Shooters
{1}{W}
Artifact – Equipment
Equipped creature gets +1/+1 and has reach and “Whenever this creature attacks, tap target creature an opponent controls.”
Equip {2} ({2}: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

Prowler, Clawed Thief
{1}{U}{B}
Legendary Creature – Human Rogue Villain
2/3
Menace (This creature can’t be blocked except by two or more creatures.)
Whenever another Villain you control enters, Prowler connives. (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)

Niv-Mizzet, Guildpact
{W}{U}{B}{R}{G}
Legendary Creature – Dragon Avatar
6/6
Flying, hexproof from multicolored
Whenever Niv-Mizzet deals combat damage to a player, it deals X damage to any target, target player draws X cards, and you gain X life, where X is the number of different color pairs among permanents you control that are exactly two colors.

Zidane, Tantalus Thief
{3}{R}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Mutant Scout
3/3
When Zidane enters, gain control of target creature an opponent controls until end of turn. Untap it. It gains lifelink and haste until end of turn.
Whenever an opponent gains control of a permanent from you, you create a Treasure token.

Nelson controls Web-Shooters, Prowler, Clawed Thief, a 1/1 green and white Human Citizen creature token, and Niv-Mizzet, Guildpact. Web-Shooters is attached to Prowler. Anna casts and resolves Zidane, Tantalus Thief and gains control of Prowler with its enters-the-battlefield ability. Which answer best describes what happens when Anna attacks with Prowler?
- Anna chooses a target for the attack trigger. She has to choose Prowler or Zidane.
- Nelson chooses a target for the attack trigger. He has to choose Prowler or Zidane.
- Anna chooses a target for the attack trigger. She has to choose the creature token or Niv-Mizzet.
- Nelson chooses a target for the attack trigger. He has to choose the creature token or Niv-Mizzet.
- Anna chooses a target for the attack trigger. She has to choose the creature token.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer E is correct.
The ability that triggers when the equipped creature attacks is not an ability of Web-Shooters; rather, it is an ability granted by one of Web-Shooters’s actual abilities to the equipped creature. When that ability triggers, it is controlled by the controller of the creature [CR 301.5d][CR 113.8]. That player puts the ability onto the stack and chooses a target for it [CR 603.3]. In this scenario, Anna controls the attacking creature, so she controls the triggered ability and chooses a creature controlled by one of her opponents as the target.
Since the attacking creature has the triggered ability, that creature is the source of the ability [CR 113.7]. In this scenario, that source is multicolored, so Anna cannot choose Niv-Mizzet as the ability’s target, leaving the Human Citizen creature token as the only legal option [CR 702.11d].
Question 18
Cosmic Spider-Man
{W}{U}{B}{R}{G}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
5/5
Flying, first strike, trample, lifelink, haste
At the beginning of combat on your turn, other Spiders you control gain flying, first strike, trample, lifelink, and haste until end of turn.

Web of Life and Destiny
{6}{G}{G}
Enchantment
Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature’s color.)
At the beginning of combat on your turn, look at the top five cards of your library. You may put a creature card from among them onto the battlefield. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in a random order.

Web-Warriors
{4}{G/W}
Creature – Spider Hero
4/3
When this creature enters, put a +1/+1 counter on each other creature you control.

Spectacular Tactics
{1}{W}
Instant
Choose one –
* Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. It gains hexproof until end of turn.
* Destroy target creature with power 4 or greater.

Spider-Rex, Daring Dino
{4}{G}{G}
Legendary Creature – Spider Dinosaur Hero
6/6
Reach, trample
Ward {2} (Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter it unless that player pays {2}.)

