You’re the Head and only judge of a Standard PPTQ. August is playing against November during the third game of the final match. August controls and has 2 cards in hand. August activates Nissa's +1 ability, looks at the top card of his library for a moment, then puts it into his hand. November is about to stop him, but it's too late. Both players immediately call a judge. August shows you that he has 2 Mountains and a in hand. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on
Category: Drawing Extra Cards
A pound of the cure
Angela and Nigel are playing in a Modern Masters 2015 sealed PPTQ. Angela taps out to cast with X=5, targeting Nigel's . Nigel says, "Sure." As Nigel is reaching for his Swans, Angela grabs the top five cards of her library and puts them into her hand. Nigel immediately raises his hand, "Woah! Judge!" What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
At a local standard PPTQ you are the only judge, Anise is playing against Nutmeg. On Anise's turn, she draws a and plays it, laying her hand down in a single stack next to her library. As she is scrying the top card, she sets it down on the table to think about it. Nutmeg notices that she actually put it directly on top of her hand. Anise calls a judge when this is pointed out. Nutmeg tells you, "Judge, on my turn, I d her and wrote down everything,” (he shows you his notes) "and I know she just
You are the head and only judge of a Modern format Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier when two players call you to their table and explain what has happened. Nathan drew his card for turn. With just a and lands on the battlefield, Nathan said “Bolt you twice” and put two s on the table. He then says “Ascendancy”, draws two cards, plays a land from his hand and passes turn while putting the Lightning Bolts into the graveyard. Alice then untapped and drew her card for the turn when she realized
Horse of Greed
You are the head judge of PPTQ. Anna has a in play. Both Anna and Nicole are playing quickly due to it being near the end of time in the round. While watching the match, you see Anna untap, play the revealed land from the top of her library, and draw for her turn. She then records that she gained 1 life from the Courser of Kruphix trigger. Nicole immediately calls for a Judge. Assuming no cheating has occurred, what do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
Shock and Draw
Arjun and Nadia are playing in a Modern GPT. Arjun controls . Nadia has a single card in her hand: . During Arjun's end step, Nadia casts Quicken, then draws and casts targeting the Spirit and Arjun. Arjun says, "Sure, still done," then notes his life total change and puts Spirit in his graveyard. Nadia draws a card and untaps her lands. Then she looks at her new card and draws again. Arjun stops her at this point and calls a judge. Nadia tells you she thought the Spirit was dead before
Temple of Beats, the bad ones
During day 2 of a Grand Prix while playing against Naomi, Ashton plays his land for turn, a . Ashton picks up the top card, looks at it, sets it back down on the table. Ashton thinks, and then picks up the card and puts it into his hand. Naomi immediately calls for a judge. What is the most appropriate infraction, penalty, and any additional fix? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
Better late than never
Abel is playing in a Standard PTQ. He controls a , which he untaps at start of his turn. He then immediately draws a card for his turn. He pauses for a second, says, "Oh!" points to his Pain Seer, then reveals the top card of his library, which is a Swamp. He says "Swamp. Lose zero," and puts it in his hand. At this point, his opponent Nancy calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!
Chronicler of Uh-Ohs
Apple and Nectarine are playing at a PTQ. Apple controls a with a +1/+1 counter on it. He casts and says "Trigger both guys." Nectarine replies, "Before she evolves, kill her with ." "Sure. Take 3. Draw for the Chronicler?" "Sure." Apple draws his card, then looks down and realizes that the doesn't have a creature with a +1/+1 counter anymore. "Uh oh. Judge!" Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!