A Rules Quiz For Magic: The Gathering | Avatar: The Last Airbender

(Originally published on 2025-11-20; last reviewed on 2025-11-20; last updated on 2025-11-20)

This article features nineteen rules questions about Magic‘s newest set Magic: The Gathering | Avatar: The Last Airbender.

The first couple of questions focus on the set’s new mechanics, similar to the update quizzes of several judge organizations; the rest focus on individual cards.

I recommend reading up on the Comprehensive Rules (CR) changes for this set before taking the quiz; the diff found on Academy Ruins does nicely.

Quiz style

This quiz follows the style most judge organizations use for rules questions on their update and certification tests.

  • Each question lists multiple possible answers, usually five.
  • For most questions, only one of those answers is correct.
  • If more than one answer can be correct, the question will end with the phrase “Select all that apply.”
    • The number of correct answers can vary from one to all of them.
    • For the final score, such a question is all-or-nothing: selecting only some of the correct answers, but not all of them, or selecting an incorrect answer in addition to the correct ones, means that the question is failed.
  • The name of the active player always starts with an “A” and the name of the nonactive player always starts with an “N.” In scenarios describing Two-Headed Giant games, the names of the two players on the active team start with an “A” and the names of the two players on the nonactive team start with an “N.”
  • Each player has all the resources needed to perform the described actions, such as mana, cards in hand, or permanents to sacrifice. Usually, those resources are not described in detail unless they matter for the scenario.
  • The scenario description contains all the relevant information about the game state. If something is not mentioned, then it’s not part of the game state or it doesn’t influence the correct answer.
  • All game actions taken by the players are legal. The only exception are questions where one or more of the potential answers claim the opposite; usually, those answers start with “This can’t happen as described.” In such cases, a game action may have been illegal. Determining whether that’s the case is key to that question.
  • Each question provides Oracle text for all cards mentioned in the scenario. You can click on the text to show or hide card images. Italicized card names in the scenario description should also have a tooltip displaying the card’s rules text for quick reference.

Judge organizations differ in what resources they allow for different kinds of tests. Update quizzes are generally open-internet, while certification tests are open-book or closed-book. Pick whatever works best for you.

The questions

Question 1

Appa, Steadfast Guardian
{2}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature – Bison Ally
3/4
Flash
Flying
When Appa enters, airbend any number of other target nonland permanents you control. (Exile them. While each one is exiled, its owner may cast it for {2} rather than its mana cost.)
Whenever you cast a spell from exile, create a 1/1 white Ally creature token.
Ice Magic
{1}{U}
Instant
Tiered (Choose one additional cost.)
* Blizzard – {0} – Return target creature to its owner’s hand.
* Blizzara – {2} – Target creature’s owner puts it on their choice of the top or bottom of their library.
* Blizzaga – {5}{U} – Target creature’s owner shuffles it into their library.
Avatar Kuruk
Legendary Creature – Avatar
4/3
Whenever you cast a spell, create a 1/1 colorless Spirit creature token with “This token can’t block or be blocked by non-Spirit creatures.”
Exhaust – Waterbend {20}: Take an extra turn after this one. (While paying a waterbend cost, you can tap your artifacts and creatures to help. Each one pays for {1}. Activate each exhaust ability only once.)
The Legend of Kuruk
{2}{U}{U}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter.)
I, II – Scry 2, then draw a card.
III – Exile this Saga, then return it to the battlefield transformed under your control.
Spider-Man, Web-Slinger
{2}{W}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
3/3
Web-slinging {W} (You may cast this spell for {W} if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)
Balamb Garden, Airborne
Legendary Artifact – Vehicle
5/4
Flying
Whenever Balamb Garden attacks, draw a card.
Crew 1 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 1 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)
Balamb Garden, SeeD Academy
Land – Town
This land enters tapped.
{T}: Add {G} or {U}.
{5}{G}{U}, {T}: Transform this land. This ability costs {1} less to activate for each other Town you control.

Appa, Steadfast Guardian enters under Alex’s control and they airbend four permanents: a manifested Ice Magic, Avatar Kuruk (the back face of the nonmodal double-faced card The Legend of Kuruk), Spider-Man, Web-Slinger, and Balamb Garden, Airborne (the back face of the nonmodal double-faced card Balamb Garden, SeeD Academy). Which of the following statements are true? Select all that apply.

  1. Alex may cast The Legend of Kuruk.
  2. Alex may cast Spider-Man, Web-Slinger using its web-slinging ability.
  3. Alex may play Balamb Garden, SeeD Academy.
  4. Alex may cast Ice Magic. If they choose the second mode, they pay a total of {4} to cast the spell.
  5. Alex may cast Avatar Kuruk.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers A and D are correct.

The owner of a card exiled with airbend may cast that card [CR 701. 65a]. The only restriction that airbend imposes on the spell is that the player pays {2} rather than the spell’s mana cost.

Airbend does not care about the spell’s card type, so Alex may cast an instant spell like Ice Magic. The tiered ability contains an additional cost, which must be paid in addition to the alternative cost [CR 702.183][CR 118.9d]. If Alex chooses the second mode, its associated cost is added to the alternative cost for a total cost of {2} + {2} = {4}.

Web-slinging represents an alternative cost, and a player may only choose one alternative cost for any given spell [CR 702.188][CR 118.9a]. Airbend requires its alternative cost to be chosen, so Alex can cast Spider-Man, Web-Slinger for {2} but not by using web-slinging [CR 118.9b].

In exile, a double-faced card has only the characteristics of its front face, and by default, a player can only cast a nonmodal double-faced card’s front face [CR 712.8a][CR 712.11]. Alex can therefore cast The Legend of Kuruk but not Avatar Kuruk. Balamb Garden, SeeD Academy is a land and airbend only allows a player to cast the exiled card as a spell.

Question 2

Raucous Audience
{1}{G}
Creature – Human Citizen
2/1
{T}: Add {G}. If you control a creature with power 4 or greater, add {G}{G} instead.
Badgermole Cub
{1}{G}
Creature – Badger Mole
2/2
When this creature enters, earthbend 1. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put a +1/+1 counter on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)
Whenever you tap a creature for mana, add an additional {G}.
Geyser Leaper
{4}{U}
Creature – Human Warrior Ally
4/3
Flying
Waterbend {4}: Draw a card, then discard a card. (While paying a waterbend cost, you can tap your artifacts and creatures to help. Each one pays for {1}.)

Alex has controlled Raucous Audience and Badgermole Cub since their previous turn. Alex casts and resolves Geyser Leaper and then activates its ability. Which answer best describes what happens during the activation process?

