Dark Coffeedant

You are a floor judge on Day 1 of a Grand Prix, and round 3 just started. Alvaro pulls his playmat out of his backpack and sets it next to his coffee, which gets accidentally knocked over and spills on his deck. He calls for a judge immediately, and you take the call at 2 minutes into the start of the round. Alvaro tells you, "I just spilled coffee on my deck and I'm going to need new sleeves. Can I go buy them?" You tell him yes. 9 minutes later (11 minutes into the round), Alvaro returns with his

Read more.

Mystic Snakes on a Plane

You are the Head Judge of a Eternal Masters Sealed Grand Prix Trial and are watching over one of the last games in Round 1. In Armin's pre-combat main phase, he casts Rorix Bladewing. Nate exiles a Giant Tortoise from his hand and pays 1 life to cast his brand-new, pack-fresh, foil Force of Will, targetting Armin's Rorix Bladewing. Armin picks up the foil Force of Will, looks directly at Nate, smirks and says ”You are one lucky motherf****r." before carefully setting the card back down on his playmat

Read more.

A Leap Too Far

Amy and Nicholas are playing at a Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier. During Amy's turn, she activates 's ability, revealing the top 3 cards one at a time, revealing a Forest, a and an . Amy laughs and points at the Duskwatch Recruiter, saying she was thinking about its ability when she started flipping the 3rd card. Both players call for a judge. During the investigation, you discover that Amy has resolved a earlier in the game, and put 4 cards on the bottom of her library. What do you do? Judges,

Read more.

Something borrowed, something blue

You are a floor judge of a Standard PPTQ. During a deck check, you find that Arnold has some other cards in the deck box with the sideboard that are not on his decklist. You find 4 and 4 in blue sleeves. Arnold is playing a Blue-White deck in green sleeves. After investigating, you find out those are cards he lent a friend that has dropped, and you exclude Cheating. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

It was this one!

You are the Head Judge of a Modern PPTQ. Anthony controls . After combat he activates its second ability, looks at the top four cards of his library for some seconds. Finally he says "I'll take the creature," and puts one card into his hand without revealing and the rest on the bottom of his library. Norman stops him and says, "Hey, you should have revealed me that card. Judge!" When you get to the table, they tell you what happened, and Anthony shows you his hand with a and a , and tells

Read more.

Cutting through the Grizzle

Aaron is playing against Nilanthi during a Legacy Grand Prix Trial, and controls a face-down creature and a . During Aaron's declare attackers step, Nilanthi casts targeting . Aaron responds by paying 's morph cost and turning it face up. Aaron puts the Grizzly Bears into the graveyard and says "trigger?" Nilanthi casts in response, putting two creatures onto the battlefield. After Collected Company has resolved, Aaron passes the turn to Nilanthi, who realizes during her draw step, after she has

Read more.

The Highest Form of Flattery

Aang is playing against Naya in a Standard PPTQ. Aang controls an and casts a . Aang asks if he can go to attacks, which Naya confirms. Aang declares the Mimic as an attacker, and Naya blocks with her . Aang says, "Ok, damage, yours dies," to which Naya responds, "No, yours dies. Judge!" What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Sudden Death

You are the Head Judge of a Standard PPTQ. Albert casts to kill Nathan's and , then ends his turn. Nathan untaps, draws and looks at his lands to cast a , when he finds his between his lands and realizes the error. They call you. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Sticky toppings can get messy

You are head judging a Competitive Vintage event. Anthony calls you to his table. He is holding two cards and says: "I just drew for the turn and these two were stuck together, but I know the order of the top of my deck." He points at his . "This is the card I should not have drawn." He shows you an Island. You investigate. Barnabus, his opponent, says he didn't notice Anthony drawing two cards at once and that both cards were in his hand with some other cards when he called you. After you make sure

Read more.

Die Another Day

"Lightning Bolts don't kill creatures... State-based actions kill creatures." - The CR You are a floor judge in a Modern Competitive event, where Angus is playing against Neil. The only cards in their graveyards are a and a . At the beginning of combat, Neil casts targeting Angus's , saying, "Bolt your Goyf." Angus puts Tarmgoyf in the graveyard. After combat, Angus casts another Tarmogoyf, at which point they realize they made a mistake with the first one and call for a judge. What do

Read more.