A Weak Link in the Chain?

In a Legacy GP match that you are observing, Apollo is at 3 life while playing against Neptune, who is at 5 life. Apollo casts , tapping one of his two , targeting Neptune, who has several red mana available. Neptune says “it resolves” and marks herself down to 2. Apollo looks at you, waits a few seconds, then announces he's casting a second targeting Neptune. What do you do? Judges feel free to answer on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Mutually Beneficial Assistance

Aidan is playing against Naaraa in the top 8 of a large Competitive REL tournament that has video and text coverage. Both players were given access to each other's decklist prior to the start of the match, as they had been previously posted online. During Game 2, you turn around from watching another match and see that both players are reading their opponent's decklist during the game. When asked, they explain that they thought this was okay, and both wanted to review what their opponent might

Read more.

It’s Time to Drain the _________

You are the Head Judge of your local Standard PPTQ. You have collected all the decklists and round 1 has begun. While ensuring that all of the lists are present, you notice that one player has a blank line with a number next to it on his decklist. He is playing Black/White control, and has registered (42 other cards) 4 6 8 What do you do? Consider when you would like to talk to the player, what you're going to tell them, and what infractions and/or penalties they will receive. Judges

Read more.

Making the Cut

You are judging at a standard PPTQ. While performing a beginning of round deck check, you see that Osiris is playing with 59 cards in his main deck and 16 in his sideboard. Upon counting his decklist, you read there are actually 59 main deck and 16 sideboard registered. His sideboard lists the following: 3 2 3 4 2 2 You bring Osiris to the deck check table and ask him about the problem. He tells you he thought he registered 60 cards main deck and 15 sideboard. He quickly gathered

Read more.

Why did it have to be snakes?

Anna is playing against Nigel at a Sealed PPTQ and round four has just begun. Anna asks to speak to you away from the table, shows you her hand, which contains 3 copies of . Anna explains that she is only playing 2 copies of in her main deck, and has one more which she sideboarded into her deck in round three. You confirm that Anna has just drawn her hand, and called you immediately. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Always double-check

At the beginning of round three at a standard Grand Prix Trial, you deck check table 5. Elspeth's decklist says “4 Jace, Vryn's Prodigy”, along with a variety of other blue and black spells and lands. Her deck, however, contains 56 cards and 4 unmarked Magic Origins Checklist Cards. Her box also contains 4 Jace, Vryn's Prodigy in clear sleeves. There are no other cards which can be represented by a checklist card on Elspeth's decklist or in her deck. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss

Read more.

On Second Thought…

Albert is playing against Nora in PPTQ. Albert has lost game 1, and they are moving to game 2. Albert swaps some cards in from his sideboard, presents, then draws his opening 7. There's only one land, so he decides to mulligan. He puts his hand back on top, says "Hmm, actually..." and swaps one more pair of cards from his main deck and sideboard. He then shuffles thoroughly, presents to Nora, and draws 6. At this point, Nora says, "Hold on a minute. I don't think you're allowed to sideboard between

Read more.

D’oh-main

You are the only judge at a local Modern GPT. Nat calls you over and explains that Addison just cast a on his , saying "5 to your rhino." Nat responded by activating his targeting Addison's . The players had then both recalculated for Tribal Flames, and realized that Addison had only controlled 4 basic land types before Nat activated Tectonic Edge. You believe that Addison's mistake was unintentional. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Ambidecksterity

Alfonso is playing in a sealed GPT. He sits down for game 1 of his match, grabs a pile of roughly 40 sleeved cards out of his deck box, shuffles, and presents to his opponent. Upon drawing his opening hand, he immediately calls a judge and explains that this is his sideboard. He has several other packages sleeved for quick sideboarding, and he just grabbed the wrong pile from his deck box. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.