  1. Alex activates the mana ability of Raucous Audience and adds {G}{G}; Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers but will not resolve until after Alex has finished activating Geyser Leaper’s ability. Next, Alex pays the waterbend cost by tapping Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub and spending {G}{G}. Badgermole Cub’s ability does not trigger again during this process.
  2. Alex activates the mana ability of Raucous Audience and adds {G}{G}; Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers and Alex adds a third {G}. Then, Alex pays the waterbend cost by tapping Badgermole Cub and spending {G}{G}{G}. Badgermole Cub’s ability does not trigger again during this process.
  3. Alex taps Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub to pay half of the waterbend cost. This causes Badgermole Cub’s ability to trigger twice and Alex adds {G}{G}. Next, Alex may activate the mana ability of Raucous Audience and add another {G}{G}; if they do, Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers again and Alex adds a fifth {G}. Then, Alex pays the remainder of the waterbend cost with mana from their mana pool.
  4. Alex activates the mana ability of Raucous Audience and adds {G}{G}; Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers and Alex adds a third {G}. Then, Alex pays the waterbend cost by either tapping Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub and paying {G}{G} or by tapping one of Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub and paying {G}{G}{G}. Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers once or twice, depending on how many creatures Alex taps for the waterbend cost, and they add {G} or {G}{G} after the cost has been paid.
  5. Alex activates the mana ability of Raucous Audience and adds {G}{G}; Badgermole Cub’s ability triggers and Alex adds a third {G}. Then, Alex pays the waterbend cost by either tapping Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub and spending {G}{G} or by tapping one of Geyser Leaper and Badgermole Cub and spending {G}{G}{G}. Badgermole Cub’s ability does not trigger again during this process.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer E is correct.

The process for activating an ability is mostly the same as the process for casting a spell [CR 602.2b]. Notably, the ability’s controller determines the total cost of the ability, then they get to activate mana abilities if the cost includes a mana component, and then they pay the total cost [CR 601.2f–h].

In this scenario, Alex first activates Raucous Audience’s mana ability and adds {G}{G}. This causes Badgermole Cub’s ability to trigger. That ability is a triggered mana ability, which means that it resolves immediately and Alex adds a third {G} directly after adding the first two [CR 605.1b][CR 605.4a].

Next, Alex pays the waterbend cost. They have three mana in their mana pool and two untapped creatures. Geyser Leaper has not been under Alex’s control since the turn began, but that only precludes it from attacking and from being tapped for a {T} symbol [CR 302.6]. Tapping it for any other reason, including to pay a waterbend cost, is permitted. As a result, Alex can choose to tap both untapped creatures and spend two mana or to tap only one of the creatures and spend three mana. Tapping a creature to pay a waterbend cost does not cause Badgermole Cub’s ability to trigger [CR 106.12a].

Question 3

Toph, the Blind Bandit
{2}{G}
Legendary Creature – Human Warrior Ally
*/3
When Toph enters, earthbend 2. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put two +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)
Toph’s power is equal to the number of +1/+1 counters on lands you control.
Scene of the Crime
Artifact Land – Clue
This land enters tapped.
{T}: Add {C}.
{T}, Tap an untapped creature you control: Add one mana of any color.
{2}, Sacrifice this land: Draw a card.
Honest Work
{U}
Enchantment – Aura
Enchant creature an opponent controls
When this Aura enters, tap enchanted creature and remove all counters from it.
Enchanted creature loses all abilities and is a Citizen with base power and toughness 1/1 and “{T}: Add {C}” named Humble Merchant. (It loses all other creature types and names.)

On Anthony’s previous turn, Toph, the Blind Bandit entered under his control and Anthony targeted his Scene of the Crime with the enters-the-battlefield ability. During Nadine’s turn, she cast Honest Work targeting Scene of the Crime. Which answer best describes the enchanted permanent during Anthony’s current turn?

  1. The permanent is a 3/3 Clue Citizen artifact land creature with “{T}: Add {C}.”
  2. The permanent is a 1/1 Clue Citizen artifact land creature with “{T}: Add {C}.”
  3. The permanent is a 3/3 Citizen artifact land creature with “{T}: Add {C}.”
  4. The permanent is a 1/1 Citizen land creature with “{T}: Add {C}.”
  5. The permanent is a 1/1 Citizen artifact land creature with “{T}: Add {C}.”
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer B is correct.

When Honest Work enters, its enters-the-battlefield ability removes all +1/+1 counters from the enchanted permanent. During Anthony’s turn, that permanent is affected by two effects: the effect created by the earthbend action and the effect of Honest Work’s last ability. Those effects are applied in timestamp order, so the effect of Honest Work’s ability is applied last [CR 613.7a+b+d].

The effect of the earthbend action sets the permanent’s base power and toughness to 0/0 [CR 701.66a]. The effect of Honest Work’s ability overwrites those values with 1/1. Without +1/+1 counters, the permanent’s power and toughness are 1/1.

The effect of the earthbend action grants the permanent the land and creature card types. Those types are “in addition to its other types,” so the permanent keeps the artifact card type and the Clue subtype [CR 701.66a][CR 205.1b]. The effect of Honest Work’s ability sets the permanent’s creature type to Citizen. This overwrites any existing creature types, but not any subtypes associated with other card types, so the permanent keeps the Clue artifact type [CR 205.1a]. The permanent is an artifact land creature with the subtypes Clue and Citizen.

Question 4

Aurelia, the Warleader
{2}{R}{R}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature – Angel
3/4
Flying, vigilance, haste
Whenever Aurelia attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.
Oppressive Rays
{W}
Enchantment – Aura
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature can’t attack or block unless its controller pays {3}.
Activated abilities of enchanted creature cost {3} more to activate.
Azula, Ruthless Firebender
{2}{B}
Legendary Creature – Human Noble
3/3
Firebending 1 (Whenever this creature attacks, add {R}. This mana lasts until end of combat.)
Whenever Azula attacks, you may discard a card. Then you get an experience counter for each player who discarded a card this turn.
{2}{B}: Until end of turn, Azula gets +1/+1 for each experience counter you have and gains menace.
Conqueror’s Galleon
{4}
Artifact – Vehicle
2/10
When this Vehicle attacks, exile it at end of combat, then return it to the battlefield transformed under your control.
Crew 4 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 4 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)
Conqueror’s Foothold
Land
(Transforms from Conqueror’s Galleon.)
{T}: Add {C}.
{2}, {T}: Draw a card, then discard a card.
{4}, {T}: Draw a card.
{6}, {T}: Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.
Kaito, Bane of Nightmares
{2}{U}{B}
Legendary Planeswalker – Kaito
4
Ninjutsu {1}{U}{B} ({1}{U}{B}, Return an unblocked attacker you control to hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand tapped and attacking.)
During your turn, as long as Kaito has one or more loyalty counters on him, he’s a 3/4 Ninja creature and has hexproof.
+1: You get an emblem with “Ninjas you control get +1/+1.”
0: Surveil 2. Then draw a card for each opponent who lost life this turn.
−2: Tap target creature. Put two stun counters on it.

Anna controls Aurelia, the Warleader, which is enchanted by Oppressive Rays, Azula, Ruthless Firebender, and Conqueror’s Galleon (a nonmodal double-faced card whose back face is Conqueror’s Foothold), whose crew ability resolved earlier this turn. Anna attacks Napoleon with all three creatures. Which of the following statements about the mana produced by Azula’s firebending ability are true? Select all that apply.

  1. During the first combat phase, Anna may spend that mana to activate Kaito, Bane of Nightmares’s ninjutsu ability after combat damage has been dealt.
  2. During the first combat phase, Anna may spend that mana to activate Azula’s ability during the declare attackers step.
  3. During the first combat phase, Anna may spend that mana to activate Conqueror’s Foothold’s abilities.
  4. Mana produced in the first combat phase will last until the end of the additional combat phase.
  5. During the first combat phase, Anna may spend that mana to pay for the cost imposed by the effect of Oppressive Rays’s ability.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers A, B, and C are correct.

If a creature requires a cost to attack, that cost is paid during the process of declaring attackers [CR 508.1h–j]. At that point, the chosen creatures are not yet attacking creatures and abilities that trigger from creatures attacking have not triggered yet [CR 508.1k–m]. In this scenario, Anna cannot spend mana produced by a firebending ability to pay the cost for Aurelia to attack.

