Attend a public lecture wherein Arrester Alistair discusses the minutiae of the Azorius Senate's newest Addendum
Ride along with Arrester Alistair as he tells you about the Gruul Clans' famous riots!
Today, learn how Divine Visitation interacts with certain kinds of token-creating effects!
Today we talk about Underrealm Lich's groovy card-filtering replacement effect, and how we 'fix' it if things go wrong!
The Lorwyn block was one of my favorites, and Wither was one of the neater abilities to come out of that mega-block; damage from a source with Wither is dealt as -1/-1 counters, rather than marking damage onto a creature. It was like damage that never wore off! We have a sort of throwback to that in Amonkhet, thanks to . He might not have Wither printed on him, but the spirit is there- he turns noncombat damage from your sources into -1/-1 counters. Unlike Wither, this isn't changing the result of
Yesterday, we talked a bit about Kalitas (and it was somewhat complicated!), and we're still talking about that Zombie-making Vampire everyone loves, but it'll be a bit simpler. blasts the board like many other Wraths, and gains you some life for everything it destroys- but what, specifically, does that mean? It has to actually destroy a creature to gain you some life (so it won't gain you any life for the Amonkhet gods, since they're Indestructible), but that creature doesn't have to end up in
EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's
Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can't embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if it would die this turn. The majority of the time, Magma Spray will be aimed at a creature it kills- like the Scrounger, or a , so it's pretty simple. Shock your guy, exile it instead of graveyard. But what happens
Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,