A Confusing Copying Conundrum

Alex is playing against Nicky in your local MCQ. Alex casts from their graveyard, and Nicky responds by casting the Expansion half of . Alex Attempts to the Expansion, but Nicky has a counterspell of his own, responding with . The players resolve everything, but Alex puts the Chemister's Insight into their graveyard. In the confusion, Nicky correctly draws their cards from their copy of Chemister's Insight, but Alex forgets to. Nicky starts their turn, plays a land, casts . They then realize

Read more.

Parter of Fails

Amandine and Nougat are playing in an MCQ, where you are the head judge. Nougat controls  and . Last turn, Nougat activated Teferi's -3 ability targeting Amandine's , putting it 3rd from the top of Amandine's library. This turn, Amandine has drawn a card, and cast . While resolving , Amandine scries a card to the bottom and draws a card. Amandine then plays  untapped. Nougat then points out that Amandine wasn't supposed to draw for the and calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges

Read more.

Self-Sabotage

Allison and Newton are playing in an MCQ, where you are the Head Judge. Allison controls two . She activates both of her Daring Saboteurs and attacks Newton with them. After combat damage, Allison points at her attackers, announces “Draw two. Discard two.”, picks up two cards from her library and, before NAP can stop her, adds them to her hand. NAP calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Miss-Cliqued

You’re the head judge of a local modern PPTQ. At the end of Ned’s turn Alfie casts , targeting Ned with the triggered ability, it resolves and Alfie chooses to have Ned discard . On Alfie’s turn in his pre-combat main phase he casts another , again targeting Ned with the triggered ability. The Clique’s ability resolves, and Ned chooses to have Alfie discard . Ned reminds Alfie that the Clique is legendary, and as Alfie is putting his one of his Cliques in his graveyard, he rereads it

Read more.

Broken Oath

Annie is playing against Nick at a Modern PPTQ. Annie plays Oath of Nissa, it resolves, and she picks up the top 3 cards of her library and thinks for a few seconds. Finally, she says “I’ll take the creature,” and puts one card into her hand and the rest on the bottom of her library. Norman stops Annie and says, “You should have revealed that card. Judge!” When you get to the table, they tell you what happened, and Annie shows you her hand with a and a , and tells you she picked

Read more.

Monastery Swift-guide

Argus is playing against Neferian in round 3 of a Modern PPTQ. Neferian mulligans, keeps his 6 card hand and scrys to the top. Argus starts the first turn of the game, plays a , casts  and attacks. Neferian flips the top card his deck thinking Argus has played a . Argus immediately calls a judge and explains what happened. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Extreme Exploration

Adelaide is playing in a Standard PPTQ, and casts , which resolves. They point out the explore trigger, and it resolves. They set their hand face-down in front of them, and pick up the top card of their deck to look at. As they do, the second card in their deck flicks off the top of the deck, and slides into their hand, still face down. The players don't touch anything and call for a judge. What do you do?   Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Don’t Draw Conclusions too Quickly

Ansel is playing against Nigel in a Modern PPTQ. Ansel plays a , then plays and attacks with a  and says “trigger, then its your go”, Nigel adjusts his live total, then reveals a Fiery Conclusion and then puts it into his hand. Nigel untaps his only land, then draws a card. Both players immediately realize the error and call for a judge, and explain exactly what happened. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps.

Read more.

Your Authority has been Revoked

Adam is playing against Nadine at a Modern PPTQ. Adam says "I'll you, then cast " and puts both cards on the table. Nadine has no responses, and Adam sees Nadine's hand of , , and two . Adam says “I'll take the Relic, then name Inkmoth.” Three turns later, Nadine plays a , activates Liliana's +1 ability, and both players discard a card. Adam discards another copy of , and then realizes that it can't name land cards, so he calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on

Read more.