After Anna has declared attackers, she puts Azula’s firebending ability onto the stack. After it resolves and Anna has added {R}, she gets priority once again and has an opportunity to activate Azula’s ability [CR 117.3b][CR 117.1b].

Combat damage is assigned and dealt at the start of the combat damage step [CR 510.1–2]. After that, Anna gets priority and may activate abilities [CR 510.3]. Unblocked attacking creatures remain unblocked until the combat phase ends, so Anna can activate Kaito’s ninjutsu ability during the combat damage step or the end of combat step [CR 509.1h].

The delayed triggered ability created by Conqueror’s Galleon’s ability triggers as the end of combat step begins [CR 511.2]. After that ability has resolved and Conqueror’s Foothold has entered the battlefield, Anna gets priority and may activate abilities. The effect of the firebending ability lasts until the end of the combat phase (i.e. the end of the end of combat step), so Anna still has the mana at this point [CR 511.2].

The additional combat phase created by Aurelia’s ability directly follows the first combat phase, but they are still two distinct combat phases. As the first combat phase ends, the effect of the firebending ability ends and the mana is removed from Anna’s mana pool. She cannot spend that mana during the second combat phase.

Question 5

Spirit Water Revival
{1}{U}{U}
Sorcery
As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may waterbend {6}. (While paying a waterbend cost, you can tap your artifacts and creatures to help. Each one pays for {1}.)
Draw two cards. If this spell’s additional cost was paid, instead shuffle your graveyard into your library, draw seven cards, and you have no maximum hand size for the rest of the game.
Exile Spirit Water Revival.
Songcrafter Mage
{G}{U}{R}
Creature – Human Bard
3/2
Flash
When this creature enters, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains harmonize until end of turn. Its harmonize cost is equal to its mana cost. (You may cast that card from your graveyard for its harmonize cost. You may tap a creature you control to reduce that cost by {X}, where X is its power. Then exile the spell.)

Alex has Spirit Water Revival in their graveyard and targets it with Songcrafter Mage’s triggered ability. After that ability has resolved, they cast Spirit Water Revival using its new harmonize ability. Which answer best describes Alex’s options for casting Spirit Water Revival?

  1. Alex may not pay the waterbend cost.
  2. Alex may pay the waterbend cost. If they choose to tap a creature for the harmonize ability, that creature doesn’t simultaneously pay for {1} of the waterbend cost. If Alex chooses Songcrafter Mage for the harmonize ability, the spell’s total cost is reduced by only {1}.
  3. Alex may pay the waterbend cost. If they choose to tap a creature for the harmonize ability, that creature doesn’t simultaneously pay for {1} of the waterbend cost. If Alex chooses Songcrafter Mage for the harmonize ability, the spell’s total cost is reduced by that much generic mana.
  4. Alex may pay the waterbend cost. If they choose to tap a creature for the harmonize ability, that creature also pays for {1} of the waterbend cost. If Alex chooses Songcrafter Mage for the harmonize ability, the spell’s total cost is reduced by that much generic mana.
  5. Alex may pay the waterbend cost. If they choose to tap a creature for the harmonize ability, that creature also pays for {1} of the waterbend cost. If Alex chooses Songcrafter Mage for the harmonize ability, the spell’s total cost is reduced by only {1}.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer C is correct.

The harmonize ability allows a player to cast a spell for an alternative cost. Only one alternative cost may be applied to a given spell, but any number of additional costs may be applied to that same spell [CR 118.9a+d]. Alex may cast Spirit Water Revival using the harmonize ability and also pay the additional waterbend cost.

If Alex chooses to tap a creature for the harmonize ability, tapping that creature is a cost, separate from the other costs of the spell [CR 702.180a]. A creature cannot be tapped to pay two costs at the same time [CR 118.10], so the creature tapped for the harmonize ability won’t pay {1} of the waterbend cost.

The mana represented by the waterbend cost can be paid by tapping artifacts and creatures, but it is still generic mana, so it will be reduced by the harmonize ability [CR 701.67a].

Question 6

Bitter Work
{1}{R}{G}
Enchantment
Whenever you attack a player with one or more creatures with power 4 or greater, draw a card.
Exhaust – {4}: Earthbend 4. Activate only during your turn. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put four +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped. Activate each exhaust ability only once.)
The Boulder, Ready to Rumble
{3}{G}
Legendary Creature – Human Warrior Performer
4/4
Whenever The Boulder attacks, earthbend X, where X is the number of creatures you control with power 4 or greater. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put X +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)
Rumble Arena
Land
Vigilance
When this land enters, scry 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it on the bottom.)
{T}: Add {C}.
{1}, {T}: Add one mana of any color.
Fresh Start
{1}{U}
Enchantment – Aura
Flash
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature gets -5/-0 and loses all abilities.

Adam controls Bitter Work. He attacks Natalie with The Boulder, Ready to Rumble and targets his Rumble Arena with The Boulder’s ability. Natalie responds with Fresh Start and targets The Boulder. Which answer best describes what happens when the abilities of The Boulder and of Bitter Work resolve?

  1. When The Boulder’s ability resolves, Rumble Arena becomes a 0/0 land creature. Adam does not put any +1/+1 counters on it. When the ability of Bitter Work resolves, Adam does not draw a card.
  2. When The Boulder’s ability resolves, Rumble Arena becomes a 0/0 land creature. Adam puts one +1/+1 counter on it. When the ability of Bitter Work resolves, Adam does not draw a card.
  3. When The Boulder’s ability resolves, Rumble Arena becomes a 0/0 land creature. Adam puts one +1/+1 counter on it. When the ability of Bitter Work resolves, Adam draws a card.
  4. When The Boulder’s ability resolves, nothing happens. When the ability of Bitter Work resolves, Adam does not draw a card.
  5. When The Boulder’s ability resolves, Rumble Arena becomes a 0/0 land creature. Adam does not put any +1/+1 counters on it. When the ability of Bitter Work resolves, Adam draws a card.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer E is correct.

Once an ability has triggered, it exists independently of its source [CR 113.7a]. The Boulder’s ability resolves even though The Boulder does not have any abilities at that point in time.

The value of X in The Boulder’s ability is determined when that ability resolves [CR 608.2h]. At that time, Adam does not control any creatures with power 4 or greater, so he earthbends 0. Rumble Arena becomes a 0/0 land creature and Adam puts zero +1/+1 counters on it. (After the ability has resolved, Rumble Arena dies as a state-based action, which triggers the delayed triggered ability created by the earthbend action.)

With Bitter Work’s ability, the check for attacking creatures with power 4 or greater is part of the trigger event. It is not an intervening “if” or some other condition checked during the ability’s resolution [CR 603.4]. Therefore, it does not matter that The Boulder’s power is -1 when the ability resolves; Adam draws a card regardless.

Question 7

Firebending Student
{1}{R}
Creature – Human Monk
1/2
Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Firebending X, where X is this creature’s power. (Whenever this creature attacks, add X {R}. This mana lasts until end of combat.)
Fire Sages
{1}{R}
Creature – Human Cleric
2/2
Firebending 1 (Whenever this creature attacks, add {R}. This mana lasts until end of combat.)
{1}{R}{R}: Put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.
Mirkwood Trapper
{1}{G}{U}
Creature – Elf Scout
1/4
Whenever a player attacks you, target attacking creature gets -2/-0 until end of turn.
Whenever a player attacks, if they aren’t attacking you, that player chooses an attacking creature. It gets +2/+0 until end of turn.
Razor Rings
{1}{W}
Instant
Razor Rings deals 4 damage to target attacking or blocking creature. You gain life equal to the excess damage dealt this way.

