Stolen Breath

Agustin is playing against Neal at a Legacy Grand Prix. Agustin controls , and each player has three cards in hand. Neal untaps and draws for his turn, and immediately passes. Agustin untaps and draws, then Neal notices that they each forgot to reveal the last card they drew for Breathstealer's Crypt, and calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!

Read more.

A Confusing Copying Conundrum

Alex is playing against Nicky in your local MCQ. Alex casts from their graveyard, and Nicky responds by casting the Expansion half of . Alex Attempts to the Expansion, but Nicky has a counterspell of his own, responding with . The players resolve everything, but Alex puts the Chemister's Insight into their graveyard. In the confusion, Nicky correctly draws their cards from their copy of Chemister's Insight, but Alex forgets to. Nicky starts their turn, plays a land, casts . They then realize

Read more.

Miss-Cliqued

You’re the head judge of a local modern PPTQ. At the end of Ned’s turn Alfie casts , targeting Ned with the triggered ability, it resolves and Alfie chooses to have Ned discard . On Alfie’s turn in his pre-combat main phase he casts another , again targeting Ned with the triggered ability. The Clique’s ability resolves, and Ned chooses to have Alfie discard . Ned reminds Alfie that the Clique is legendary, and as Alfie is putting his one of his Cliques in his graveyard, he rereads it

Read more.

Don’t Draw Conclusions too Quickly

Ansel is playing against Nigel in a Modern PPTQ. Ansel plays a , then plays and attacks with a  and says “trigger, then its your go”, Nigel adjusts his live total, then reveals a Fiery Conclusion and then puts it into his hand. Nigel untaps his only land, then draws a card. Both players immediately realize the error and call for a judge, and explain exactly what happened. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps.

Read more.

Your Authority has been Revoked

Adam is playing against Nadine at a Modern PPTQ. Adam says "I'll you, then cast " and puts both cards on the table. Nadine has no responses, and Adam sees Nadine's hand of , , and two . Adam says “I'll take the Relic, then name Inkmoth.” Three turns later, Nadine plays a , activates Liliana's +1 ability, and both players discard a card. Adam discards another copy of , and then realizes that it can't name land cards, so he calls for a judge. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on

Read more.

Not So Fast, Mr. Monstrasaur!

Ames is playing against Netty at an Ixalan Sealed PPTQ. Netty is tapped out when Ames untaps on his turn 5. Ames draws for turn, then immediately uses one hand to tap his 4 lands, and the other to put a land and a  into play, both tapped and saying “Attack for 5”. Netty says “I guess I take the 5.” As life totals are being adjusted, Netty notices that the land Ames played was a , and calls for a judge. When you ask Ames, he says that he was playing quickly to conserve time, and

Read more.

Not all Gideons are Allies

Abel is playing in a Standard PPTQ against Nick. Abel taps 4 , declares ‘Cast ’, and puts a card from his hand onto the table. He then says ‘make a knight’, and puts a 2/2 Knight Ally token into play, and says ‘your turn.’ After he draws for turn, Nick is evaluating the board state and notices that the card in play is , not Gideon, Ally of Zendikar. The players call for a judge, and when you arrive you verify that there is in fact a Gideon, Ally of Zendikar in Abel's hand, he simply

Read more.

Once again through the Grizzle

Andy is playing against Nole in a Competitive REL Legacy tournament, and controls a morph and a . During Andy's declare attackers step Nole casts targeting Grizzly Bears. Andy responds by paying 's morph cost and turning it face up. Andy puts the Grizzly Bears into the graveyard and says “draw trigger”. Nole casts  in response, putting two creatures onto the battlefield. After Collected Company has resolved Andy passes the turn to Nole who realizes during his draw step that Andy forgot

Read more.

Light in the Darkness

At a Modern PPTQ Atari is playing against Nintendo. On her first turn Atari plays an and passes the turn. Nintendo plays a and a and passes after both players have revealed their top cards. During Nintendo's end step Atari casts targeting herself, it resolves and she puts the top 3 cards into her graveyard, then flips the next card on top of her library, and then begins to draw that card. As she is drawing, Nintendo realizes what has happened, stops her and calls a Judge. What do you do? Judges

Read more.

One Probe, Two Spells, Red Land, Blue Cards

During a Legacy Open run at Competitive REL, Amon casts paying 2 life and targeting Nikki, who responds with . Amon casts targeting the Brainstorm. Nikki responds by casting , returning his to his hand leaving his board empty. As Nikki is resolving Brainstorm, Amon says “Go,” so Nikki untaps and draws for his turn. At this point Amon realizes the Probe was never resolved and calls a judge. What do you do? Submit your solutions here: https://goo.gl/forms/8gNSnVlDI0r9E8Yq1

Read more.