You Can’t Pay For Triggers Multiple Times

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Today we'll be covering a specific kind of triggered ability: The kind that let you pay for value! For example, there's a cycle of common creatures in Aether Revolt, all of which have "Thriving" in their name- , , , , and . They give you EE when they enter the battlefield, and each time they attack you can pay EE to give them a +1/+1 counter; they bring enough energy to boost themselves once, but if you've got access to energy from somewhere else, you can keep

Read more.

Fusing with Expertise

In Aether Revolt, we got a neat cycle of spells that let you free-cast another spell as one of their effects, like . As we covered during the prerelease week, you'll pick the card from your hand to cast during the resolution of the Expertise, and then the spell you free-cast will resolve after that. It also needs to have a Converted Mana Cost lower than the Expertise, since all of them let you cast a spell with CMCs up to "1 lower than this spell", effectively. But how can we double up the value

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Energy Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over another returning mechanic from Kaladesh (and boy is it a doozy): Energy. Lots of spells and abilities from this block will grant you Energy counters. These counters are put on you, the player (much like Poison or Experience counters), and can be spent in a variety of ways. And hey, since they're counters, anything that interacts with counters on a player works on Energy (notably they can be Proliferated, and things like ). A lot

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Improvise (Whose Spell Is It Anyway?)

Welcome back to the Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over the other new mechanic of the set: Improvise. For those of you that remember the Ravnica block, Improvise is basically "Convoke, except with artifacts". For those of you who want more details, read on! Improvise is a neat ability present on several spells in the set (or ALL of your non-artifact ones, if you have an ) that allows you a new 'way' to pay for the spell: Tapping artifacts. You go through the normal steps of casting

Read more.

Bomat Courier: No Strength in Numbers!

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today we'll be going over a tricky little delivery-robot, . On the surface it's fairly simple; a 1/1 with Haste for 1 mana. Whenever it attacks, you exile the top card of your library face-down. The tricky bit is the third ability: You can pay a red mana, sac the Courier, and ditch your hand to put everything that Courier exiled into their owners' hands (it doesn't just say "YOUR" Hand, because your opponent might have ed it, and you don't get their card!). Basically,

Read more.

Aetherflux Reservoir Management Procedures

Welcome back! For today's Kaladesh-based tip, we'll be talking about the newest addition to my lifegain EDH deck: . It gains life and shoots giant life-total-powered doom lasers; what's not to love? The first ability seems straightforward; every time you cast a spell, you gain life equal to the number of spells you've cast this turn. So your first spell would gain you 1 life, your second would gain you 2, etc, etc, to help you gain up over the 50 mark so you can fire the doom laser (not to be confused

Read more.