Ashley controls Firebending Student and Fire Sages; Nelson controls Mirkwood Trapper. Ashley attacks Nelson with both creatures and Nelson targets Firebending Student with Mirkwood Trapper’s ability. After that ability has resolved, he casts Razor Rings targeting Fire Sages. Which answer best describes the game state once everything has resolved and state-based actions have been performed?

  1. Ashley has no mana in her mana pool.
  2. Ashley has {R}{R} in her mana pool. That mana lasts until end of combat.
  3. Ashley has {R} in her mana pool. That mana lasts until end of combat.
  4. Ashley has {R}{R} in her mana pool. She loses one mana as the declare attackers step ends; the other mana lasts until end of combat.
  5. Ashley has {R} in her mana pool. She loses that mana as the declare attackers step ends.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer C is correct.

Firebending is a triggered ability capable of producing mana, but it does not meet the criteria for a triggered mana ability because it triggers from a creature attacking [CR 702.189a][CR 605.1b]. Therefore, firebending abilities are put on the stack after they trigger and players can respond to them [CR 605.5a].

In this scenario, Ashley’s attack causes three abilities to trigger: the firebending ability of Firebending Student, the firebending ability of Fire Sages, and the ability of Mirkwood Trapper. Those abilities are put onto the stack in APNAP order: Ashley puts the firebending abilities onto the stack in any order, then Nelson puts Mirkwood Trapper’s ability onto the stack on top of the two other abilities [CR 603.3b].

The first object to resolve is Mirkwood Trapper’s ability and Firebending Student’s power becomes -1 [CR 405.5]. Next, Nelson casts Razor Rings, which becomes the topmost object on the stack [CR 405.2]. Razor Rings resolves next and deals 4 damage to Fire Sages. After that, state-based actions are performed and Fire Sages is destroyed [CR 117.5][CR 704.5g].

Last, the two firebending abilities resolve (the order does not matter in this scenario). The ability of Firebending Student determines its power only when it resolves [CR 608.2h]. At this point, the power is -1, so the ability’s effect uses 0 instead [CR 107.1b]; no mana is produced or lost. Once an ability has triggered, it is independent of its source, so the ability of Fire Sages resolves and produces {R} even though Fire Sages is no longer on the battlefield [CR 113.7a]. The ability’s effect does not tie the lifetime of the mana to the creature’s existence, so that mana lasts until the combat phase ends [CR 702.189a].

Question 8

Solstice Revelations
{2}{R}
Instant – Lesson
Exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost if the spell’s mana value is less than the number of Mountains you control. If you don’t cast that card this way, put it into your hand.
Flashback {6}{R} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)
Ashaya, Soul of the Wild
{3}{R}{R}
Legendary Creature – Elemental
*/*
Ashaya’s power and toughness are each equal to the number of lands you control.
Nontoken creatures you control are Forest lands in addition to their other types. (They’re still affected by summoning sickness.)
Lindblum, Industrial Regency
Land – Town
This land enters tapped.
{T}: Add {R}.
//ADV//
Siege Siege
{2}{R}
Instant – Adventure
Create a 0/1 black Wizard creature token with “Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this token deals 1 damage to each opponent.”
Gwen Stacy
{1}{R}
Legendary Creature – Human Performer Hero
2/1
When Gwen Stacy enters, exile the top card of your library. You may play that card for as long as you control this creature.
{2}{U}{R}{W}: Transform Gwen Stacy. Activate only as a sorcery.
Ghost-Spider
{2}{U}{R}{W}
Legendary Creature – Spider Human Hero
4/4
Flying, vigilance, haste
Whenever you play a land from exile or cast a spell from exile, put a +1/+1 counter on Ghost-Spider.
Remove two counters from Ghost-Spider: Exile the top card of your library. You may play that card this turn.
Foundry Helix
{1}{R}{W}
Instant
As an additional cost to cast this spell, sacrifice a permanent.
Foundry Helix deals 4 damage to any target. If the sacrificed permanent was an artifact, you gain 4 life.

Alex controls four Mountains and resolves Solstice Revelations. Which of the following statements are true? Select all that apply.

  1. If Alex exiles Gwen Stacy (a modal double-faced card whose back face is Ghost-Spider), they may cast Gwen Stacy but not Ghost-Spider.
  2. If Alex exiles Ashaya, Soul of the Wild, they continue to exile cards.
  3. If Alex exiles Lindblum, Industrial Regency, they continue to exile cards.
  4. If Alex exiles Foundry Helix, they may not cast it; Alex puts it into their hand.
  5. If Alex exiles Ashaya, Soul of the Wild, they may not cast it; Alex puts it into their hand.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers A, C, and E are correct.

Ashaya, Soul of the Wild’s second ability only functions on the battlefield; it does not function in any other zone, so in the library and in exile, Ashaya is just a creature and not a land creature [CR 113.6]. If Alex exiles Ashaya, they stop exiling cards; the resulting spell would have mana value 5, so Alex cannot cast the card and puts it into their hand.

An adventurer card that is not currently on the stack as an Adventure spell has only its normal characteristics [CR 715.4]. Therefore, Lindblum, Industrial Regency does not qualify as a nonland card and Alex continues to exile cards.

Solstice Revelations’s effect looks at the mana value of the resulting spell rather than the mana value of the exiled card, so Alex may cast Gwen Stacy but not Ghost-Spider.

The final legality check for a spell is performed before its controller pays the spell’s total cost [CR 601.5]. In the case of Foundry Helix, the legality check sees a spell with mana value 3 and four Mountains under Alex’s control, so the spell is legal to cast. Afterward, Alex pays the spell’s total cost by sacrificing a Mountain, but this has no influence on the spell’s legality.

Question 9

Crovax, Ascendant Hero
{4}{W}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Noble
4/4
Other white creatures get +1/+1.
Nonwhite creatures get -1/-1.
Pay 2 life: Return Crovax to its owner’s hand.
Alexios, Deimos of Kosmos
{3}{R}
Legendary Creature – Human Berserker
4/4
Trample
Alexios attacks each combat if able, can’t be sacrificed, and can’t attack its owner.
At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player gains control of Alexios, untaps it, and puts a +1/+1 counter on it. It gains haste until end of turn.
Deserter’s Disciple
{1}{R}
Creature – Human Rebel Ally
2/2
{T}: Another target creature you control with power 2 or less can’t be blocked this turn.
Fire Nation Raider
{3}{R}
Creature – Human Soldier
4/2
Raid – When this creature enters, if you attacked this turn, create a Clue token. (It’s an artifact with “{2}, Sacrifice this token: Draw a card.”)
Destined Confrontation
{2}{W}{W}
Sorcery
Each player chooses any number of creatures they control with total power 4 or less, then sacrifices all other creatures they control.

Andrew controls Alexios, Deimos of Kosmos with one +1/+1 counter on it, and Crovax, Ascendant Hero. Nicole controls Deserter’s Disciple and Fire Nation Raider. Andrew casts Destined Confrontation. Which answer best describes what happens when Destined Confrontation resolves?

