Approach of the Second Sun

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! We're still just going over a few specific cards from Amonkhet, but we'll be returning to Standard tips on Monday, so look forward to more interactions! Today we'll be going over the newest alt-win-con, . The first time you cast it, you'll gain 7 life and put it back into your library, seventh from the top. That means it'll be the seventh card down, so you'll effectively pick up (but not look at!) the top 6 cards of your library, and put it underneath THAT pile as

Read more.

Mirrorwing Dragon And You!

Making spells go wide to hit multiple targets has been used a few times through the history of Red magic, and the most recent addition to that stable comes to us from Eldritch Moon: . ON the surface this seems to function the same as ; when you cast an instant or sorcery that ONLY targets your Dragon, you get a copy for all your other creatures that could legally be targets as well. Using that you can get a lot of value off of your own cards; can draw you a whole new hand of cards, buff spells like

Read more.

Altered Ego only gets counters if it copies something.

Hello again, welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Don’t you hate it when you cast a card thinking that it's going to do something and then when it resolves it actually does the opposite of what you want? You might even say that its ego had been altered. That is exactly what you will get if you cast Altered Ego without a creature to copy- no matter how much you pay for X. Reading the card carefully, you will find that it has to have a creature to copy to get the counters. IF you don't, you don't

Read more.

It’s a conspiracy (week)! Hidden Agendas and Naming

Hey there, gang! Remember way back on Monday when I offhandedly mentioned there were some conspiracies you didn't reveal right away? Well, now is the day that we'll actually be talking about those! As we covered earlier in the week, some of the Conspiracies start the game in your Command Zone, face-up, already doing something neat. 8 of them, however, start the game face-DOWN in your Command Zone, waiting for you to spring them at the moment of your choosing! These all have 'Hidden Agenda' abilities.

Read more.

Heroic and Cipher Interactions

Cipher is the mechanic associated with House Dimir from the recent Return to Ravnica block: spells with Cipher allow you to 'encode' them onto a creature, and cast a copy of the spell for free every time the creature connects with an opponent. Heroic is one of the mechanics from the more-recent Theros set, which triggers any time you cast a spell targeting your Heroic creature. How do the two interact? Well, some of the Cipher spells target a creature. Obviously, when you cast those aimed at your

Read more.

Cloning/Mimicing your heroic creatures won’t trigger their heroic abilities.

s (cards that copy something as they enter the battlefield), such as , don’t target. No matter how hard you try, when you choose a heroic creature with clones such as these, the heroic trigger’s requirements (1. That it's a spell you cast, 2. That it targets this creature), won't be satisfied because why? It's a non-targeting spell! In fact, nothing about copying with Clone or Progenitor Mimic targets anything. It's just a choice that's made as the card is entering. A creature spell never targets

Read more.

Wild Ricochet + Rakdos’s Return

I'm glad to see making a return to Standard; it's such a fun card, and can lead to hilarious reactions when timed right (A friend of mine once used against a , spinning two lands back to the opponent's deck and gaining 14 life). Sadly, it also can lead to some confusion! First off, Ricochet makes a copy of whatever spell you're aiming it at. The copy isn't cast (so things like won't trigger off of it), it is simply created on the stack under your control. It's YOUR spell, so you choose targets

Read more.

Chandra, Pyromaster and Modal Spells

Modal spells are always great fun; they let you pick between multiple options when you cast them, making them very versatile and able to deal with lots of situations with fewer cards. But how do modal spells work when you copy them? Normally if you copy something like with, say, , you don't get to pick a new mode. Your copy has the same mode as the original; you don't get to pick a new mode the way you get to pick new targets, because nothing says you're allowed. That's not true of a few

Read more.