Class 2 – Answers

Last updated: 02 August 2017

Downloadable PDF file available HERE

  1. What types of permanents exist?

There are five: Land, Creature, Enchantment, Artifact and Planeswalker.


  1. Is an elf token affected by an effect that says “destroy all permanents”?

Tokens aren’t “cards”, but they are permanents nevertheless, so yes, it would be destroyed.


  1. I have 10 Goblin tokens created with Empty the Warrens and 3 created by Siege-Gang Commander. My opponent casts Maelstrom Pulse targeting one of the tokens from Siege-Gang Commander. What happens?

Tokens created by Empty the Warrens and Siege-Gang Commander have names and characteristics specified by the effect that created them, unless otherwise specified. All the tokens are named Goblin and are destroyed by the Pulse.


  1. What happens if an effect tries to place an Instant on the battlefield?

It remains in the zone where it’s located instead.


  1. What status does a permanent have? What are the default values?

Status refers to a permanent’s physical state, which can be: Tapped/Untapped, Flipped/Unflipped, Face Up/Face Down and Phased In/Phased Out. By default: Untapped, Unflipped, Face Up and Phased In.


  1. What status can a Mayor of Avabruck have?

All. It is true that before he may not have them all, but, since Fate Reforged’s rules update, double faced cards can be manisfested, therefore, they can be Face Down. Using the adequate representation in the board, like a checklist card.


  1. What zones exist in a Magic game? What zones are used in sanctioned Magic tournaments? Which of them are hidden? Which of them are shared?

Library, Hand, Battlefield, Graveyard, Stack, Exile, Command and Ante. All the zones but Ante are used in sanctioned Magic tournaments. The hidden zones are the Hand and Library and the shared zones are all the remaining zones (public zones) except the Graveyard.


  1. If I search in a hidden zone, am I obliged to find? Give an example.

Unless the search specifies a characteristic, such as color or type, you are required to find. If such characteristics are specified you may choose not to find some or all the cards.

For example, Diabolic Tutor forces you to find a card, while Gifts Ungiven allows you to fail finding some of the cards.


  1. Can I have several Graveyards?

No, you can only have one.


  1. Can I rearrange my Graveyard?

Yes, as long as you are playing a format that doesn’t include cards to which the Graveyard order is relevant. These are normally all the sets before Urza’s Saga.


  1. What is the order in which objects in the Stack resolve?

They resolve in the inverse order that they were placed, starting with the last added and finishing with the first.


  1. How are objects placed in the Stack? How are objects created at the same time placed? How are objects created by different players but at the same time, placed?

The objects are placed in inverse order, newly created objects are placed on top, pushing existing ones to the bottom.

When several objects are created at the same time, its controller chooses the order in which they are placed. For example, the triggered abilities of a Blood Artist dying alongside other creatures as a Wrath of God resolves.

Objects owned by the active player will go on the stack first, and then objects owned by the nonactive player are placed on top. For example, if both players control a Blood Artist, after a Wrath of God resolves, the active player places its triggered abilities in the stack in the order he chooses, and then the nonactive player does the same.


  1. What activated abilities don’t use the Stack?

Mana abilities.


  1. What other actions, that aren’t abilities, can you take that don’t use the stack?

– Suspend a card.

– Turning face up a creature with morph.

– Playing a land.

– Pay a cost to be able to take an action or bypass a restriction effect, such as Leonin Arbiter or Ghostly Prison; or pay a cost to avoid or bypass the effect of a delayed ability, such as Quenchable Fire.


  1. If I cast Krosan Grip targeting my opponent’s Pacism, can I respond at some point? What happens if I have Punishing Fire in my Graveyard and I actívate Grove of the Burnwillows to add green mana while Krosan Grisp is in the Stack?

You could do special actions, such as turning face up a Willbender but you can’t cast spells nor activate abilities.

If you activate the Burnwillos, Punishing Fire’s ability would trigger and you could choose to pay the mana to return it to your Hand; this is a triggered ability and happens even when Krosan Grip is in the stack, Split Second prohibits casting spells and/or activating abilities.


  1. If an effect says “return two cards to the top of the library”, in which order do they return? Who chooses that order?

The cards are returned in the order in which its owner chooses.


  1. If I have a Courser of Kruphix on the battlefield and I cast Brainstorm, what cards will my opponent see while and after the resolution of the spell?

He will see the three cards drawn, the following card to the third drawn and once the two cards are returned from my hand, he’ll be able to see the top card of the library. This is because drawing a card is an independent event, and as such it is performed one card at a time, but returning cards to the library is done in one action.


  1. If I have a Courser of Kruphix on the battlefield and I cast Ponder, what cards will my opponent see while and after the resolution of the spell?

While I look at the top three cards, the topmost card of the library hasn’t changed, so the opponent is able to see it, this is one of the three cards I look. After I return the cards to the library, the topmost card is revealed again, then, if I choose to shuffle, the top card is revealed one more time. After I take the draw, the top card is revealed.


  1. What cards are ‘outside of the game’?

Cards that aren’t in any of the eight zones.


  1. If I have a Karn Liberated and I exile a card of my opponent. Is it exiled face up or face down? What if I do it with a Chandra Pyromaster?

Since neither of the abilities specify how the card should be exiled, they are exiled face up in both cases.


  1. If I actívate a Deathrite Shaman targeting my Ancient Grudge and in response I cast the Ancient Grudge for its Flashback cost, what happens when the Shaman’s ability resolves?

The ability is countered while resolving as it lost the only target it had.


  1. If I cast Doom Blade targeting my opponent’s Primeval Titan, and he exiles it and returns it to the battlefield with Restoration Angel’s ability. What happens with Doom Blade?

When changing zones, permanents are considered different objects, the Titan targeted with Doom Blade and the one that exists when Doom Blade resolves isn’t the same. Doom Blade has lost its target and gets countered as a result.