Recruiter of the Guard and CDAs

That's right, kids, today we're dipping our toes into Legacy (or Commander, I guess)! is a nifty little sort-of-color-shift of that was released in Conspiracy 2: Electric Boogaloo (Also known as Take The Crown). Both of them work along the same lines- they're 3 mana 1/1s that fetch small creatures from your library. Imperial Recruiter finds things with POWER 2 or less, while the Guard recruits need TOUGHNESS 2 or less. Either way, they dig for an appropriate creature, have you reveal it, and put

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Heart-Piercer Manticore and Reflexive Triggers

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today is going to be a bit of a Tournament Tip as well as a Rules Tip- we'll be going over an entirely new kind of trigger, introduced in Amonkhet. has a neat trigger- when it enters the battlefield, you can sacrifice another creature to have the Manticore deal damage to a target creature or player- basically, it's in Manticore form. What's odd about it, though, is the wording- in the past, something like this would say "IF you do" (referring to saccing another

Read more.

Archfiend of Ifrit And Cycling

And welcome back! Amonkhet gave us back an old favorite ability in Cycling, letting you discard cards you don't currently need to dig for cards you do. On top of that, there's cards that synergize well with it, like letting you cycle for free if you have a hand of 7 cards, or letting you pay a little extra for a 2/2 Drake on top of your cycling. But, you may notice that Drake Haven triggers whenever you cycle OR discard a card- so does it trigger twice, once for the activation of Cycling, and once

Read more.

Ending Turns Gloriously with Glorious End

Welcome back! Today we're going over a nifty new mythic: . What does it do? Well, it ends the turn! Unlike the last few effects to do this (namely and ), this can be done during someone else's turn, if you'd like. It can be used as a pseudo-counterspell or Stifle, since ending the turn exiles everything currently on the stack, which is the primary use Sundial had (you can even use it during your End Step to stop "at the beginning of the next end step" triggers dead in their tracks!). But because

Read more.

Hapatra and Wither: Who’s Putting These Counters?

Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,

Read more.

Threatened Exertion

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we'll be covering the interaction between effects (such as or ) and Exert. As you may know, many creatures in Amokhet can be Exerted as you attack with them, which makes it so they won't untap normally next turn, but in exchange get some kind of boost or effect. But how does that work with Threaten effects, when you steal your opponent's and Exert it? Will it be locked down during their turn? Hilariously, it will not! Formally, what happens when you Exert

Read more.

Prophecy and You: How As Foretold Foretells!

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Today we'll be going over a particularly spicy card from Amonkhet: . On the surface, it's a pretty simple enchantment; every turn it gets a Time Counter, and every turn you can free-cast a spell with converted mana cost equal to or less than the number of Time Counters it has. So the turn after you play it, you get a free 1-drop; the next turn, a free 2-drop, etc, etc. However, beneath that surface is a lot of depth! First, As Foretold doesn't work with other

Read more.

Decimator Beetle Targeting

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! With the release of Amonkhet, we've got a whole slew of new cards and the questions to go with them. Once the set releases on Friday and becomes Standard Legal, we'll have more tips about interactions with the format as a whole, but for this week we'll be going over some specific cards. To start with, , a big bad beetleborg that shares the love... in the form of -1/-1 counters! Like many of the green cards in the set, the Beetle throws a -1/-1 counter onto one

Read more.

You Can’t Pay For Triggers Multiple Times

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Today we'll be covering a specific kind of triggered ability: The kind that let you pay for value! For example, there's a cycle of common creatures in Aether Revolt, all of which have "Thriving" in their name- , , , , and . They give you EE when they enter the battlefield, and each time they attack you can pay EE to give them a +1/+1 counter; they bring enough energy to boost themselves once, but if you've got access to energy from somewhere else, you can keep

Read more.