Ajani By Any Other Name


You’re the Head Judge of a Standard PPTQ. While verifying that you have all the lists, you notice that Percy’s list has “2x Ajani” on it. You go to Percy’s match and notice that he has one Ajani Unyielding in his graveyard, and another in his hand. What do you do?

Judges feel free to discuss this on Judge Apps!

Although players are allowed to truncate names of Legendary or Planeswalker characters, they can only do so if there is only one instance of that character in the format they are playing. Ajani, however, shows up twice in Standard: once as Ajani Unyielding, and once as Ajani, Valiant Protector in the Planeswalker Deck. Therefore, Percy has committed a Deck / Decklist Problem, and receives a Game Loss.

Because this decklist error was not discovered during a deck check, the penalty should not be applied until the beginning of the next round. Wait until Percy’s match is finished, then explain the penalty, and update his decklist to match his deck, being sure to check for any other errors as well. The penalty will be enforced at the start of Percy’s next match.