EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's
Today we'll be talking about the wording on some targeted spells and abilities- specifically, things that tell you to "return target creature to its owner's hand". They've been around since Day One with cards like , allowing you to temporarily get rid of a threat at a low cost, or even to save one of your own creatures from a sticky situation. But the wording is very specific- "target creature". Whenever an effect refers to a card type like that, with just the type, there's a sort of invisible word
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today we'll be going over a tricky little delivery-robot, . On the surface it's fairly simple; a 1/1 with Haste for 1 mana. Whenever it attacks, you exile the top card of your library face-down. The tricky bit is the third ability: You can pay a red mana, sac the Courier, and ditch your hand to put everything that Courier exiled into their owners' hands (it doesn't just say "YOUR" Hand, because your opponent might have ed it, and you don't get their card!). Basically,
Anafenza, the Foremost causes much confusion among players and judges alike, so Nathan Long delves into all the common interactions that involve her in this linked article. Learn and enjoy!
You've got a graveyard stacked full of artifact creatures and a in your hand. Your opponent has a on the battlefield. What happens? Will your spell exile all your good cards in your graveyard and leave you with nothing? Nope! Fortunately for you, does not care about stuff coming from exile, which is the zone they are coming from upon the resolution of . Let’s break this down further: starts to resolve All artifacts in all graveyards are exiled All artifacts on the battlefield are sacrificed All
All this week, we'll be covering one specific card: . It's a commonly played card, and the semi-unique ability it has leads to lots of interesting rules interactions and questions. Every day this week, we'll cover a different one! Today we're covering how it works with fetchlands such as , but this also applies to searching your library in general (for example, with a ). When searching a library, players frequently change the order of cards- they may put potential choices face-down on the table,
Welcome back to another week here at the Rules Tips Blog. Let's look at today's question: morphs and . Let's say I have a face down and a on the battlefield, making my face down creature a 2/3. My opponent, knowing the mystery and danger of a face down creature, casts a Suspension Field and exiles my face down morph. My opponent breaths a sigh of relief, knowing that the threat has been dealt with. But little does he know, I hold an ! On my turn, I Erase his Field and... then what happens? When
Whenever a face-down card changes zones, you must reveal it before it actually moves. This includes as a game ends and you would shuffle it into your deck. Don't get in trouble by forgetting!
When you're searching your library for an aura card, it has to have aura printed in the type line. A bestow card doesn't qualify!
Jeleva can only track the cards it exiled when it entered the battlefield as long as it remains on the battlefield. If Jeleva leaves and comes back, it forgets all the previously exiled cards.