Ambidecksterity

Abagail is playing in a sealed PPTQ. She sits down for game 1 of her match, grabs a pile of roughly 40 sleeved cards out of her deck box, shuffles, and presents to her opponent. Upon drawing her opening hand, she immediately calls a judge and explains that this is her sideboard. She has several other sets of cards sleeved for quick sideboarding, and she just grabbed the wrong pile from her deck box.

 

Judges feel free to submit your answer here!

Answer
Coming Soon

Re-Stacked and Re-Pact

Arthur and Neil are playing in a Modern PPTQ. At the end of Arthur’s turn, Neil taps out to cast Peer Through Depths. Arthur responds with Dispel. Neil responds with Pact of Negation. Arthur thinks for a moment, then casts Spell Pierce.

Neil pauses, says “Ah, nuts…” then puts his spells in his graveyard. Arthur does the same.

Neil untaps and draws for his turn.

Arthur says, “You didn’t pay for Pact.”
Neil replies, “You Spell Pierced it.”
“No, I Pierced the Peer Through Depths.”
“Judge!”

What do you do?

Answer
Since Arthur didn’t state he was targeting Peer Through Depths with Spell pierce, he is assumed to be targeting Pact of Negation as per MTR 4.2. Nothing happened that would result in a warning or back-up, educate the players about the Tournament Shortcut and the need to be clear in communicating intended game actions, and have the players continue.

Please submit your responses here: https://goo.gl/forms/8gNSnVlDI0r9E8Yq1

About to get Domi-nated

August is playing against November at your Modern PPTQ, it’s a third game of the final match. November controls several creatures, he has no cards in hand, 1 life and is fully tapped out. August controls 8 lands, he has 3 cards in hand and 1 life. August casts Domri Rade, activates its +1 ability, looks at the top card of his library for a moment, then grabs it and puts it into his hand. November is about to stop him, but it’s too late. Both players immediately call a judge. August has 2 Mountains, and a Keldon Marauders in hand. What do you do?

 

 

Submit your answers here: https://goo.gl/forms/8gNSnVlDI0r9E8Yq1

Answer
August receives a Warning for Hidden Card Error. August shows his hand to November. November picks a card, and returns it to the top of August’s library. After this August performs the action again and may show the card. If November choses to pick a mountain to put on top of the library it will stay there.

One Probe, Two Spells, Red Land, Blue Cards

During a Legacy Open run at Competitive REL, Amon casts Gitaxian Probe paying 2 life and targeting Nikki, who responds with Brainstorm. Amon casts Counterspell targeting the Brainstorm. Nikki responds by casting Daze, returning his Volcanic Island to his hand leaving his board empty. As Nikki is resolving Brainstorm, Amon says “Go,” so Nikki untaps and draws for his turn. At this point Amon realizes the Probe was never resolved and calls a judge. What do you do?

Submit your solutions here: https://goo.gl/forms/8gNSnVlDI0r9E8Yq1

Answer
Amon receives a Warning for Game Rule Violation, and Nikki a Warning for Failure to Maintain Game State. Back the game up to the point where Gitaxian Probe is the only object on the stack. When backing up Nikki’s draw step, choose a random card, Volcanic Island is not excluded as it could have been returned with Brainstorm.

The Second Sting Hurts the Most

Alan and Nathan are playing in a Kaladesh/AEther Revolt Limited PPTQ. Alan casts a Foundry Hornet, then attacks with an Eager Construct that has a +1/+1 counter on it. Nathan controls his own Eager Construct, but chooses not to block with it. During his second main phase, Alan casts a second Foundry Hornet.

Alan looks at this hand for a few seconds, then says “Umm… I guess it’s… WAIT!” He then reads Foundry Hornet again. “Your Eager Construct dies.” Nathan calls you to the table and explains that the first trigger is missed, since it wasn’t mentioned during first main phase or combat. When you ask Alan, he tells you he forgot about Foundry Hornet’s trigger and didn’t realize until he played a second one.

Yes, we know that Kaladesh/AEther Revolt isn’t the current PPTQ format. You can ignore that when giving your answers.
Submit your answer here!

Answer
While Alan does appear to have forgotten one of his triggers, he has not missed the opportunity to acknowledge it, as the first time it is relevant to the game state is now. Treat the first Foundry Hornet trigger as resolved, and the second as still on the stack, Nathan can respond if he would like. Eager Construct will die when it resolves if nothing else happens. There is no infraction, as no triggers were missed.

Seeing Red

Anubis and Nefertiti are playing in an Amonkhet Sealed PPTQ. Anubis controls Hazoret’s Favor and Bloodrage Brawler. During his precombat main phase, Anubis casts and resolves Hyena Pack, then asks, “Can I declare my attackers?”
Nefertiti says, “Sure.”
Anubis taps the Bloodrage Brawler and the Hyena Pack and says, “Trigger. My Hyena Pack has haste and 2 extra power.” Nefertiti disagrees that the Hyena Pack should be allowed to attack and calls a judge.

What do you do?

Submit your answer here!