Alan controls Cosmic Spider-Man and two Webs of Life and Destiny. At the beginning of combat on his turn, the abilities of all three permanents trigger and Alan puts them onto the stack with Cosmic Spider-Man’s ability at the bottom. He resolves the first ability and puts Web-Warriors onto the battlefield. Before any further abilities resolve, Nina responds and casts Spectacular Tactics on Cosmic Spider-Man. If Alan puts Spider-Rex, Daring Dino onto the battlefield with the second Web of Life and Destiny’s ability, and if he attacks with all creatures able to attack, how much combat damage will be dealt to Nina?
- Nina will be dealt 4 combat damage.
- Nina will be dealt no combat damage.
- Nina will be dealt 11 combat damage.
- Nina will be dealt 10 combat damage.
- This can’t happen as described. Nina cannot respond to the remaining triggered abilities if one has already resolved.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer D is correct.
Web-Warriors’s ability triggers during the resolution of the first Web of Life and Destiny’s ability and is put onto the stack when Alan gains priority after that resolution [CR 117.3b][CR 117.5]. Nina responds when she gets priority and casts Spectacular Tactics. Without further responses, Spectacular Tactics is the next object to resolve and Cosmic Spider-Man is destroyed [CR 117.4].
Then, Web-Warriors’s ability resolves; Alan controls no other creatures at that moment, so he doesn’t put a +1/+1 counter on any creature. Next, the second Web of Life and Destiny’s ability resolves and Alan puts Spider-Rex onto the battlefield.
Finally, Cosmic Spider-Man’s ability resolves; it does not matter that Cosmic Spider-Man is not on the battlefield anymore [CR 113.7a]. The Spiders affected by that ability are only determined during its resolution, so Web-Warriors and Spider-Rex both gain the five keyword abilities [CR 608.2h]. Since the two creatures have haste, Alan can attack with both and deal 10 combat damage to Nina.
Question 19
Wildwood Scourge
{X}{G}
Creature – Hydra
0/0
This creature enters with X +1/+1 counters on it.
Whenever one or more +1/+1 counters are put on another non-Hydra creature you control, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.

Kraven the Hunter
{1}{B}{G}
Legendary Creature – Human Warrior Villain
4/3
Trample
Whenever a creature an opponent controls with the greatest power among creatures that player controls dies, draw a card and put a +1/+1 counter on Kraven the Hunter.

Great Train Heist
{R}
Instant
Spree (Choose one or more additional costs.)
+{2}{R} – Untap all creatures you control. If it’s your combat phase, there is an additional combat phase after this phase.
+ {2} – Creatures you control get +1/+0 and gain first strike until end of turn.
+ {R} – Choose target opponent. Whenever a creature you control deals combat damage to that player this turn, create a tapped Treasure token.

Strength of Will
{1}{G}
Instant
Until end of turn, target creature you control gains indestructible and “Whenever this creature is dealt damage, put that many +1/+1 counters on it.”

Ariana controls Wildwood Scourge with a +1/+1 counter on it and Kraven the Hunter. Noah controls two 2/1 green Spider creature tokens. Ariana attacks with Kraven the Hunter and Noah blocks with both tokens. Then he casts Great Train Heist and gives both of his creatures first strike. Ariana responds and casts Strength of Will on Kraven the Hunter. Once Ariana’s combat phase has ended, how many +1/+1 counters will be on Wildwood Scourge?
- Five counters.
- Three or four counters, depending on Ariana’s actions.
- Three counters.
- Four or five counters, depending on Ariana’s actions.
- Four counters.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer B is correct.
At the start of the combat damage step, both Spider creature tokens deal combat damage to Kraven the Hunter; the damage is dealt simultaneously [CR 510.2]. The trigger condition of the ability granted by Strength of Will only cares about damage being dealt, not about damage from a specific source being dealt, so the two Spiders dealing combat damage constitutes one event for the trigger condition and the ability triggers once. When that ability resolves, Ariana puts six +1/+1 counters on Kraven the Hunter; this triggers Wildwood Scourge’s ability once and Ariana puts a second counter on Wildwood Scourge.
Since the Spiders have first strike, a second combat damage step occurs after the first one. At the start of that step, Kraven the Hunter deals 10 combat damage. Ariana has two relevant options: she can assign all 10 combat damage to one Spider or she can assign 1 damage to each Spider and the rest as she likes among Noah and the two Spiders [CR 510.1c][CR 702.19b].
If Ariana assigns all 10 combat damage to a single Spider, only that Spider is dealt lethal damage and is destroyed as a state-based action [CR 704.5g]. Kraven the Hunter’s ability triggers once and Ariana puts a single +1/+1 counter on Kraven the Hunter; this triggers Wildwood Scourge’s ability once and Ariana puts a third counter on Wildwood Scourge.
If Ariana instead assigns at least 1 damage to each Spider, both Spiders are dealt lethal damage and are simultaneously destroyed by state-based actions [CR 704.3]. Since the Spiders had the same power, both Spiders had the greatest power among creatures Noah controls, and Kraven the Hunter’s ability triggers twice. Each time Ariana resolves an instance of that ability, the ability of Wildwood Scourge triggers; Ariana puts a total of two +1/+1 counters on Wildwood Scourge, bringing the number of counters on Wildwood Scourge to four.
Question 20
Green Goblin
{1}{U}{B}{R}
Legendary Creature – Goblin Human Villain
3/3
Flying, menace
Spells you cast from your graveyard cost {2} less to cast.
Goblin Formula – Each nonland card in your graveyard has mayhem. The mayhem cost is equal to its mana cost. (You may cast a card from your graveyard for its mayhem cost if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.)

