Bop to the Top

Ali is playing against Ned in a Competitive Legacy event your local store is hosting.

You’re called over by a spectator Sonia. She tells you that Ali activated his Sensei’s Divining Top‘s second ability during his main phase, and asked Ned, “Draw a card?” and Ned answered, “Yeah, no effects.” Ali resolved the ability, including drawing a card. However, Ned controls a Spirit of the Labyrinth, so Ali should only have put the Top on top of his deck.

The players confirm that this is what happened, and you’re confident that both of them simply forgot the Spirit was in play. What do you do?

Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Answer
This time we have a Drawing Extra Cards infraction. We have a special fix for situations where the draw was confirmed by an opponent:

If the player confirmed the card draw with his or her opponent before drawing, a backup may be considered or the game state left as-is.

You may consider backing up, or leaving the game state as is.

If you want to back up, you should set aside Sensei’s Divining Top, put a random card from Ali’s hand to the top of his library, and then put the Top on top of it.

Ali will receive a warning for DEC, and Ned will get a warning for FtMGS.