  1. Andrew can choose either Crovax or Alexios. If he chooses Crovax, Nicole can choose Deserter’s Disciple, Fire Nation Raider, or both; if Andrew chooses Alexios, Nicole can choose either Deserter’s Disciple or Fire Nation Raider, but not both.
  2. Andrew can choose either Crovax or Alexios. Nicole can choose Deserter’s Disciple, Fire Nation Raider, or both.
  3. Andrew has to choose Alexios. Nicole can choose either Deserter’s Disciple or Fire Nation Raider, but not both.
  4. Andrew has to choose Crovax. Nicole can choose Deserter’s Disciple, Fire Nation Raider, or both.
  5. Andrew has to choose Alexios. Nicole can choose Deserter’s Disciple, Fire Nation Raider, or both.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer B is correct.

Destined Confrontation instructs each player to choose a number of creatures they control and then instructs each player to sacrifice the rest. The choices for the first instruction are made in APNAP order, then the unchosen creatures are all sacrificed simultaneously [CR 608.2e].

Therefore, when Nicole chooses creatures with total power 4 or less, Crovax is still on the battlefield and the effect of its ability still applies to her creatures. Deserter’s Disciple and Fire Nation Raider have a total power of 1 + 3 = 4, so Nicole can choose both creatures or just one (or even none of them).

With the effect of Crovax’s ability and the +1/+1 counter applied to Alexios, its power is 4, so Andrew can choose Alexios.

Choosing a number of creatures is a separate instruction from sacrificing the rest, and it’s not directly tied to that second instruction, so Andrew can choose Crovax, even though he will be unable to sacrifice Alexios for the second, future instruction.

Question 10

Master Trinketeer
{2}{W}
Creature – Dwarf Artificer
3/2
Servos and Thopters you control get +1/+1.
{3}{W}: Create a 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature token.
The Mechanist, Aerial Artisan
{2}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Artificer Ally
1/3
Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, create a Clue token. (It’s an artifact with “{2}, Sacrifice this token: Draw a card.”)
{T}: Until end of turn, target artifact token you control becomes a 3/1 Construct artifact creature with flying.
Kyoshi Warriors
{3}{W}
Creature – Human Warrior Ally
3/3
When this creature enters, create a 1/1 white Ally creature token.

Astrid controls Master Trinketeer, a Servo artifact creature token created with Master Trinketeer’s ability, and The Mechanist, Aerial Artisan. Nicolas controls Kyoshi Warriors. Astrid attacks with the Servo creature token and Nicolas blocks with Kyoshi Warriors. After blockers have been declared, Astrid activates The Mechanist’s ability and targets the Servo creature token. Which answer best describes the game state after The Mechanist’s ability has resolved and state-based actions have been performed?

  1. The creature token is 4/2 and has flying. It is still a blocked creature, but it is not blocked by Kyoshi Warriors.
  2. The creature token is 3/1 and has flying. It is unblocked.
  3. The creature token is 4/2 and has flying. It is unblocked.
  4. The creature token is 4/2 and has flying. It is still blocked by Kyoshi Warriors.
  5. The creature token is 3/1 and has flying. It is still blocked by Kyoshi Warriors.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer E is correct.

Evasion abilities such as flying are only relevant while blockers are being declared [CR 509.1b]. Once a creature has been legally declared as a blocker, it continues to block that attacking creature until it is specifically removed from combat or until the combat phase ends [CR 509.1g]. In this scenario, Kyoshi Warriors continues to block the attacking creature token.

If an effect has a permanent become a [creature type] artifact creature, the artifact and creature card types are in addition to the permanent’s existing card types, but the creature type replaces any existing creature types [CR 205.1b]. In this scenario, the creature token is a Construct artifact creature; it is not a Servo anymore and does not get +1/+1 from the effect of Master Trinketeer’s ability.

Question 11

Avatar Aang
{R}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Avatar Ally
4/4
Flying, firebending 2
Whenever you waterbend, earthbend, firebend, or airbend, draw a card. Then if you’ve done all four this turn, transform Avatar Aang.
Whirlwind Technique
{4}{U}{U}
Instant – Lesson
Target player draws two cards, then discards a card.
Airbend up to two target creatures. (To airbend a creature, exile it. While it’s exiled, its owner may cast it for {2} rather than its mana cost.)
Cracked Earth Technique
{4}{G}
Sorcery – Lesson
Earthbend 3, then earthbend 3. You gain 3 life. (To earthbend 3, target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put three +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)

Arthur controls Avatar Aang and has already waterbent and firebent this turn. Which of the following statements are true? Select all that apply.

  1. If Arthur has also earthbent this turn: If Arthur resolves Whirlwind Technique with two of Nora’s creatures as targets, Avatar Aang’s ability triggers once during the spell’s resolution.
  2. If Arthur has also airbent this turn: If Arthur resolves Cracked Earth Technique with two of his lands as targets, Avatar Aang’s ability triggers twice during the spell’s resolution. Each time one of those abilities resolves, Arthur draws a card and Avatar Aang transforms.
  3. If Arthur has also earthbent this turn: If Arthur resolves Whirlwind Technique with two of Nora’s creatures as targets, Avatar Aang’s ability triggers twice during the spell’s resolution. Each time one of those abilities resolves, Arthur draws a card. Avatar Aang transforms only the first time one of those abilities resolves.
  4. If Arthur has also airbent this turn: If Arthur resolves Cracked Earth Technique with two of his lands as targets, Avatar Aang’s ability triggers twice during the spell’s resolution. Each time one of those abilities resolves, Arthur draws a card. Avatar Aang transforms only the first time one of those abilities resolves.
  5. If Arthur has also earthbent this turn: If Arthur resolves Whirlwind Technique with two of Nora’s creatures as targets, Avatar Aang’s ability triggers twice during the spell’s resolution. Each time one of those abilities resolves, Arthur draws a card and Avatar Aang transforms.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers A and D are correct.

Whirlwind Technique’s text contains one instruction to airbend multiple objects. An ability that triggers when a player airbends triggers once per airbend instruction, not once per exiled object, so Avatar Aang’s ability triggers only once while Arthur resolves Whirlwind Technique in this scenario [CR 701.65b].

Cracked Earth Technique’s text contains two instructions to earthbend and Avatar Aang’s ability triggers each time one of those instructions is performed [CR 701.66b]. Avatar Aang transforms when the first of those abilities resolves. It does not transform again when the second ability resolves, as the permanent transformed since that ability was put onto the stack [CR 701.27f]. The abilities’ other instruction is unaffected by this, so Arthur draws a total of two cards.

Question 12

Norn’s Wellspring
{1}{W}
Artifact
Whenever a creature you control dies, scry 1 and put an oil counter on this artifact.
{1}, {T}, Remove two oil counters from this artifact: Draw a card.
Toph, the First Metalbender
{1}{R}{G}{W}
Legendary Creature – Human Warrior Ally
3/3
Nontoken artifacts you control are lands in addition to their other types. (They don’t gain the ability to {T} for mana.)
At the beginning of your end step, earthbend 2. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put two +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)
Natural Emergence
{2}{R}{G}
Enchantment
When this enchantment enters, return a red or green enchantment you control to its owner’s hand.
Lands you control are 2/2 creatures with first strike. They’re still lands.
Valkyrie’s Call
{3}{W}{W}
Enchantment
Whenever a nontoken, non-Angel creature you control dies, return that card to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a +1/+1 counter on it. It has flying and is an Angel in addition to its other types.
Day of Black Sun
{X}{B}{B}
Sorcery
Each creature with mana value X or less loses all abilities until end of turn. Destroy those creatures.

