Straight from the Mouth

In a Modern PPTQ where you are the head judge, Alex calls you over to his match. He explains that during his turn, he had attacked with a . Nathan responded by activating a targeting the . Alex responded by casting a  for 4. He gains 4 life and draws 4 cards. After considering his options, he picked up the and moved it to the graveyard. Alex then played an and passed the turn. Nathan has just drawn his card for the turn when Alex noticed that Nathan did not put the into his graveyard. You

Read more.

Scefet’s Special

Abby and Nova are playing in an Amonkhet Sealed PPTQ. Abby taps four Forests, discards a , and announces she is paying the cycling cost. She draws a card and then starts searching her library. Nova stops her and says, “Hold on. You have to search your library before you draw. It even says so at the bottom of your card.” Abby reads her  closely and replies, “Oops! You’re right. JUDGE!” What do you do? Judges feel free to answer this on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Respect the Authority

Alex is playing against Nate at a Standard PPTQ. Alex controls a and two . Alex casts and it resolves. Alex crews his with Thalia and attacks with all of his creatures. Before blocks, Nate activates his , and puts a Thopter into play. Alex, not wanting to be blocked, destroys it with . After taking 3 from the kill spell to 10, Nate makes another Thopter with and says “ok, go to blocks?” Alex agrees, Nate blocks one Inspector with , and the with the remaining Thopter. Both players record

Read more.

Slippery Serpopard

Arf and Nance are playing in a PPTQ. They are drawing their opening hands. While dealing out the cards face down, Arf notices one of Nance's cards is sitting next to his own foot face down. He immediately calls you to the table and explains that he must have dropped it while shuffling. He had fumbled the cards a bit while shuffling, but he thought he had caught them all. When you pick up the card, it is a , a card in Nance's deck. What do you do?   Submit your answer here!

Read more.

The Lathnu Time I’ll Forget!

Anduin and Nythendra are playing in a Kaladesh/Aether Revolt Sealed PPTQ. On Anduin's turn, he casts . Nythendra has no response, and Anduin says “Gain 2 energy?” Nythendra nods approvingly. Anduin then asks if he can go to combat, and attacks with the Hellion and a . Nythendra says “no blocks”, and both players adjust life totals. Anduin then says “Go.” Nythendra untaps and draws a card, then proclaims "Hey, you didn't get energy for the  dealing damage to me!“ Anduin's replies

Read more.

Oath Of Whoops

Andrew is playing against Nadine in a Standard PPTQ. During Andrew's turn he says, “Oath?” tapping a while holding out an . Nadine lets it resolve and Andrew draws three cards, and discards an and a . Andrew realizes that he resolved his trigger incorrectly and calls for a judge, explaining that he thought he was playing an . What do you do? Judges feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.

Rade ’em and Weep

Anna and Nancy are playing in a Modern Masters 2017 sealed event run at Competitive REL. Anna casts targeting Nancy. She scries one card to the bottom of her library and the other to the top. She then flips the top card of her library, revealing , puts it into her hand, and rolls the die on her from 4 to 5. Nancy then says “Whoa! Hold on a minute! I had stuff to do! Judge!” Nancy explains away from the table that she wanted to cast on one of Anna's creatures before the Domri ability

Read more.

It’s Plain to See

Alice is playing against Nicky in round one of a Standard PPTQ. Alice controls two untapped and two untapped . Alice taps both Mountains to cast and announces she will scry 2. Nicky confirms. Alice looks at the top two cards of her library and places both cards on the bottom of her library. A spectator watching the match notices Alice forgot to tap one of her Plains when she cast and calls for a judge. Judges feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!  

Read more.

Blood Moon over Ravnica

Abel is playing against Neil at a local Modern 1k. Abel calls you over and says that he and Neil just realized that Niel's  is no longer a forest because of Abel's , but they both forgot to put Niel's enchanting it into the graveyard several turns ago when resolved. What do you do? We are now accepting submissions of solutions for Bronze scenarios, the best of which will be published with the answer next week. Submit here!  

Read more.

Kalitas and Company

Adrian and Nina are playing in a Standard PPTQ. Adrian cast during his pre-combat main phase and proceeds to attack with his . Nina blocks with her and before damage she sacrifices to make her creatures indestructible. On Adrian's end step Nina activates her to search for . Nina draws her card for the turn and then realizes that the Selfless Spirit wasn't exiled, and Adrian didn't create a Zombie token. JUDGE! Judges feel free to discuss this scenario on Judge Apps!

Read more.