MisClique

You're the head judge of a local modern GPT. At the end of Ned's turn Alfie casts Vendilion Clique, targeting Ned with the triggered ability. On Alfie's turn in his pre-combat main phase he casts another Vendilion Clique, again targeting Ned with the triggered ability. After the Clique's ability resolves Ned reminds Alfie that the Clique is legendary, and then as Alfie is putting his one of his Cliques in his graveyard he rereads it and realizes that Ned didn't draw a card from the last Clique or

Read more.

A Forgetful Brain

You are the only judge at a Competitive Legacy event. Anton and Nicolas are in the middle of a tense game and spells are flying all over the place. At the end of Nicolas's turn, Anton plays a Brainstorm. Nicolas says fine. Anton then draws three cards and, without returning any cards to the top of the library, he untaps and draws for his turn. Nicolas stops him after the card is already drawn and calls you over. You determine this was an honest mistake. What is your ruling? Judges, feel free

Read more.

That’s No Moon

You are the HJ of a Modern PPTQ. At the beginng of round 2, you ask your floor judge, James, to help you in a deck check. While doing the deck check James asks you “What do you think about this card? Isn't it marked?” and he hands you an altered . The art of the card has been extended to the borders making the card distinguishable when the top of the sleeves are facing you. The card is marked and can't be played, so you ask the owner of the deck, Andrew, to replace it with a non-marked one after

Read more.

A Bit Impulsive

Anna is playing against Nick in a Standard PPTQ. At the end of Anna's turn, Nick casts , sets his hand aside, and picks three cards from his library. When looking at them, he realizes that two of the cards were stuck together and he is looking at 4 cards now. Nick calls for a judge and you take the call. What would you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Should I stay or should I go?

During a Modern PPTQ, Andy casts . As it resolves, he puts and onto the battlefield and says “Two to your face.” He then puts the other four cards on the bottom of his library. Nolan grabs his pen, and at that point Andy realizes his mistake. “I couldn't have chosen the Redcap. He costs four. Judge!” What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

I Have Made Fire!

You are the Head, and only, judge at a Theros/Khans of Tarkir Standard Grand Prix Trial. Nilva controls three white 1/1 Soldier tokens. At the end of Arridor's turn, Nilva casts by tapping his three tokens and a Mountain and targets Arridor. Arridor and Nilva mark the life total change on their life pads and Nilva puts the Stoke the Flames in his graveyard. Arridor looks at his hand, then at the board, and then realizes that Nilva could not cast Stoke the Flames and did not have another red source

Read more.

Placement Effect

At a local standard PPTQ you are the only judge, Anise is playing against Nutmeg. On Anise's turn, she draws a and plays it, laying her hand down in a single stack next to her library. As she is scrying the top card, she sets it down on the table to think about it. Nutmeg notices that she actually put it directly on top of her hand. Anise calls a judge when this is pointed out. Nutmeg tells you, "Judge, on my turn, I d her and wrote down everything,” (he shows you his notes) "and I know she just

Read more.

Usain Ascendancy

You are the head and only judge of a Modern format Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier when two players call you to their table and explain what has happened. Nathan drew his card for turn. With just a and lands on the battlefield, Nathan said “Bolt you twice” and put two s on the table. He then says “Ascendancy”, draws two cards, plays a land from his hand and passes turn while putting the Lightning Bolts into the graveyard. Alice then untapped and drew her card for the turn when she realized

Read more.