Ned controls Norn’s Wellspring, Toph, the First Metalbender, Natural Emergence, and Valkyrie’s Call. Abigail casts Day of Black Sun with X = 4. Which answer best describes what happens when Day of Black Sun resolves?

  1. Norn’s Wellspring and Toph are destroyed. The ability of Norn’s Wellspring does not trigger. The ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers for Toph, but not for Norn’s Wellspring.
  2. Toph is destroyed, but not Norn’s Wellspring. The ability of Norn’s Wellspring triggers. The ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers.
  3. Norn’s Wellspring and Toph are destroyed. The ability of Norn’s Wellspring triggers once. The ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers for Toph, but not for Norn’s Wellspring.
  4. Norn’s Wellspring and Toph are destroyed. The ability of Norn’s Wellspring does not trigger. The ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers once for Toph and once for Norn’s Wellspring.
  5. Toph is destroyed, but not Norn’s Wellspring. The ability of Norn’s Wellspring does not trigger. The ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer D is correct.

When Day of Black Sun starts to resolve, Norn’s Wellspring is affected by the continuous effects of Toph and Natural Emergence’s abilities; as a result, it’s an artifact land creature.

Day of Black Sun first creates a continuous effect that causes Toph and Norn’s Wellspring to lose all abilities. Toph is now affected by one continuous effect, and Norn’s Wellspring is affected by up to three continuous effects. To determine which of those effects actually apply, the layer system is used [CR 613]. The effect of Toph’s ability and part of the effect of Natural Emergence’s ability belong to layer 4, while Day of Black Sun’s effect belongs to layer 6 [CR 613.1d+f]. Therefore, the (partial) effects of Toph and Natural Emergence’s abilities are always applied first and make Norn’s Wellspring an artifact creature land [CR 613.1]. Day of Black Sun’s effect is applied afterward and removes all of Toph and Norn’s Wellspring’s abilities; this does not affect the effect of Toph’s ability, as that effect has already been applied during this process. The end result is that both Toph and Norn’s Wellspring are creatures without abilities.

Next, Day of Black Sun destroys those two permanents. For abilities that trigger when a creature dies, the game state directly before the event is evaluated to determine whether those abilities trigger [CR 603.10]. Directly before Toph and Norn’s Wellspring are destroyed, Norn’s Wellspring has no abilities, so its ability does not trigger. The two permanents are creatures, so the ability of Valkyrie’s Call triggers for both of them.

Question 13

Avatar Kyoshi, Earthbender
{5}{G}{G}{G}
Legendary Creature – Human Avatar
6/6
During your turn, Avatar Kyoshi has hexproof.
At the beginning of combat on your turn, earthbend 8, then untap that land. (Target land you control becomes a 0/0 creature with haste that’s still a land. Put eight +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies or is exiled, return it to the battlefield tapped.)
Diaochan, Artful Beauty
{3}{R}
Legendary Creature – Human Advisor
1/1
{T}: Destroy target creature of your choice, then destroy target creature of an opponent’s choice. Activate only during your turn, before attackers are declared.
Avatar Enthusiasts
{2}{W}
Creature – Human Peasant Ally
2/2
Whenever another Ally you control enters, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.
Empty City Ruse
{W}
Sorcery
Target opponent skips all combat phases of their next turn.

As Arnold’s turn begins, he controls Avatar Kyoshi, Earthbender and Diaochan, Artful Beauty, while Nina controls Avatar Enthusiasts. During Nina’s last turn, she resolved Empty City Ruse with Arnold as the target. Which answer best describes Arnold and Nina’s options regarding Diaochan’s ability?

  1. Arnold may activate the ability until his first main phase ends. He may choose any creature as his target. Nina may choose any creature as her target.
  2. Arnold may activate the ability until his first main phase ends. He may choose any creature as his target. Nina may choose any creature except the one chosen by Arnold as her target.
  3. Arnold may activate the ability anytime during his turn. He may choose any creature as his target. Nina may choose Diaochan or Avatar Enthusiasts as her target.
  4. Arnold may activate the ability until his first main phase ends. He may choose any creature as his target. Nina may choose Diaochan or Avatar Enthusiasts as her target.
  5. Arnold may activate the ability anytime during his turn. He may choose any creature as his target. Nina may choose any creature as her target.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer A is correct.

During a turn in which the combat phase is skipped, Diaochan’s ability can only be activated before the precombat main phase ends [CR 506.7e+g].

Nina chooses one of the targets of Diaochan’s ability, but that ability is still activated by Arnold, so Arnold is its controller [CR 602.3][CR 113.8]. Since the ability and Avatar Kyoshi are controlled by the same player, Avatar Kyoshi is a legal target for Nina to choose [CR 702.11b].

The phrase “target creature” appears two times in the ability’s text, so the same creature may be chosen for both targets [CR 115.3].

Question 14

The Legend of Kyoshi
{4}{G}{G}
Enchantment – Saga
(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter.)
I – Draw cards equal to the greatest power among creatures you control.
II – Earthbend X, where X is the number of cards in your hand. That land becomes an Island in addition to its other types.
III – Exile this Saga, then return it to the battlefield transformed under your control.
Secret Tunnel
Land – Cave
This land can’t be blocked.
{T}: Add {C}.
{4}, {T}: Two target creatures you control that share a creature type can’t be blocked this turn.
Zhao, the Moon Slayer
{1}{R}
Legendary Creature – Human Soldier
2/2
Menace
Nonbasic lands enter tapped.
{7}: Put a conqueror counter on Zhao.
As long as Zhao has a conqueror counter on him, nonbasic lands are Mountains. (They lose all other land types and abilities and have “{T}: Add {R}.”)

Alice controls The Legend of Kyoshi and Secret Tunnel; The Legend of Kyoshi entered during her previous turn. Nigel controls Zhao, the Moon Slayer, which entered during his last turn. In Alice’s precombat main phase, she puts the second lore counter on The Legend of Kyoshi and targets Secret Tunnel with the chapter ability. During Alice’s beginning of combat step, Nigel activates Zhao’s ability. Which answer best describes Secret Tunnel after the ability has resolved and Nigel has put a conqueror counter on Zhao?

  1. Secret Tunnel is a Mountain land with “{T}: Add {R}” and no other abilities.
  2. Secret Tunnel is an Island Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {R}” and haste, and no other abilities.
  3. Secret Tunnel is a Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {R}” and haste, and no other abilities.
  4. Secret Tunnel is a Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {R}” and no other abilities.
  5. Secret Tunnel is an Island Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {U},” “{T}: Add {R},” and haste, and no other abilities.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer E is correct.

Once Zhao has a conqueror counter on it, there are three continuous effects that affect Secret Tunnel: the effect created by Zhao’s static ability, which belongs to layer 4 of the layer system [CR 613.1d]; the effect created by the earthbend action of the chapter ability, whose parts belong to layers 4, 6, and 7b [CR 613.1f][CR 613.4b]; and the other effect created by that ability, which belongs to layer 4. There are also a number of +1/+1 counters which belong to layer 7c [CR 613.4c].

To determine the values of Secret Tunnel’s characteristics, those effects and counters are applied to the characteristics in the order of the layers they belong to [CR 613.1]. The effect created by the earthbend action is divided into three parts, one for each layer that effect belongs to [CR 613.6].

