GP Detroit Appeals Judge Report

Rules questions   Spreading Seas and Legendary lands   AP controls enchanted with . AP plays another Eye of Ugin. Spreading Seas changes (or adds) subtypes, making subsequently lose all abilities to the land it enchants and gain “Tap: Add U to your mana Pool”. However, it doesn’t change the name nor the supertype of the land it enchants. AP now has two Legendary permanents with the same name, and needs to send one to the graveyard.     Thought-Knot

Read more.

PT Atlanta Head Judge Report

  “When you have the impression that there is something wrong in a game, intervene first, and think later.”   There are quite a few sentences that are basic principles of Judging (another core principle can be found in the Judges of Note section of this article). Applying this one would have helped during game 4 of the Semi Finals opposing Luis Scott-Vargas to PT winner Jiachen Tao.   When Tao cast off a (helped by an ), he only had an Island and a left to pay for the

Read more.

GP Kobe 2015 HJ Report

Anafenza, the Foremost   Anafenza did raise quite a few questions in Kobe: First, Anafenza the Foresmost’s second ability doesn’t exile tokens, since it states “creature cards” and tokens definitely are not cards. Neither does she exile Magic Origins transformed Planeswalkers. Indeed, they are Planeswalkers as they leave the battlefield and, since Anafenza’s ability prevents cards from going to the graveyard, it needs to consider the card type in its previous zone.     Forgotten

Read more.

GP Madrid Appeals Judge Report

An investigation on passing priority   To some extent, this situation has similarities with those presented in my article about Handling Miscommunication. However, even if some concepts are common, it wasn’t close enough to make me confident it would not dilute the point, hence why it appears in this report rather than being part of the other article.     The situation   AP is at 13 and NAP is at 12. AP controls and three other creatures. AP casts

Read more.