Guilds of Ravnica Two-Headed Giant Release Notes

While most cards work pretty straightforward in 2HG there are some quirks, often involving the combat phase or life total changes. Those cards are explained here!

If you’re playing a 2HG prerelease you should also check out the 2HG Hidden Gems that highlights which cards to look out for. For further reading, if you want to know more about 2HG see the 2HG FAQ. If you want to know more about how these cards function in general see the regular release notes.


GENERAL NOTES

You

The rule of thumb for 2HG is “You” still refers to you alone, not both you and your teammate. Look for the word “you” in the card text, such as “creatures you control get +1/+1”, etc.

Each

Cards that say “each opponent” or “each player” do affect more players than usual.

Centaur Peacemaker is giving each team 8 life!

Each opponent X and you Y

These cards only double up the “each opponent” part, not the “you” part. With Whispering Snitch the opponents lose 2 in total and you gain 1. With Disinformation Campaign the opponents discard 2 cards in total and you draw 1.


NEW MECHANIC: MENTOR

  • Mentor’s targeting restriction does not mention “you control”, only “target attacking creature”, so you can mentor your teammate’s creatures!

CARD-SPECIFIC NOTES

Dawn of Hope

  • This does not trigger when your teammate gains life. While your life total is shared with your teammate, gaining and losing life still happens to players individually. “Gain life” does not refer to an observed change in life totals, it refers to the action that results in a change in life totals. So this looks at who actually took that action, and when your teammate gains life, that is not “you”.

Etrata, the Silencer

  • When you declare this as an attacker you choose which player you’re attacking. Combat damage would be dealt to that player, so you can only choose a creature controlled by that player.

Haazda Marshal

  • This counts your teammate’s attacking creatures as well.

Swathcutter Giant

  • When you declare this as an attacker you choose which player (or planeswalker) you’re attacking. The trigger will only deal damage to the creatures controlled by that player (or by the player controlling that planeswalker).

Thief of Sanity

  • When you declare this as an attacker you choose which player you’re attacking. Combat damage would be dealt to that player, so you can only exile from their library.

Wojek Bodyguard

  • This counts your teammate’s attacking creatures as well.

 

Share, save or print:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You will not be added to any email lists and we will not distribute your personal information.