Soul-Scar Mage Doesn’t Stack

The Lorwyn block was one of my favorites, and Wither was one of the neater abilities to come out of that mega-block; damage from a source with Wither is dealt as -1/-1 counters, rather than marking damage onto a creature. It was like damage that never wore off! We have a sort of throwback to that in Amonkhet, thanks to . He might not have Wither printed on him, but the spirit is there- he turns noncombat damage from your sources into -1/-1 counters. Unlike Wither, this isn't changing the result of

Read more.

Fumigate and Kalitas

Yesterday, we talked a bit about Kalitas (and it was somewhat complicated!), and we're still talking about that Zombie-making Vampire everyone loves, but it'll be a bit simpler. blasts the board like many other Wraths, and gains you some life for everything it destroys- but what, specifically, does that mean? It has to actually destroy a creature to gain you some life (so it won't gain you any life for the Amonkhet gods, since they're Indestructible), but that creature doesn't have to end up in

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Magma Spray And Later Deaths

Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can't embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if it would die this turn. The majority of the time, Magma Spray will be aimed at a creature it kills- like the Scrounger, or a , so it's pretty simple. Shock your guy, exile it instead of graveyard. But what happens

Read more.

Hapatra and Wither: Who’s Putting These Counters?

Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: The Rules vs. Can’t Lose Effects

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we'll be going over something that's occasionally misunderstood: effects that prevent you from losing the game. The ur-example of this is good old , but there's been others- most recently, the emblem from . So long as you have that Emblem, and a Planeswalker with the "Gideon" subtype, you can't lose and your opponents can't win. That means you'll stay alive even with 0 or less life, 10 or more poison counters, or having tried to draw from an empty library. Any

Read more.

Threatened Exertion

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we'll be covering the interaction between effects (such as or ) and Exert. As you may know, many creatures in Amokhet can be Exerted as you attack with them, which makes it so they won't untap normally next turn, but in exchange get some kind of boost or effect. But how does that work with Threaten effects, when you steal your opponent's and Exert it? Will it be locked down during their turn? Hilariously, it will not! Formally, what happens when you Exert

Read more.

Prophecy and You: How As Foretold Foretells!

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Today we'll be going over a particularly spicy card from Amonkhet: . On the surface, it's a pretty simple enchantment; every turn it gets a Time Counter, and every turn you can free-cast a spell with converted mana cost equal to or less than the number of Time Counters it has. So the turn after you play it, you get a free 1-drop; the next turn, a free 2-drop, etc, etc. However, beneath that surface is a lot of depth! First, As Foretold doesn't work with other

Read more.

Approach of the Second Sun

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! We're still just going over a few specific cards from Amonkhet, but we'll be returning to Standard tips on Monday, so look forward to more interactions! Today we'll be going over the newest alt-win-con, . The first time you cast it, you'll gain 7 life and put it back into your library, seventh from the top. That means it'll be the seventh card down, so you'll effectively pick up (but not look at!) the top 6 cards of your library, and put it underneath THAT pile as

Read more.

Playing Multiple Panharmonicons

A while back we covered the basics of how works; what we didn't cover was how MULTIPLE copies of it work! As you may know, Panharmonicon by itself effectively doubles the value of your various ETB triggers; any time a creature or artifact entering the battlefield would fire a trigger from a permanent of yours, you get an extra one. But how does that scale up? To start, we'll address a misconception kicking around: Multiple Panharmonicons do not create some sort of infinite feedback loop. Each one

Read more.