Spider-Verse
{3}{R}{R}
Enchantment
The “legend rule” doesn’t apply to Spiders you control.
Whenever you cast a spell from anywhere other than your hand, you may copy it. If you do, you may choose new targets for the copy. If the copy is a permanent spell, it gains haste. Do this only once each turn.

Sandman’s Quicksand
{1}{B}{B}
Sorcery
Mayhem {3}{B} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for {3}{B} if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.)
All creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. If this spell’s mayhem cost was paid, creatures your opponents control get -2/-2 until end of turn instead.

Romantic Rendezvous
{1}{R}
Sorcery
Discard a card, then draw two cards.

Austin controls Green Goblin and Spider-Verse and Nadine controls a 3/3 green Beast creature token. Earlier this turn, Austin discarded Sandman’s Quicksand for Romantic Rendezvous. He casts Sandman’s Quicksand from his graveyard and chooses to pay the mayhem cost granted by the effect of Green Goblin’s ability. Spider-Verse’s ability triggers and when it resolves, Austin chooses to copy Sandman’s Quicksand. Which answer best describes what happens when the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand and the original resolve?
- When the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, Nadine’s creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. When the original Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, Nadine’s creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn.
- When the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, all creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. When the original Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, all creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn.
- When the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, all creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. When the original Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, Nadine’s creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn.
- When the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, Nadine’s creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. When the original Sandman’s Quicksand resolves, all creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer A is correct.
A copy of a spell copies all decisions made for the original, such as an alternative cost paid for it [CR 707.10]. In this scenario, the copy of Sandman’s Quicksand copies Austin’s decision to pay a mayhem cost, so its effects will be identical to those of the original.
Abilities printed on an object that care about an additional cost being paid are always linked to a specific ability that allows that cost to be paid [CR 607.2i]. There is no such rule for alternative costs, so unless the Comprehensive Rules state otherwise for a specific ability (like they do for blitz [CR 702.152b]), an ability which cares about an alternative cost being paid will be satisfied by any ability that allows such an alternative cost to be paid.
Mayhem has no special subrule, so in this scenario, the self-replacement effect of Sandman’s Quicksand will apply regardless of which mayhem cost Austin pays. Nadine’s creatures get -2/-2 two times.
Question 21
Anti-Venom, Horrifying Healer
{W}{W}{W}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature – Symbiote Hero
5/5
When Anti-Venom enters, if he was cast, return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.
If damage would be dealt to Anti-Venom, prevent that damage and put that many +1/+1 counters on him.

With Great Power . . .
{3}{W}
Enchantment – Aura
Enchant creature you control
Enchanted creature gets +2/+2 for each Aura and Equipment attached to it.
All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to enchanted creature instead.

Spider-Punk
{1}{R}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
2/1
Riot (This creature enters with your choice of a +1/+1 counter or haste.)
Other Spiders you control have riot.
Spells and abilities can’t be countered.
Damage can’t be prevented.

Ghost-Spider
{2}{U}{R}{W}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Flying, vigilance, haste
Whenever you play a land from exile or cast a spell from exile, put a +1/+1 counter on Ghost-Spider.
Remove two counters from Ghost-Spider: Exile the top card of your library. You may play that card this turn.

