Apologies for the radio silence, readers! Things have been a bit hectic in Realspace, including a wonderful celebration! Our Project Leader, Josh Stansfield, is now a father! All of us at the Rules Blog would like to say congratulations to Josh, and wish health and happiness to his newly-grown family. For our readers, we’ll be […]
I hope you’re infinitely excited about this new set… I know I am! Today we’re going to look into a different but important combo that teaches us a lesson about going infinite in Magic and why you must make a different choice at some point or the game ends in a draw. One situation involves […]
Welcome back! On this Tournament Tuesday, we’ll be going over some basic Prerelease tips and expectations, as well as how to handle something rather special from Kaladesh! We’ll start with that: The Masterpiece Series. Some of you may remember that the Battle for Zendikar block had super cool foil lands called Expeditions that could appear […]
Jori En and Pyromancer's Assault trigger only on the 2nd spell. Not the 4th or 6th…
Stony Silence stops ALL activated abilities of artifacts, including mana abilities. This is in contrast to Pithing Needle, which has an explicit exception for mana abilites.
Read here for a general overview of the transforming planeswalkers coming up in Magic Origins, and specifically how to transform Liliana.
Hello and welcome to the final day of our Prerelease Primer week! Tonight at Midnight, many of you will be sitting in your local stores (or maybe larger venues!) waiting to crack open your Fate Reforged packs and have a great weekend. There’ll be even more events going on tomorrow morning and afternoon, too! We’ve […]
Welcome back to Prerelease Primer Week! Unfortunately, we’re fresh out of new mechanics to cover, as there’s only three in this set! Fortunately, there’s still things for us to talk about- today, we’ll be discussing the returning mechanics of the set, both as a quick refresher for returning players and as an easy jumping-in point […]
Today we’re going to get to the real meat and potatoes of Fate Reforged! We’ve already covered Dash and Bolster, and that just leaves us one new mechanic (we will cover the returning mechanics tomorrow, but that’s all that’s left is returning ones after this!) to discuss, and boy is it a doozy. Those of […]
Containment Priest can only affect things that enter while it's already in play. So anything that enters at the same time, like with Show and Tell, will be able to enter normally.