What “Protection from [something]” really means.

Today we’re going over an old favorite: Protection! It’s a fairly common mechanic in Standard lately, between all the Swords kicking around and the Crusaders and what-have-you. So what does protection ‘stop’? A lot of people wonder why it is that can kill a , but can’t. Some people think protection from white will mean that their -holding creature doesn’t get a boost from their . Put simply, Protection stops only four things, and they can be remembered with a useful mnemonic: D.E.B.T. Protection from Red, for example, means that your creature cannot be… Damaged Enchanted/Equipped Blocked Targeted …by anything red. That’s all! Whipflare can’t hurt your Crusader because Pro-red prevents the damage. can’t block your dude that’s got a Sword of War and Peace because your dude can’t be blocked by red or white creatures. It can’t have any red or white Auras/Equipment put onto it, and any red or white auras/equipment that were already attached to it when it gained protection ‘fall off’. Finally, nothing red or white, nor abilities from a red or white source may target it. The reason that a kills a or a Day of Judgment kills a Phyrexian Crusader is because DEBT doesn’t apply; the spells aren’t trying to Damage, Enchant/Equip, Block, or Target the creature. Today’s Rules Tip written by Trevor Nuñez, Level 1 Judge from Roswell, NM Sharing is Caring – Click Below to Share