Nolan controls Anti-Venom, Horrifying Healer which is enchanted by With Great Power . . .. Abigail controls Spider-Punk and attacks Nolan with a 7/7 Ghost-Spider. Which answer best describes what happens during the combat damage step?
- Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Nolan and 7 noncombat damage to Anti-Venom. Nolan puts seven +1/+1 counters on Anti-Venom.
- Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Nolan and 7 noncombat damage to Anti-Venom. No counters are put on Anti-Venom.
- Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Anti-Venom and Nolan puts seven +1/+1 counters on Anti-Venom.
- Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Nolan. No counters are put on Anti-Venom.
- Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Anti-Venom. No counters are put on Anti-Venom.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer C is correct.
During the combat damage step, Ghost-Spider is supposed to deal 7 combat damage to Nolan. The effect of With Great Power . . .’s ability wants to modify that event. It uses the word “instead” rather than “prevent,” so the effect is a replacement effect, not a prevention effect [CR 614.1a][CR 615.1a]. Applying that effect does not prevent any damage, it just changes who or what the damage is dealt to, so the effect of Spider-Punk’s ability does not interfere.
The modified event is “Ghost-Spider deals 7 combat damage to Anti-Venom.” The effect of Anti-Venom’s ability wants to modify that event. It uses the word “prevent,” so that effect is a prevention effect. Prevention effects still apply to unpreventable damage; no damage is prevented, but any additional effects of the prevention effect still apply [CR 615.12]. In this scenario, the prevention effect does not prevent any of the combat damage, but it still puts a number of +1/+1 counters on Anti-Venom; the number of counters does not depend on how much damage was prevented, so Nolan puts seven +1/+1 counters on Anti-Venom.
Question 22
Origin of Spider-Man
{1}{W}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.)
I – Create a 2/1 green Spider creature token with reach.
II – Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. It becomes a legendary Spider Hero in addition to its other types.
III – Target creature you control gains double strike until end of turn.

Restless Prairie
Land
This land enters tapped.
{T}: Add {G} or {W}.
{2}{G}{W}: This land becomes a 3/3 green and white Llama creature until end of turn. It’s still a land.
Whenever this land attacks, other creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn.

Alex controls Origin of Spider-Man with one lore counter on it and Restless Prairie. During their draw step, Alex activates Restless Prairie’s ability and turns it into a land creature. As their precombat main phase begins, Alex targets Restless Prairie with the second chapter ability of Origin of Spider-Man. Which answer best describes Restless Prairie if Alex animates it again during their next turn?
- Restless Prairie will be a legendary 4/4 Llama land creature.
- Restless Prairie will be a legendary 4/4 Llama Spider Hero land creature.
- Restless Prairie will be a 4/4 Llama land creature.
- Restless Prairie will be a legendary 3/3 Llama land creature.
- Restless Prairie will be a legendary 3/3 Llama Spider Hero land creature.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer A is correct.
There is no rule that prohibits noncreature permanents from having +1/+1 counters on them, so the +1/+1 counter stays on Restless Prairie while it is just a land. Effects that set an object’s power and/or toughness to a specific value are always applied before effects and counters that increase or decrease power and/or toughness [CR 613.4b–c]. In this scenario, the effect of Restless Prairie’s ability is applied before the +1/+1 counter, so Restless Prairie will be 4/4.
Two effects will attempt to modify Restless Prairie’s card types, subtypes, and supertypes: the effect of Origin of Spider-Man’s chapter ability and the effect of Restless Prairie’s own ability. The effect of the chapter ability has an earlier timestamp [CR 613.7b].
If applied in timestamp order, first the chapter ability’s effect attempts to add the legendary supertype and the Spider and Hero subtypes to Restless Prairie’s types. While applying that effect, Restless Prairie is just a land, so the effect only adds the legendary supertype [CR 205.3d][CR 609.3]. Then the effect of Restless Prairie’s ability is applied and adds the creature card type and the Llama subtype to Restless Prairie’s types. This does not affect the legendary supertype, so Restless Prairie ends up being a legendary land creature with just the Llama subtype [CR 205.1b].
The order of effects would change if the chapter ability’s effect were dependent on the effect of Restless Prairie’s ability [CR 613.8]. This is not the case, however. Regardless of the order, the chapter ability’s effect always attempts to add the same three types; the only thing that would change would be the outcome of applying that effect. On its own, a different outcome does not constitute a dependency; something on the “input” side has to change as well [CR 613.8a]. Therefore, the chapter ability’s effect is not dependent and the two effects are applied in timestamp order [CR 613.7]; Restless Prairie will be a legendary Llama, but not a Spider Hero.
Question 23
Carnage, Crimson Chaos
{2}{B}{R}
Legendary Creature – Symbiote Villain
4/3
Trample
When Carnage enters, return target creature card with mana value 3 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains “This creature attacks each combat if able” and “When this creature deals combat damage to a player, sacrifice it.”
Mayhem {B}{R}

Zurgo’s Vanguard
{2}{R}
Creature – Dog Soldier
*/3
Mobilize 1 (Whenever this creature attacks, create a tapped and attacking 1/1 red Warrior creature token. Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.)
Zurgo’s Vanguard’s power is equal to the number of creatures you control.

