Guilds of Ravnica Rulings clarifications

This document is created to clarify how policy should be interpreted in interactions with new Guilds of Ravnica cards.
This document is created based on the October 5th 2018 IPG and MTR, future changes of those documents may make ruling below outdated.

Current cards clarified:

  • Charnel Troll
  • Underrealm Lich
  • Dream Eater

Current abilities clarified:

  • Jumpstart

Current rules clarified:

  • Reversing decisions


Charnel Troll

If its upkeep triggered is missed, it does not fall into any of the three special Missed Trigger cases.

Since the templating is not “if you don’t” but “if you can’t”, this is not a default action and it does NOT get sacrificed.

Treat it as a regular Missed Trigger, giving the opponent the choice to put the ability on the stack or not (if noticed before the end of the next upkeep phase. Keep in mind that if it’s added to the stack, normal rules apply: The Troll’s controller can’t choose objects (creatures in graveyard) that would not have been legal choices when the ability should have triggered.

Underrealm Lich

If a player controlling Underrealm Lich forgets its ability and draws one or more card “normally”, this is not HCE (with one exception, see below) since the card was drawn legally and it did not need to be revealed. It’s therefore GRV. As for the remedy there are two cases:

Case 1: The top of the library was made of random (unknown) cards

Remedy: Move two cards from the top of the library to their owner’s graveyard, independently of the number of cards drawn.

Case 2: The top card(s) of the library are NOT random:

  • If only 1 card was drawn, apply the remedy for Case 1.
  • If only the top card was known to a player, apply the remedy for Case 1.
  • If more than 1 card is drawn (after appropriate investigation) AND the second card was known (due to Scry 2 or Teferi, Hero of Dominaria‘s second ability), this is HCE. Reveal the player’s hand and have the opponent choose the appropriate number of cards from hand to reconstruct the first set of three cards (adding a card from top of the library if necessary), then the player chooses one card to put in their hand and the rest in their graveyard.



If a player casts a spell using Jumpstart and draws cards before discarding (because the spell instructs you to draw a card or because of a triggered ability from casting the spell), unless there was an acknowledgement that the spell resolves by the opponent, this is HCE.

Even if this is an error in casting the spell and the draw happens later (when the spell or triggered resolves), there is no way the opponent can notice the casting player has failed to discard until this player draws a card.

Dream Eater

Dream eater’s return-to-hand ability is a covered by the IPG 2.1:

Abilities consisting of an action followed by “when you do” in the same ability are considered communicated by the announcement of the action. This is most commonly the case for exert and similar abilities.

By surveilling, the player is acknowledging the trigger and it can therefore no longer be missed. Judges should intervene if a target is not chosen, issuing GRV and FTMGS.


Reversing Decision

Reversing Decisions and Infractions

When a player commits an infraction and reverts the play according to the criteria on section MTR 4.8, apply no penalty.

Note that this requires that the player noticing the infraction themselves and taking it back before the opponent has a chance to react. Once the opponent starts pointing out the infraction; player has received new information and is no longer allowed to reverse their decision.

Reversing Decisions and Missed Triggers

If a player misses a triggered ability, but reverses the game back to the point prior it was missed (always following the rules on section MTR4.8), triggered can be acknowledged and added to the stack.

Document created by Alfonso Bueno with the invaluable help from Kevin Desprez and Toby Elliott.