Recruiter of the Guard and CDAs

That’s right, kids, today we’re dipping our toes into Legacy (or Commander, I guess)! is a nifty little sort-of-color-shift of that was released in Conspiracy 2: Electric Boogaloo (Also known as Take The Crown). Both of them work along the same lines- they’re 3 mana 1/1s that fetch small creatures from your library. Imperial Recruiter […]

Read more.

Fumigate and Kalitas

Yesterday, we talked a bit about Kalitas (and it was somewhat complicated!), and we’re still talking about that Zombie-making Vampire everyone loves, but it’ll be a bit simpler. blasts the board like many other Wraths, and gains you some life for everything it destroys- but what, specifically, does that mean? It has to actually destroy […]

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set’s release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas’ effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas’ ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or […]

Read more.

Heart-Piercer Manticore and Reflexive Triggers

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today is going to be a bit of a Tournament Tip as well as a Rules Tip- we’ll be going over an entirely new kind of trigger, introduced in Amonkhet. has a neat trigger- when it enters the battlefield, you can sacrifice another creature to have the Manticore deal […]

Read more.

Archfiend of Ifrit And Cycling

And welcome back! Amonkhet gave us back an old favorite ability in Cycling, letting you discard cards you don’t currently need to dig for cards you do. On top of that, there’s cards that synergize well with it, like letting you cycle for free if you have a hand of 7 cards, or letting you […]

Read more.

Magma Spray And Later Deaths

Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can’t embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if […]

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: The Rules vs. Can’t Lose Effects

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we’ll be going over something that’s occasionally misunderstood: effects that prevent you from losing the game. The ur-example of this is good old , but there’s been others- most recently, the emblem from . So long as you have that Emblem, and a Planeswalker with the “Gideon” subtype, […]

Read more.

Failing to Comply: Priority and Aftermath cards

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! As of today, Amonkhet is legal for Standard (and Modern and Legacy), so next week we’re going to be going back to dealing with Standard questions and tips, but for today we’ll generally be covering the new Split cards from Amonkhet, all of which have Aftermath. As with […]

Read more.