Oscorp Research Team
{3}{U}
Creature – Human Scientist
1/5
{6}{U}: Draw two cards.

Incite
{R}
Instant
Target creature becomes red until end of turn and attacks this turn if able.

Relentless Assault
{2}{R}{R}
Sorcery
Untap all creatures that attacked this turn. After this main phase, there is an additional combat phase followed by an additional main phase.

Ambrose controls Carnage, Crimson Chaos and Zurgo’s Vanguard, which was put onto the battlefield with Carnage’s triggered ability. Natasha controls two Oscorp Research Teams. During Ambrose’s beginning of combat step, Natasha casts Incite on Carnage. Ambrose declares both creatures as attackers and Natasha blocks those two creatures with the Oscorp Research Teams. During his postcombat main phase, Ambrose casts Relentless Assault. Which answer best describes Ambrose’s options during the declare attackers step of the additional combat phase?
- Ambrose has to attack with Carnage and with Zurgo’s Vanguard.
- Ambrose has to attack with Zurgo’s Vanguard. He can attack with Carnage and with the Warrior creature token.
- Ambrose can attack with Carnage and with Zurgo’s Vanguard.
- Ambrose has to attack with Zurgo’s Vanguard. He can attack with Carnage.
- Ambrose has to attack with Carnage and with Zurgo’s Vanguard. He can attack with the Warrior creature token.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer A is correct.
The creature token created by the mobilize ability of Zurgo’s Vanguard was created tapped and attacking; Ambrose did not declare it as an attacker at the start of the declare attackers step, so it does not count as having attacked and Relentless Assault does not untap that token [CR 508.4]. Additionally, the token does not have haste.
Zurgo’s Vanguard gets untapped by Relentless Assault and has an ability whose effect states that it must attack each combat if able. During the second combat phase, Ambrose has to declare Zurgo’s Vanguard as an attacker.
Carnage gets untapped by Relentless Assault and is affected by an effect that states that it must attack this turn if able. If such an effect refers to a turn with multiple combat phases, the affected creature has to attack during each combat phase if able [CR 508.1d]. During the second combat phase, Ambrose has to declare Carnage as an attacker.
Question 24
Madame Web, Clairvoyant
{4}{U}{U}
Legendary Creature – Mutant Advisor
4/4
You may look at the top card of your library any time.
You may cast Spider spells and noncreature spells from the top of your library.
Whenever you attack, you may mill a card. (You may put the top card of your library into your graveyard.)

Amazing Spider-Man
{1}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Vigilance, reach
Each legendary spell you cast that’s one or more colors has web-slinging {G}{W}{U}. (You may cast a spell for its web-slinging cost if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)

Spider-Verse
{3}{R}{R}
Enchantment
The “legend rule” doesn’t apply to Spiders you control.
Whenever you cast a spell from anywhere other than your hand, you may copy it. If you do, you may choose new targets for the copy. If the copy is a permanent spell, it gains haste. Do this only once each turn.

Spiders-Man, Heroic Horde
{1}{G}
Legendary Creature – Spider Hero
2/3
Web-slinging {4}{G}{G} (You may cast this spell for {4}{G}{G} if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)
When Spiders-Man enters, if they were cast using web-slinging, you gain 3 life and create two 2/1 green Spider creature tokens with reach.

