Recruiter of the Guard and CDAs

That's right, kids, today we're dipping our toes into Legacy (or Commander, I guess)! is a nifty little sort-of-color-shift of that was released in Conspiracy 2: Electric Boogaloo (Also known as Take The Crown). Both of them work along the same lines- they're 3 mana 1/1s that fetch small creatures from your library. Imperial Recruiter finds things with POWER 2 or less, while the Guard recruits need TOUGHNESS 2 or less. Either way, they dig for an appropriate creature, have you reveal it, and put

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: The Rules vs. Can’t Lose Effects

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we'll be going over something that's occasionally misunderstood: effects that prevent you from losing the game. The ur-example of this is good old , but there's been others- most recently, the emblem from . So long as you have that Emblem, and a Planeswalker with the "Gideon" subtype, you can't lose and your opponents can't win. That means you'll stay alive even with 0 or less life, 10 or more poison counters, or having tried to draw from an empty library. Any

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.

Burning the Midnight Oil

Good morning and welcome back! Today we're covering the Little Draw Engine That Could: . Midnight Oil gives you access to an extra card every turn, but your industrious card drawing comes at a price: Each time you draw via that trigger, you lose 2 hours! Well, 2 hour counters, anyway. And since your maximum hand size is equal to the number of Hour counters, that means you've got to make quick use of those cards every turn (especially since you lose life for discarding while Oil is on board). So what

Read more.

Crewing Cultivator’s Caravan

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! We sure missed you. Today we'll be starting on our tips from Kaladesh! To start with, we'll cover crewing, and crewing a specific card: . Every Vehicle has the Crew ability, which is followed by a number (in this case, Crew 3). That means that anytime you have priority, you can tap any number of creatures you control with total power 3 or more to Crew that vehicle; it becomes a creature, and has Power and Toughness as printed in the lower-right of the card.

Read more.

Kaladesh Prerelease Week: Vehicles!

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! With the Kaladesh Prerelease coming up this very weekend, we'll be going over some general tips for the prerelease, as well as a little tutorial on the new mechanics of the set. We'll start this crash course (I will not apologize for the pun) on the first: Vehicles! Vehicles are an interesting new subtype of Artifact; they have a slightly different frame, and a brown Power/Toughness box. Despite having P/T printed on them, they're not creatures- not inherently,

Read more.

All About Tree of Perdition

For today's Rules Tips, we'll be covering , the anti-backwards sibling of . Like Tree of Redemption, Perdition is a 0/13 Defender for 4 mana with a nifty ability that trades life totals for toughness. Where Redemption swapped its toughness with YOUR life total, Perdition (being black and spooky and all) swaps with an OPPONENT'S life total! So what does that mean? Well, the majority of the time it's simple; as that ability resolves, we simply note what your opponent's life total is, and what Tree's

Read more.

Awaken: One Land, or Many!

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! This week we'll be discussing the new mechanics from Battle for Zendikar, starting with Awaken today! Awaken is an alternate cost found on Instant and Sorcery spells, costing more than the 'normal' cost. If you cast the spell for the alternate "Awaken" cost, you get the added effect of animating one of your own lands as a creature! For example, has Awaken 4. That means if you use the Awakening cost, you'll target a land of yours, and it'll become a 0/0 creature

Read more.

Indestructible, Damage, and Bile Blight

Indestructible is a neat little ability. It does exactly what you'd expect- it means that the permanent in question simply can't be destroyed, whether that be via lethal damage or a "destroy" effect like or . It does NOT protect against other forms of removal or death, though: exile, the Legend Rule, the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule, and having 0 or less toughness all get around Indestructible pretty easily. However, a common misconception I've run into is people trying to 'combine' damage and -X/-X

Read more.