Glimmervoid and Inkmoth Nexus

Today we're continuing with the Modern Rules Tips! Since day one of the format, people have been jamming artifacts together for highly efficient aggro. Whether you call it Affinity or Robots or Tin Man All Star Band, the deck remains the same: Lots of artifacts getting turned sideways. The deck doesn't tend to have a lot of requirements for colored mana, but the requirements it DOES have are filled nicely by and , a card that has basically no drawbacks in a deck that'll constantly be choked with

Read more.

Melira and Inkmoth Nexus

Infect! Quite the polarizing mechanic in most areas, it was either considered laughably bad or stupidly broken depending on who you were talking to. It's gained some traction lately with eggs-in-one-basket rush decks, especially in Modern, and it's possible you might run into a Pod deck running and you want to know how it interacts with your guys. For the most part: badly. Melira will strip away their Infect, meaning they just do regular old normal damage to stuff. Your or will need to connect

Read more.

How Demonic Rising really works.

'Intervening if' clauses! Fun times. These are handy little things that can stop stuff from happening before it happens. They're always written as "When/whenever/at..., if SOMETHING IS TRUE, do something." These abilities check for "something is true" at two times: when the ability would trigger, and when it would resolve. The ability needs something to be true to trigger in the first place, and it needs that thing to still be true in order to resolve. An example is today's main card: . If you

Read more.

You can animate your Inkmoth Nexus in time to cast a miraculous Revenge of the Hunted on it.

More Miracles! A frequent question about Miracles with targets is WHEN they target. For today's question, more specifically, we'll look at and . I've heard a few people think that if you top-deck Revenge, you won't have 'time' to animate Nexus to get the buff. However, this is incorrect. You don't pick a target for your Revenge until you cast it, and you don't cast it until the Miracle trigger begins to resolve. So, all you do is draw it, show it to your opponent and put the Miracle trigger

Read more.

Effects that change a permanent’s characteristics only apply when the card is in play.

Effects like the one generated by , or all give a permanent an additional permanent type. It is important to note that these effects only apply while the affected permanent is on the battlefield. Once it leaves play, any of these effects will no longer apply to it. For example, if an Inkmoth Nexus is animated into an artifact creature and is dealt a point of damage, then this card will go to the graveyard. While in a graveyard, it will only be a land card. It cannot be targeted by something

Read more.

Animated lands ‘keep’ counters even when they don’t matter.

If a non-creature permanent becomes a creature and gains counters that only apply to creatures, these counters will remain on this permanent even when it is no longer a creature. For example, if an is animated by its own ability and it gets a +1/+1 counter from something like 's ability, those +1/+1 counters will remain on the Nexus. It does not matter that when the current turn ends the Nexus is no longer a creature. The counters will essentially not matter when the Nexus is not a creature.

Read more.

Sword of War and Peace deals damage when its trigger resolves, the creature it is equipped to does not.

When a creature equipped with deals combat damage to a player, its ability will trigger. When this triggered ability resolves, the Sword's controller will gain life equal to the number of cards in his or her hand and the player that received combat damage will be dealt damage equal to the number of cards in his or her hand. The source of this ability and the damage is from the Sword itself, not the creature that the Sword is attached to. It doesn't matter if the sword is equipped to a creature

Read more.

How Inkmoth Nexus and Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas interact.

One area of player confusion is how multiple abilities that 'animate' a permanent interact. A very common interaction that has come up a lot lately deals with ' animation ability and the planeswalker second activated ability. In order to get this ball rolling, you must first use Inkmoth Nexus' ability to turn the Nexus into a 1/1 artifact creature land with both flying and infect. This Nexus will still have the normal abilities of an Inkmoth Nexus, the mana ability and the 'animation' activated

Read more.