Alex controls Madame Web, Clairvoyant, Amazing Spider-Man, and Spider-Verse. They cast Spiders-Man, Heroic Horde from the top of their library, using the web-slinging ability granted by Amazing Spider-Man. Spider-Verse’s ability triggers and when it resolves, Alex chooses to copy Spiders-Man. Which enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when the copy of Spiders-Man and the original Spiders-Man enter the battlefield?
- The copy’s ability triggers when it enters the battlefield. The original’s ability triggers when it enters the battlefield.
- This can’t happen as described. Alex cannot combine web-slinging with the casting permission granted by Madame Web’s ability.
- The copy’s ability does not trigger when it enters the battlefield. The original’s ability triggers when it enters the battlefield.
- The copy’s ability triggers when it enters the battlefield. The original’s ability does not trigger when it enters the battlefield.
- The copy’s ability does not trigger when it enters the battlefield. The original’s ability does not trigger when it enters the battlefield.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answer C is correct.
The effect of Madame Web’s ability grants Alex permission to cast the top card of their library if the resulting spell is a Spider or a noncreature spell. The permission has no other conditions, so Alex is free to pay the spell’s mana cost or any alternative cost available for that spell, such as web-slinging.
Spiders-Man’s enters-the-battlefield ability has a condition which reads “if they were cast using web-slinging.” To fulfill that condition, Spiders-Man must have been cast as a spell and the player casting it must have chosen to use a web-slinging ability of Spiders-Man.
Alex cast the original Spiders-Man and they chose to use one of its web-slinging abilities, so the condition is fulfilled for the original and its ability triggers when it enters the battlefield. A copy of a spell copies all decisions made for the original, such as an alternative cost paid for it; the copy is not cast, however [CR 707.10]. The copy of Spiders-Man only fulfills one part of the condition, so its ability does not trigger when it enters the battlefield.
Question 25
If you find this scenario a bit overwhelming, simply ignore the cards from IPs you don’t like and focus on the cards that you do like. The original scenario was simply not meant for you.
Multiversal Passage
Land
As this land enters, choose a basic land type. Then you may pay 2 life. If you don’t, it enters tapped.
This land is the chosen type.

Living Lands
{3}{G}
Enchantment
All Forests are 1/1 creatures that are still lands.

Synth Infiltrator
{3}{U}{U}
Artifact Creature – Synth
0/0
Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you’re done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)
You may have this creature enter as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it’s a Synth artifact creature in addition to its other types.

Elrond, Lord of Rivendell
{2}{U}
Legendary Creature – Elf Noble
3/2
Whenever Elrond or another creature you control enters, scry 1. If this is the second time this ability has resolved this turn, the Ring tempts you.

The Eleventh Hour
{3}{U}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.)
I – Search your library for a Doctor card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle.
II – Create a Food token and a 1/1 white Human creature token with “Doctor spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.”
III – Create a token that’s a copy of target creature, except it’s a legendary Alien named Prisoner Zero.

Callidus Assassin
{4}{U}{B}
Creature – Human Shapeshifter Assassin
3/3
Flash
Polymorphine – You may have this creature enter tapped as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it has “When this creature enters, destroy up to one other target creature with the same name as this creature.”

Clash of the Eikons
{G}
Sorcery
Choose one or more –
* Target creature you control fights target creature an opponent controls.
* Remove a lore counter from target Saga you control. (Removing lore counters doesn’t cause chapter abilities to trigger.)
* Put a lore counter on target Saga you control.