Three (partial) effects belong to layer 4; those are applied in timestamp order [CR 613.7]. The effect of Zhao’s ability has the same timestamp as Zhao itself, which is when Zhao entered the battlefield, while the effects created by the chapter ability have timestamps matching their creation during the ability’s resolution [CR 613.7a+b+d]. Therefore, the effect of Zhao’s ability has the earliest timestamp and is applied first; Secret Tunnel is a Mountain land with “{T}: Add {R}” and no other abilities [CR 305.7]. Then the partial effect of the earthbend action is applied and Secret Tunnel is a Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {R}” and no other abilities. Then the third effect is applied and Secret Tunnel is an Island Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {U}” and “{T}: Add {R},” and no other abilities [CR 305.7].

Next, the partial effect belonging to layer 6 is applied; Secret Tunnel is an Island Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {U},” “{T}: Add {R},” and haste, and no other abilities. Next, the partial effect belonging to layer 7b is applied; Secret Tunnel is a 0/0 Island Mountain land creature with “{T}: Add {U},” “{T}: Add {R},” and haste, and no other abilities. Finally, the +1/+1 counters are applied.

Question 15

War Balloon
{2}{R}
Artifact – Vehicle
4/3
Flying
{1}: Put a fire counter on this Vehicle.
As long as this Vehicle has three or more fire counters on it, it’s an artifact creature.
Crew 3 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 3 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)
Ember Island Production
{3}{U}{U}
Sorcery
Choose one –
* Create a token that’s a copy of target creature you control, except it’s not legendary and it’s a 4/4 Hero in addition to its other types.
* Create a token that’s a copy of target creature an opponent controls, except it’s not legendary and it’s a 2/2 Coward in addition to its other types.

Alex controls War Balloon with three fire counters on it. They cast Ember Island Production, targeting War Balloon. Which answer best describes the token Alex creates when Ember Island Production resolves?

  1. The token enters as a Vehicle artifact. As long as it has three or more fire counters on it, the token is a 4/4 Vehicle Hero artifact creature.
  2. The token enters as a Vehicle artifact. As long as it has three or more fire counters on it, the token is a 4/4 Vehicle artifact creature.
  3. The token enters as a Vehicle artifact. As long as it has three or more fire counters on it, the token is a 4/3 Vehicle Hero artifact creature.
  4. The token enters as a Vehicle artifact. As long as it has three or more fire counters on it, the token is a 4/3 Vehicle artifact creature.
  5. The token enters as a 4/4 Vehicle Hero artifact creature.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer B is correct.

A copy effect uses the copiable values of the original’s characteristics rather than the actual values. The copiable values are the values derived from the original’s text, as modified by effects and rules belonging to layer 1 of the layer system [CR 707.2]. The effect of War Balloon’s ability belongs to layer 4 [CR 613.1d], so Ember Island Production’s effect does not copy that modification to War Balloon’s card types.

The copy effect makes two modifications to the values it copies: it replaces the power/toughness with 4/4, and it adds the Hero creature type [CR 707.9]. The latter modification is impossible, as the copied values do not include the creature card type [CR 205.3d]. Only the first modification is applied and the token is created as a Vehicle artifact with power/toughness 4/4. While it is a creature, those power/toughness values are used; it won’t be a Hero.

Question 16

Cat-Owl
{3}{W/U}
Creature – Cat Bird
3/3
Flying
Whenever this creature attacks, untap target artifact or creature.
Crashing Wave
{U}{U}
Sorcery
As an additional cost to cast this spell, waterbend {X}. (While paying a waterbend cost, you can tap your artifacts and creatures to help. Each one pays for {1}.)
Tap up to X target creatures, then distribute three stun counters among any number of tapped creatures your opponents control. (If a permanent with a stun counter would become untapped, remove one from it instead.)
Enter the Avatar State
{W}
Instant – Lesson
Until end of turn, target creature you control becomes an Avatar in addition to its other types and gains flying, first strike, lifelink, and hexproof. (A creature with hexproof can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.)

Nancy controls two untapped 1/1 white Ally creature tokens and a tapped Cat-Owl. Alan casts Crashing Wave and targets all three of Nancy’s creatures. Nancy responds and casts Enter the Avatar State on Cat-Owl. Which answer best describes what happens when Crashing Wave resolves?

  1. Alan taps the two Ally creature tokens. Then, he freely distributes the three stun counters among the two Ally creature tokens.
  2. Alan taps the two Ally creature tokens. Then, he freely distributes the three stun counters among Nancy’s three creatures, including Cat-Owl.
  3. Alan taps the two Ally creature tokens. Then, he distributes the three stun counters among the two creature tokens. Each creature token has to receive at least one counter.
  4. Alan taps the two Ally creature tokens. Then, he puts stun counters on the two creature tokens according to the distribution he chose while casting Crashing Wave. Any stun counters Alan had assigned to Cat-Owl are not put on that creature.
  5. Alan taps all of Nancy’s creatures, including Cat-Owl. Then, he freely distributes the three stun counters among those three creatures.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer B is correct.

If a spell or ability has its controller distribute counters among two or more targets, the controller announces that distribution as part of the casting or activation process [CR 601.2d]. Crashing Wave’s stun counters are not distributed among the spell’s targets, however, but among all of Nancy’s tapped creatures; Alan only chooses how to distribute the stun counters when Crashing Wave resolves, and he does not need to put a stun counter on each eligible creature [CR 608.2d].

Cat-Owl has hexproof when Crashing Wave resolves, so it is an illegal target. However, this does not mean that Crashing Wave is entirely unable to affect it: only the parts for which Cat-Owl is an illegal target are unable to affect it [CR 608.2b]. Crashing Wave has two effects: the first effect targets some number of creatures and taps them, while the second effect has its controller put counters on a number of untargeted creatures. Therefore, Alan only taps the two Ally creature tokens, but he may distribute the stun counters among all three creatures.

Question 17

Iroh, Grand Lotus
{3}{G}{U}{R}
Legendary Creature – Human Noble Ally
5/5
Firebending 2
During your turn, each non-Lesson instant and sorcery card in your graveyard has flashback. The flashback cost is equal to that card’s mana cost. (You may cast a card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)
During your turn, each Lesson card in your graveyard has flashback {1}.
Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis
Land – Town
This land enters tapped.
{T}: Add {G}.
//ADV//
Fayth Fayth
{4}{G}{G}
Sorcery – Adventure
Create a 1/1 colorless Hero creature token. Put a +1/+1 counter on it for each land you control. (Then exile this card. You may play the land later from exile.)
Boomerang Basics
{U}
Sorcery – Lesson
Return target nonland permanent to its owner’s hand. If you controlled that permanent, draw a card.

Alex controls Iroh, Grand Lotus and has Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis and Boomerang Basics in their graveyard. Which of the following statements are correct? Select all that apply.

  1. Alex may cast Fayth Fayth. If they do, Fayth Fayth is exiled after it resolves. Alex may play Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis from exile; there is no choice involved.
  2. If Alex casts Boomerang Basics and chooses Iroh as its target, Boomerang Basics is put into Alex’s graveyard after it resolves.
  3. Alex may cast Fayth Fayth. If they do, Fayth Fayth is exiled after it resolves and Alex decides whether they may play Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis from exile.
  4. Alex may not cast Fayth Fayth.
  5. If Alex casts Boomerang Basics and chooses Iroh as its target, Boomerang Basics is exiled after it resolves.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers B and C are correct.

