Welcome to your August issue of Magic Judge Monthly! I know we say this every month the last few months, but we have something new we’re trying out! Feature sections! We’re hoping to highlight important or new things within the program- and having a feature for some of the sections to show off new or important blogs, or important rules or news is something we hope you’ll enjoy!
Check out the Documents and Community Sections this month for the first ones!
The Program Coordinators Blog has put out an update as to who has submitted applications and their answers to a few questions. To see who has applied, their accomplishments, and what their views are of the future of the program, follow this link.
Wave 15 has opened for Exemplar Recommendations.
This blog post discusses the recent changes and the data they have from their implementation.
Are you interested in being a Regional Coordinator? Are you a Level 3 or very strong Level 2? If you had any interest on how to process is going and to see if your region is available for application, the requirements for approval, and who has applies at this point follow the link. (Note: the application cut-off has at the point of publication closed.)
Judge Articles and Blog Posts from August 2018
The Feature for this month-
if you missed it in the opening announcement: USA Northwest: The Northwest Passage!
- Program Coordinator Blog: Program Coordinator Travel Diary – Issue #4, Program Coordinator Q&A August 2018
- Judge cast:JudgeCast #206 – Commander 2018 Mechanics, JudgeCast #207 – Policy Discussables, JudgeCast #208 – Getting Loopy with Toby Elliott
- JudgeApps Help and Updates: JudgeApps Updates – July 2018
- Travel Guides: GP Orlando, GP Stockholm 2018
- Regional Blogs:
New articles in: German Speaking Countries
Judging in the North!
Canadian Judge Family
Regional Blog for USA – Southwest!
USA Great Lakes Judges
Europe – East regional blog
Juízes de Magic Brasil
The Judges of Southeast Asia
USA – Southeast Regional Blog
More judge blogs can be found at the Judge Blog Portal.
Do you need a quick rules or policy answer? Ask a Magic Judge!
Program coordinator Q&A – Special Feature!!
Our feature for this month in Community, the program coordinators held a Q&A through e-mail. If you missed out posting a question in the forums, you can at least still read their responses HERE to some of the questions.
Congratulations to all of our Judge of the Week — August 2018
269:Exemplar Wave 13, Part 1
271:Exemplar Wave 13, Part 2
Welcome to the Fold:
A big welcome to the following judges who worked their first GP in August 2018!
GP Los Angeles
Questions asked in the Month of July and an [O]fficial answer, just for you!1. A player casts Soulflayer, exiling a Knight of Malice from his graveyard to pay for Delve costs. When the Soulflayer enters the battlefield, will it have Hexproof?
A: It will have Hexproof from White! It won’t have “general” Hexproof unless it exiles something with “general” Hexproof.
Approved by Callum Milne
A: This player’s opponent will face the tremendous power of Brisela, Voice of Nightmares! When this player exiles both Hanweir Garrison and Hanweir Battlements, the game checks if they make a melded pair. Since they are no longer on the battlefield, they become Bruna and Gisela again, two cards that make a melded pair, so they return to the battlefield melded as Brisela!
Approved by Nathan Long
A: This is treated as a GPE – Hidden Card Error. “It is HCE when a player creates a set, with the intention of creating a set, but the set ends up with too many cards in it. Notice that there is no need to draw cards, the infraction is not called Drawing Extra Cards for a very good reason. Tezzeret, Artifice Master’s second ability reads: Draw a card. If you control three or more artifacts, draw two cards instead. The player was instructed to make a set of 1 card, then add that set to their hand. Instead, they put 2 cards in the set they wanted to add to the hand. So, this is HCE, we reveal the 2 cards from this set, opponent chooses 1 to draw and 1 to be shuffled away.”
Approved by Scott Marshall
Cards: Tezzeret, Artifice Master
A. If Xantcha, Sleeper Agent is entering the battlefield, the player who’s putting it onto the battlefield must choose to give control of it to one of their opponents using its control-changing effect. When that opponent leaves the game, the control-change effect giving them control of Xantcha ends. When that happens, Xantcha returns to the control of its previous controller: the player who was making the choice of who to give it away to. That’s usually going to be Xantcha’s owner.
If Xantcha, Sleeper Agent is entering the battlefield, the player who’s putting it onto the battlefield must choose to give control of it to one of their opponents using its control-changing effect. When that opponent leaves the game, the control-change effect giving them control of Xantcha ends. When that happens, Xantcha returns to the control of its previous controller: the player who was making the choice of who to give it away to. That’s usually going to be Xantcha’s owner.
Approved by Callum Milne
Cards: Xantcha, Sleeper Agent
A: “AP’s Fated Infatuation token is and will always be a Carnage Tyrant…barring intervention from the players, of course. (AP could, after all, cast another Rush and turn it into something else temporarily, or Nick could cast Mirrorweave, or they could do any of a million other things to change it.)
When you copy something that’s been turned into a copy of something else, you’re not separately copying both the original card and the effect that’s turning it into a copy of something else. What you’re copying is only the copiable values of that card. Those values happen to have already been modified by the other copy effect, so the values you receive are the modified ones.
Once Polymorphous Rush’s effect wears off during the cleanup step, there’s no longer anything saying that the Grizzly Bears is a Tyrant, so it’s not one anymore, but the Fated Infatuation token is still a Tyrant, because those are the values it copied–the fact that it’d look different if you copied the same permanent with something else now doesn’t matter.
This is explicitly laid out in the rules for copying objects:
706.2b Once an object has been copied, changing the copiable values of the original object won’t cause the copy to change”
Approved by Callum Milne
New Judge Booth content
Thanks to the work of some tireless contributors, we now have new content for M19 and Dominaria available on the Judge Booth!
Judge Program Organizational Chart
The Magic Comprehensive Rules document has been updated. The last version, for August 10th 2018, can be found on Wizards’ website and on DCIRules.org. Since this is the update that goes with Commander 2018, there is no Update Bulletin. Surely there will be some comments with the Guilds of Ravnica update!
Find out which Judge Conferences, Grand Prix and SCG Opens have available worldwide staffing positions! You still have some time to apply for GP Portland, GP Liverpool, SCG Open Philadelphia, SCG Open Dallas and SCG Open Charlotte.
Check out the Grand Prix Solicitations and Select Staffs for more details on individual tournaments and to know if there are some last minute solicitations you can apply to!
Public Projects such as Magic Judge Articles 2018 Update are looking for awesome judges who can help! If you wish to get more out of your Judging experience and give back to the community, sign up for something that interests you!
Sugar on Top!
Recently, Dustin de Leeuw ran a task token game at GP Prague! Here’s what he had to say about it!