Nando controls Multiversal Passage, for which he has chosen Forest, Living Lands, and Synth Infiltrator, which entered as a copy of Multiversal Passage and for which Nando has also chosen Forest.
Alexis controls Elrond, Lord of Rivendell, and The Eleventh Hour with two lore counters on it. She casts Callidus Assassin and chooses to have it enter as a copy of Synth Infiltrator, followed by choosing Forest for the acquired ability. The abilities of Elrond and of Callidus Assassin trigger and Alexis chooses to destroy Synth Infiltrator.
Next, Alexis casts Clash of the Eikons and puts the third lore counter on The Eleventh Hour. She targets Callidus Assassin with the chapter ability, creates a token that’s a copy of it, and again chooses Forest. The abilities of Elrond and of the token trigger and Alexis chooses to destroy Nando’s Multiversal Passage. For Elrond’s ability, she chooses the token as her Ring-bearer.
Which statements are correct? Select all that apply.
- This can’t happen as described. The token does not trigger Elrond’s ability when it enters the battlefield.
- This can’t happen as described. Alexis does not get to choose a basic land type for Callidus Assassin and the token.
- This can’t happen as described. Alexis cannot target Multiversal Passage with the token’s enters-the-battlefield ability.
- This can’t happen as described. Alexis cannot choose the token as her Ring-bearer.
- This can’t happen as described. When Callidus Assassin enters, only Elrond’s ability triggers.
- This can’t happen as described. Alexis cannot target Callidus Assassin with The Eleventh Hour’s chapter ability.
- This can’t happen as described. When the token enters, only Elrond’s ability triggers.
- This can’t happen as described. Players are not allowed to play cards from multiple IPs in the same deck.
Click to reveal the correct answer.
Answers C, D, and E are correct.
Multiversal Passage has two static abilities: one generates a replacement effect that affects how Multiversal Passage enters the battlefield, and the other generates a type-changing effect. Applying that type-changing effect sets the permanent’s land type to a basic land type; as part of this, Multiversal Passage gains the mana ability corresponding to that basic land type and it loses all abilities derived from its rules text [CR 305.7]. With that effect applied, Multiversal Passage is a Forest, and the effect of Living Lands’s ability applies to it. Multiversal Passage’s characteristic values end up being a 1/1 Forest land creature named Multiversal Passage with “{T}: Add {G}” and no other abilities.
For Multiversal Passage’s copiable characteristic values, the type-changing effects are ignored [CR 707.2]; its copiable values are a land named Multiversal Passage with the two static abilities. The replacement effect of Synth Infiltrator’s ability used those values to define the values granted by its copy effect, with the noted exception. That modification became part of Synth Infiltrator’s copiable values [CR 707.9b]. As a result, Synth Infiltrator’s copiable values are a Synth land artifact creature named Multiversal Passage with the two static abilities.
The replacement effect of Synth Infiltrator’s acquired ability was applied as it entered the battlefield and Nando chose a basic land type for it; the choice made for the original was not copied [CR 707.6]. Just as with Multiversal Passage, applying the type-changing effect to Synth Infiltrator sets its land type, grants it a mana ability, and removes all abilities derived from its rules text; the effect of Living Lands’s ability applies afterward. Synth Infiltrator’s characteristic values end up being a 1/1 Forest Synth land artifact creature named Multiversal Passage with “{T}: Add {G}” and no other abilities.
The replacement effect of Callidus Assassin’s ability uses Synth Infiltrator’s copiable values to define the values granted by its copy effect, with the noted exception. Callidus Assassin’s copiable values are therefore a Synth land artifact creature named Multiversal Passage with the two static abilities and the triggered ability.
The replacement effect of Callidus Assassin’s acquired ability is applied as it enters the battlefield and Alexis chooses a basic land type for it; the choice made for the original is not copied. As before, applying the type-changing effect to Callidus Assassin sets its land type, grants it a mana ability, and removes all abilities derived from its rules text and also any abilities added by the copy effect [CR 305.7]. The effect of Living Lands’s ability applies afterward. Callidus Assassin’s characteristic values end up being a 1/1 Forest Synth land artifact creature named Multiversal Passage with “{T}: Add {G}” and no other abilities. It triggers Elrond’s ability when it enters, but not its own, since it doesn’t actually have that ability.
The Eleventh Hour’s chapter ability uses Callidus Assassin’s copiable values to define the token’s “printed” values, with the noted exceptions. One of those exceptions is a subtype and that subtype is not in addition to any existing types. The first consequence is that the token’s “printed” values include only the Alien subtype and not the Synth subtype [CR 205.1a–b]. The second consequence is that any characteristic-defining abilities affecting subtypes are not copied [CR 707.9d]. Multiversal Passage’s second ability is such a characteristic-defining ability [CR 604.3]. As a result, that ability does not become part of the token’s “printed” values; its “printed” values are therefore a legendary Alien land artifact creature named Prisoner Zero with the static ability that generates an enters-the-battlefield replacement effect and with the triggered ability.
The replacement effect of the token’s static ability is applied as it enters the battlefield and Alexis chooses a basic land type for it; the choice made for the original is not copied. Without the linked characteristic-defining ability, there is no type-changing effect, so the chosen basic land type has no impact on the game state; the token does not become a Forest. This has two consequences: one is that the triggered ability is not removed, so that ability actually triggers, along with Elrond’s; the other consequence is that the effect of Living Lands’s ability does not apply to the token, so its power and toughness remain undefined. An undefined toughness is treated as 0, so the token is put into Alexis’s graveyard as a state-based action [CR 208.5][CR 704.5f].
When Alexis puts the token’s triggered ability onto the stack, she cannot choose a legal target, since there are no other creatures named Prisoner Zero on the battlefield. The ability does say “up to one” though, so Alexis is forced to choose zero targets; the ability resolves without having any effects.
Elrond’s ability resolves and since this is the second time the ability has resolved this turn, the Ring tempts Alexis. She cannot choose the token as her Ring-bearer, because it’s no longer on the battlefield [CR 701.54a].
As for playing cards from three or four different IPs in the same deck, there is no game or tournament rule against it. Which is a good thing—otherwise, this question would never have been written.