You are watching Angela and Nefertiti play their match in a Standard GPT. Angela controls Myth Realized with 2 counters represented by a die. She casts Divination, grabs two cards off the top of her library, taps a Plains, rolls her die to 3, and declares Myth Realized as an attacking creature. Nefertiti looks up at you and says, “Judge? Didn’t she miss that trigger?”

What do you do?

Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

As most of you correctly determined, this is Out of Order Sequencing. Although there was a recent update to the trigger policy that requires visible changes, such as the placement of counters on permanents, to be performed at the appropriate time, this does not override a player’s ability to use Out of Order Sequencing.

We have a batch of actions here with a very clear end state: a counter placed, two cards drawn, Myth Realized activated and attacking. Angela has reached this end state successfully, although she didn’t get there in quite the correct sequence. One potential sticking point is that cards were drawn too early. The MTR says “An out-of-order sequence must not result in a player prematurely gaining information which could reasonably affect decisions made later in that sequence.” Notably, although information was prematurely gained by drawing, the two cards drawn could not reasonably affect Angela’s desire to pump her Myth Realized. (Here “reasonably” means that although it is perhaps theoretically possible to construct a scenario where the cards drawn may impact whether a counter should be placed, these scenarios are rare, unrealistic, and not applicable to the game being played.)

No infraction, no penalty. Angela keeps the counter she put on Myth Realized. The players play on.