Hellrider’s ability triggers when a creature attacks.

has an ability that triggers when a creature controlled by Hellrider's controller attacks (this includes Hellrider itself). Like similar 'whenever... attacks' abilities, this ability triggers when attacking creatures are declared, and will resolve before blocking creatures are chosen. It is important to note that once this ability triggers, it will still resolve no matter what happens to any of the creatures involved. Removing Hellrider and/or the attacking creature that caused this ability

Read more.

Helvault does not trigger ‘goes to the graveyard’ or ‘dies’ triggers.

has two activated abilities, both of which exile creatures. Exiling means to put a card into the exile zone. Creature that are exiled do not go to the graveyard and will not trigger relevant abilities that trigger when a creature dies (because 'dies' means 'is put into a graveyard from the battlefield,' and 'exile' is not a graveyard). For example, if an it exiled by one of Helvault's abilities, the triggered ability of the Elder Cathar will not trigger. Similarly, if a creature is exiled

Read more.

Pyreheart Wolf’s triggered ability is not cumulative.

has a triggered ability that makes it harder for your opponent's to block your attacking creatures. When Pyreheart Wolf attacks, its ability triggers. When this triggered ability resolves, it creates an effect that prevents your attacking creatures from being blocked by just one creature. This ability is not cumulative in any way. If two Pyreheart Wolves attack, both of their abilities will trigger and resolve independently. However, these two abilities to not create an increased effect.

Read more.

Don’t offer advice to someone during a game.

For events run at competitive or professional rules enforcement level, giving someone advice in a match is covered in the Magic Infraction Procedure Guide. It falls under the category 'Tournament Error - Outside Assistance' and the associated penalty is a match loss. This match loss is given to the player that either sought advice from someone outside the match or the player who gave advice to someone in another match (i.e., you can't force a match loss on a player who's in a match by giving them

Read more.

The card exiled by Fiend of Shadows is not free to cast.

has an ability that triggers when the Fiend deals combat damage to a player. When this ability resolves, the player that was dealt damage chooses and exiles a card from his or her hand. The controller of Fiend of Shadows can then play the exiled card. The effect that allows the controller of the Fiend to play the exiled card does not specify that they can do so without paying its mana cost. This means that in order to cast the card, all costs must be paid as normal. For example, if a copy

Read more.

How Fateful Hour works

Fateful Hour is an ability word. While the comprehensive rules do govern how these abilities work, there are not dedicated rules in the comprehensive rules about Fateful Hour. The specific workings of this mechanic are printed on the cards themselves. However, some additional rules knowledge about the mechanic can be useful. Fateful Hour 'works' when you have a life total of five or less. If your life total is six or more, then Fateful Hour abilities will not do anything. How Fateful Hour

Read more.

You can ‘steal’ more than one creature with Beguiler of Wills

has an activated ability that gives you control of a creature with power less than or equal to the number of creatures you control when the ability resolves. In order to play this ability, its target must be legal and you must have an appropriate number of creatures. This ability also checks when it resolves to make sure that this condition is still true. If it is, you will gain control of the targeted creature. There is no duration for this effect, so barring any other change of control effects,

Read more.

Drogskol Reaver allows you to draw when you gain life, but not for each point gained.

is jammed packed with abilities and it's last one (a triggered ability) is likely it's best. This ability triggers each time you gain life. When the ability resolves you draw a card. Gaining life means any time that your life total goes up. If your life goes up by more than one life at a time, it is still only one instance you you gaining life. For example, Drogskol Reaver itself will deal three points of combat damage. Because it has lifelink, this causes you to gain three life. However,

Read more.

When arranging a prize split or concession, it is best to call a judge for help.

The tournament tip last week was about offering prizes or other things in exchange for a result of a game or match, and how that will lead to a disqualification. It was mentioned that there is one exception: you can split prizes in the last round of a single elimination portion of an event. These two final players can choose to split the prizes as they like, and one of them can choose to drop from the event instead of playing this last round. The important thing to add is that it is best to

Read more.

Double-faced cards are face up when in your graveyard.

When in any zone other than the battlefield (and after having been transformed), double-faced cards have only the characteristics of their front face ('Day' side). While there is not a penalty associated with accidentally putting a double-faced card into another zone with the wrong face showing, doing so has the potential to create mistakes. For example, the Dark Ascension card cares about the number of creature cards you have in your graveyard, because the cost to cast it is lowered for each

Read more.