Answer

 

Following the most recent policy changes in the Magic Tournament Rules, this is not a missed trigger situation. Anubis has not committed an infraction, as per MTR section 4.2, in part:
“If the active player passes priority during their first main phase, the non-active player is assumed to be acting in beginning of combat unless they are affecting how or whether a beginning of combat ability triggers. However, if the non-active player takes no action, the active player has priority at the beginning of combat. Beginning of combat triggered abilities (even ones that target) may be announced after any non-active player action has resolved.”
Thus Anubis is allowed to communicate his target for Hazoret’s Favor after he passes priority to the opponent in the beginning of combat step. Nefertiti may interrupt Anubis’ shortcut if she wishes to, including with the Favor trigger on the stack. Otherwise, the Hyena Pack has +2/+0 and haste, and is attacking Nefertiti.

Slippery Serpopard

Arf and Nance are playing in a PPTQ. They are drawing their opening hands. While dealing out the cards face down, Arf notices one of Nance’s cards is sitting next to his own foot face down. He immediately calls you to the table and explains that he must have dropped it while shuffling. He had fumbled the cards a bit while shuffling, but he thought he had caught them all. When you pick up the card, it is a Prowling Serpopard, a card in Nance’s deck. What do you do?

 

Submit your answer here!

Answer

Arf receives a warning for Looking at Extra Cards. While Arf probably didn’t see the face of the card or gain any additional information, he may have, so it fits the definition for Looking at Extra Cards. Any time a player might have seen the face of a card they weren’t entitled to see by their own action, Looking at Extra Cards applies.

Shuffle the extra card into Nance’s library and then have the players finish drawing opening hands.

Blood Moon over Ravnica

Abel is playing against Neil at a local Modern 1k. Abel calls you over and says that he and Neil just realized that Niel’s Stomping Ground is no longer a forest because of Abel’s Blood Moon, but they both forgot to put Niel’s Utopia Sprawl enchanting it into the graveyard several turns ago when Blood Moon resolved. What do you do?

We are now accepting submissions of solutions for Bronze scenarios, the best of which will be published with the answer next week. Submit here!

 

Answer

Our first answer is from Bernie Hoelschen “This should result in a GPE: GRV for the Abel (when Blood Moon resolved, the target for Utopia Sprawl became illegal since it is now a Mountain and should have been placed in the graveyard), but this also results in a GPE: FTMGS for Neil, since he did not point out the rule violation. The game rule is still actively being broken since Blood Moon is still in play, so move Utopia Sprawl to the graveyard and issue the appropriate infraction (assuming no prior penalties, Warnings for both).”

Bernie correctly identifies the fix here: we need to put this Utopia Sprawl into Niel’s Graveyard. Game Rules Violation allows us to apply this as a partial fix of a missed zone change. Even if we don’t apply that partial fix, State-Based Actions will apply, and Utopia Sprawl will make its way to the graveyard.

As for penalties, Max Tiedemann suggests GPE-GRV for both players. The Utopia Sprawl is in an incorrect zone. It should be in the graveyard but it is on the battlefield. Abel cast Blood Moon and Niel did not move the Utopia Sprawl from the Mountain to the graveyard. Fix: put the Utopia Sprawl in the correct zone (graveyard). This is clearly GPE-GRV for Abel, as his spell caused the error, but there is quite the split on F2MGS for Neil, or to issue two Game Rules Violations. The IPG is a bit unclear, and we can issue double GRV if we believe that both players were responsible for the error. We come down on the side of Failure to Maintain Game State for Neil, but issuing GRVs to both players is defendable.

A Terribly Tricky Traversal

Amiee is playing against Nico at a Competitive Standard 1k. Aimee casts Traverse the Ulvenwald, searches for a card, and puts it into her hand. Nico points out that she didn’t reveal, and calls for a judge. At this point, Aimee realizes that she didn’t actually have delirium, and tells you that she couldn’t have searched for the card that she did. Looking at Aimee’s hand, you see that she does not have any basic lands there. What do you do?

Thanks for your readership of Knowledge Pool. We are now accepting submissions of solutions for Bronze scenarios, the best of which will be published with the answer next week.

Submit your answer here!

Answer
Aimee receives a warning for Hidden Card Error. Have Aimee reveal her hand, and Nico chooses 1 card as the card that was searched for. Since that card isn’t a basic land, treat it as excess and shuffle it into Aimee’s library. Then have Aimee resolve Traverse the Ulvenwald correctly, searching for a basic land.

Gideon’ Up

Ariel is playing against Nick at a Standard PPTQ. Ariel controls a Gideon, Ally of Zendikar, a Selfless Spirit, and an Archangel Avacyn. Ariel draws her card for the turn and considers her hand for a moment. Eventually she taps her Selfless Spirit and pushes forward her Avacyn. Then she ticks up Gideon and taps it, saying, ”attack with all my creatures, animate Gideon, and attack with him too.” Nick calls for a judge. When you arrive to the table Nick explains, “Ariel tried to animate her Gideon during declare attackers, it can’t attack.” What do you do?

 

Judges feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

 

Answer
Players are allowed to perform a block of actions that are technically incorrect as long as those actions end in a legal game state and aren’t used by the player to gain information prematurely. There weren’t any pauses in Ariel’s line, she went directly from her mainphase to attacking with her Gideon without verbalizing some kind of shortcut that would offer priority to Nick

Issue no penalties and inform the players that if Nick has a response to Gideon’s activation he may have Ariel perform her batch of actions in the correct order. OoOS does not deny players a chance to respond, it is simply a way to progress the game in a natural and timely manner. We don’t have to back up the game every time an opponent is confused about OoOS, but if they have a response it is the player’s right to request the actions be done in order.