Angus and Nathan are playing a Legacy PPTQ where you are the only judge. Angus has conceded game 1 once Nathan resolved Splinter Twin on his Pestermite and was about to attack him with his army of minions.
Nathan keeps his opening hand while Angus is mulliganing to 6. After Angus announces mulligan to 5, Nathan puts his hand into his library and starts shuffling while he says “I’ll mulligan because you are going to 5.” Angus calls you? After a short investigation you discard cheating.
What do you do?
Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!Answer
We have here a Game Play Error – Mulligan Procedure Error, Nathan receives a Warning for taking a mulligan at a time he could not take one.
We explain Nathan that he can choose the fix for the situation, he either can reveal his hand (after he resolved his mulligan to 6) and his opponent chooses a card to be shuffled into the library or he can take a forced mulligan to 5 Cards.