Phantasmal Image will be sacrificed even if you counter the spell that targeted it.

The illusion creatures printed in Magic 2012— being the most notable—have a common characteristic.  They share a triggered ability that reads: "When [this creature] becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it."  Once one of these creatures is targeted, its sacrifice ability will trigger and that ability will go on the stack before any player gets priority.  The illusion will be sacrificed when that ability resolves, regardless of what happens to the spell/ability that targeted the

Read more.

Spellskite can’t save your Phantasmal Bear

, as great as it is, can’t save your illusionary creatures from evaporating into the mist. (Illusionary creatures being those creatures with the type 'Illusion' and the ability that triggers when they are targeted and causes you to sacrifice them.) When I target your with a , it will be sacrificed even after the Spellskite steps into the way. Creatures like Phantasmal Bear have a triggered ability that triggers and is put onto the stack before you even have a chance to activate Spellskite.

Read more.

Spellskite can change targets, it cannot change modes.

can’t change a spell or ability's modes (usually indicated by “choose one” or "choose two").  Modes are locked in when a spell or ability is put on the stack.  If is cast choosing the mode to "counter target artifact spell," Spellskite can’t change the target to itself, because the mode to "return target artifact to its owner's hand" wasn't chosen and Spellskite is not an artifact spell (while it's on the battlefield).  The same is true for modal abilites, such as with the Exarch

Read more.

If you enchant Spellskite with Canopy Cover, you’re being overprotective.

While a you control is enchanted by your , it can't change the target of spells or abilities your opponents control to itself.  This follows the theme for this week.  The final set of targets must be legal.  So it may not be the best choice to use Canopy Cover on your own Spellskite if your intent is to redirect your opponent's spells and abilities towards it.  However, you could still redirect a spell or ability you control to Spellskite.  For example, if you tried to equip another creature

Read more.

Spellskite can’t be targeted by the same spell or ability twice.

When a spell or ability asks for multiple targets while only using the word "target" once, you must choose different targets.  Some spells use the word "target" more than once, but specify "another target," and the same concept applies. In the case of 's triggered ability, the number of targets chosen is locked in when its controller puts that ability on the stack.  If two or three targets are chosen, they must be different targets.  can never force itself to be more than one of those targets,

Read more.

At Competitive REL, judges can only answer the question you ask–not the one you meant to ask.

Today for week we are going to be looking at a tournament interaction regarding the card, and what judges can and cannot do to help. “Can I use Spellskite’s ability on my opponent’s equip ability?” Since the targeting restriction for Spellskite’s ability is simply “target spell or ability,” the answer is technically “Yes.” You can activate the ability targeting any spell or ability, whether or not that spell or ability has targets, and whether or not the ability would do anything

Read more.

Spellskite can’t steal your opponent’s equipment.

First of all, welcome to week. This week we will be looking at five different rule tips and interactions involving a deceptively complex new card from New Phyrexia. All of the posts this week were submitted by Josh Stansfield.   As awesome as Spellskite can be, he can never convince the game that he's your opponent's creature (unless, of course, your opponent takes control of him).  The Equip keyword means this: "Attach this equipment to target creature you control. Activate this ability only

Read more.

Spellskite and equip abilities.

, a new card from New Phyrexia, has an activated ability that allows you to change a target of a targeted spell or ability to the Spellskite itself. While it is possible to use Spellskite's ability and target any spell or ability on the stack that can be targeted, Spellskite's ability does not always end up changing targets. Spellskite cannot make the target of a spell or ability illegal. If when Spellskite's ability resolves the Spellskite would be an illegal target, then the target is not changed. One

Read more.