Monstrous Onslaught (the monstrous rules headache!)

Hi everyone, it's Friday! Time for the weekend, but before we hit the weekend, we have one more tip for you today involving . So your opponent has a 5/5, and just cast the Onslaught to deal five damage among your creatures, and you're hoping to use to prevent that from happening. Unfortunately, your removal spell isn't going to protect you from this Onslaught. Monstrous Onslaught looks at the highest power among your creatures when you cast it, and using that number, tells you how much damage

Read more.

Peema Aether-Seer – How to benefit from “blocks if able” (and how you can’t)

Hi everyone, and welcome back. Today, we're going to talk about , and some good (and some bad) things that you can do when using her activated ability. Peema has an activated ability that forces a target creature to block this turn if able. It's only able to block if it could block. For instance, targeting a tapped creature is fairly pointless, since a tapped creature can't block. Likewise, if you use the ability on a creature without flying or reach, then attack with a creature with flying, since

Read more.

Blinking Greenwheel Liberator fuels itself

, like many revolt cards, packs potential if you can satisfy the cost. For the low, low cost of 1G, you can potentially have a 4/3 creature! But in order to get that 4/3 creature, you had to have a permanent you control leave the battlefield that turn. This may seem difficult for some, but there's some tricks you can use to ensure you get your 4/3 creature. Let's take a look at . The Maneuver exiles a creature and returns it to the battlefield. While many might think of this as a way to dodge

Read more.

Tournament Tip: MOAR BANS and how they work

In case you haven't heard, for the first time in a long time, we have some banned cards in Standard. As of January 20th, , , and are all banned in Standard. What does this mean? It means that you're not allowed to run any copies of those three cards in your Standard deck (main deck or sideboard). But just because they're banned in Standard doesn't mean they're not legal in other formats (unless they're also banned in those formats). For instance, if you're in a Modern tournament, you can still

Read more.

Fatal Push can punish you if you’re careless…

Hi everyone, and welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! If you read , its wording looks a little bit weirder than what you'd expect to see on a card of that type. Instead of being worded like , which can only target a creature with a converted mana cost of three or less, Fatal Push can actually target any creature, but will only destroy the creature if the creature has a converted mana cost of two or less (or four or less, if you've enabled revolt). What does this mean? Well, it means that Fatal

Read more.

NOT going infinite: Greenbelt Rampager

is the Rogue Elephant I always wanted as a kid but never had. It is a house of a creature for one mana, with one slight drawback. You can't keep it on the field unless you can pay the cost of two energy. There is another semi-drawback as well - if you have 2 energy, you have to pay the cost when it enters. There is no "may" so you cannot keep casting it and returning it to net energy by itself. If you wanted to do something like that, you would need an outlet to use the two energy before you cast

Read more.

Going Infinite: Wandering Fumarole and Crackdown Construct

Want to surprise your opponent with a combo out of nowhere? and just might be the combo for you. The combo begins in a deck that can reasonably produce red and blue mana. You'll want to play an early Fumarole, and later, the Construct. When it comes time to attack with your seemingly harmless 2/2, you activate the Fumarole's second ability to make it a creature, and then start activating its third ability over and over for 0 mana, flipping the power and toughness. Every time you do so (for 0

Read more.

Going Infinite: Saheeli Rai and Felidar Guardian

Finally! The combo everyone has been waiting for! (not exactly, but close) is back and in Standard. If you’re not familiar with the planeswalker , then you should probably check her out before you start building your standard deck. She is a three Converted Mana Cost (CMC) planeswalker that allows you to make a one-turn copy of a creature or artifact as soon as she enters by only using two loyalty. Independently, she is not that exciting, I'll admit. Then comes Aether Revolt, and with it, . When

Read more.

Going Infinite week! When and why you need to make a different choice.

I hope you're infinitely excited about this new set... I know I am! Today we're going to look into a different but important combo that teaches us a lesson about going infinite in Magic and why you must make a different choice at some point or the game ends in a draw. One situation involves two or more (BSC), , and . When you activate Grindstone's ability and there happens to be a Painter's Servant on the battlefield and there are two or more BSC in the deck you are attempting to mill, the game

Read more.

Going ‘Infinite’ week! A refresher on loop shortcuts.

Infinite possibilities in Kaladesh! Oh no! Looks like it's time to brush up on what happens when your cards create an infinite loop. Let us start with the old / combo that allows you to put an infinite amount of exarchs on the battlefield with haste to swing in for infinite damage. Active Player has a Deceiver Exarch on the battlefield. They then cast Splinter Twin, enchanting the Exarch. Once the twin has resolved, the Active player taps their exarch and makes a copy of it. When the copy enters

Read more.