If a player wants to cast an adventurer card as an Adventure, only the alternative characteristics of the Adventure part are checked to see if that player may begin to cast that spell [CR 715.3a]. If a continuous effect would apply to an object with the Adventure’s characteristics, that effect applies for this check [CR 601.3e]. In this scenario, the check determines that Alex wants to cast a sorcery card from their graveyard, and that this card has flashback, so Alex may begin to cast Fayth Fayth. The flashback-granting effect continues to apply to the spell on the stack, which allows Alex to complete the casting process [CR 400.7g].

As Fayth Fayth resolves, two replacement effects want to replace the spell going to the graveyard with it being exiled: the replacement effect generated by the flashback ability and a replacement effect generated by the game rules [CR 702.34a][CR 715.3d]. As the controller of the affected object, Alex decides which replacement effect to apply; the other effect won’t apply [CR 616.1]. If Alex chooses the replacement effect generated by the flashback ability, they won’t be able to play Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis from exile; if they choose the replacement effect generated by the game rules, they will be able to play Zanarkand, Ancient Metropolis from exile.

The flashback-granting effect is generated by a static ability, so it only applies while Iroh is on the battlefield [CR 611.3a+b]. If Iroh leaves the battlefield during Boomerang Basics’s resolution, Boomerang Basics and all instant and sorcery cards in Alex’s graveyard immediately stop having those flashback abilities. One of those abilities generated the replacement effect that was supposed to exile Boomerang Basics, so that replacement effect doesn’t exist anymore either. After Alex has carried out all of Boomerang Basics’s instructions, the spell is put into their graveyard.

Question 18

Avatar Aang
{R}{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Avatar Ally
4/4
Flying, firebending 2
Whenever you waterbend, earthbend, firebend, or airbend, draw a card. Then if you’ve done all four this turn, transform Avatar Aang.
Aang, Master of Elements
Legendary Creature – Avatar Ally
6/6
Flying
Spells you cast cost {W}{U}{B}{R}{G} less to cast. (This can reduce generic costs.)
At the beginning of each upkeep, you may transform Aang, Master of Elements. If you do, you gain 4 life, draw four cards, put four +1/+1 counters on him, and he deals 4 damage to each opponent.
Katara, the Fearless
{G}{W}{U}
Legendary Creature – Human Warrior Ally
3/3
If a triggered ability of an Ally you control triggers, that ability triggers an additional time.
Virtue of Knowledge
{4}{U}
Enchantment
If a permanent entering causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an additional time.
//ADV//
Vantress Visions
{1}{U}
Instant – Adventure
Copy target activated or triggered ability you control. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Alex controls Aang, Master of Elements (the back face of the nonmodal double-faced card Avatar Aang) and Katara, the Fearless. At the beginning of their upkeep, Aang’s ability triggers twice. When the first ability resolves, Alex chooses to transform Aang, Master of Elements and they draw Virtue of Knowledge as part of the four cards. Alex responds to the remaining ability by casting Vantress Visions, targeting that ability. Which answer best describes what happens after Vantress Visions has copied Aang’s ability?

  1. During the resolution of the copy, if Alex chooses to transform the permanent, Avatar Aang will transform into Aang, Master of Elements. Nothing else happens during that resolution. During the resolution of the original ability, the permanent will not transform under any circumstances.
  2. During the resolution of the copy, if Alex chooses to transform the permanent, Avatar Aang will transform into Aang, Master of Elements and Alex gains 4 life, draws four cards, and so forth. During the resolution of the original ability, if Alex chooses to transform the permanent, Aang, Master of Elements will transform into Avatar Aang and Alex gains 4 life, draws four cards, and so forth.
  3. During the resolution of the copy, the permanent will not transform under any circumstances. During the resolution of the original ability, if Alex chooses to transform the permanent, Avatar Aang will transform into Aang, Master of Elements and Alex gains 4 life, draws four cards, and so forth.
  4. During the resolution of the copy, if Alex chooses to transform the permanent, Avatar Aang will transform into Aang, Master of Elements and Alex gains 4 life, draws four cards, and so forth. During the resolution of the original ability, the permanent will not transform under any circumstances.
  5. During the resolution of the copy, the permanent will not transform under any circumstances. During the resolution of the original ability, the permanent will not transform under any circumstances.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answer D is correct.

If a triggered ability (that is not a delayed triggered ability) instructs a player to transform its source, but that source has transformed some other way since the ability has been put onto the stack, then the player does not transform that source [CR 701.27f]. In this scenario, Aang will have transformed once or twice by the time Alex resolves the remaining original ability, so Aang does not transform during that ability’s resolution, regardless of Alex’s choices.

The copy of the ability, on the other hand, was created after Aang transformed into Avatar Aang. Aang does not transform between the creation of the copy and its resolution, so Aang will transform during the copy’s resolution, if Alex chooses to do so. The ability does not state that the permanent has to transform into a permanent with specific characteristics, so Alex will get the four benefits, even if Aang transforms from Avatar Aang into Aang, Master of Elements in this case.

Question 19

Hama, the Bloodbender
{2}{U/B}{U/B}{U/B}
Legendary Creature – Human Warlock
3/3
When Hama enters, target opponent mills three cards. Exile up to one noncreature, nonland card from that player’s graveyard. For as long as you control Hama, you may cast the exiled card during your turn by waterbending {X} rather than paying its mana cost, where X is its mana value. (While paying a waterbend cost, you can tap your artifacts and creatures to help. Each one pays for {1}.)
Promise of Aclazotz
{1}{B}
Enchantment
At the beginning of your end step, you may sacrifice a non-Demon creature. If you do, populate. (Create a token that’s a copy of a creature token you control.)
//ADV//
Foul Rebirth
{2}{B}
Sorcery – Adventure
Sacrifice a non-Demon creature. If you do, create a 4/3 white and black Vampire Demon creature token with flying.

Hama, the Bloodbender enters under Ada’s control. While resolving Hama’s triggered ability, Ada exiles Promise of Aclazotz from Noah’s graveyard. If Ada casts that card, which of the following options are available to her? Select all that apply.

  1. Ada may cast Promise of Aclazotz by waterbending {3} rather than paying its mana cost.
  2. Ada may cast Promise of Aclazotz by waterbending {2} rather than paying its mana cost.
  3. Ada may cast Foul Rebirth by waterbending {3} rather than paying its mana cost.
  4. Ada may cast Foul Rebirth by paying its mana cost.
  5. Ada may cast Foul Rebirth by waterbending {2} rather than paying its mana cost.
Click to reveal the correct answer.

Answers B and E are correct.

When Hama’s triggered ability resolves, it creates a continuous effect that allows Ada to cast the exiled card by paying an alternative cost rather than the spell’s mana cost; that alternative cost is mandatory [CR 118.9b]. The effect does not impose any other restrictions on the spell, so Ada may cast Promise of Aclazotz or its Adventure, Foul Rebirth.

The alternative cost has a variable based on “its mana value,” where “its” refers to the card in exile. Furthermore, since the effect is created by a resolving ability rather than a static ability, the value of X is locked in at the time the effect is created [CR 611.2d]. At that time, the card in exile has only its normal characteristics [CR 715.4], so its mana value is 2. As a result, the effect locks in waterbend {2} as the alternative cost and Ada pays that cost regardless of whether she casts Promise of Aclazotz or its Adventure, Foul Rebirth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You will not be added to any email lists and we will not distribute your personal information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.