Effects that change a permanent’s characteristics only apply when the card is in play.

Effects like the one generated by , or all give a permanent an additional permanent type. It is important to note that these effects only apply while the affected permanent is on the battlefield. Once it leaves play, any of these effects will no longer apply to it. For example, if an Inkmoth Nexus is animated into an artifact creature and is dealt a point of damage, then this card will go to the graveyard. While in a graveyard, it will only be a land card. It cannot be targeted by something

Read more.

When effects are permanent.

Continuous effects are those that apply to objects, players or the rules of the games for some period of time. The majority of continuous effects have a specific duration. For example, generates two different continuous effects that both last for the remainder of the turn that the Act of Treason resolves. They change the control of the targeted creature and they give the targeted creature Haste. However there are instances where a continuous effect does not have a duration specified. In those

Read more.

How Inkmoth Nexus and Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas interact.

One area of player confusion is how multiple abilities that 'animate' a permanent interact. A very common interaction that has come up a lot lately deals with ' animation ability and the planeswalker second activated ability. In order to get this ball rolling, you must first use Inkmoth Nexus' ability to turn the Nexus into a 1/1 artifact creature land with both flying and infect. This Nexus will still have the normal abilities of an Inkmoth Nexus, the mana ability and the 'animation' activated

Read more.